Lockdown 2021 Run Challenge

If youā€™re twisting and turning against lads your age then itā€™s bearable. If youā€™re playing with young lads youā€™re asking for trouble

Thereā€™s nothing more grounding than running after a lad and he a half a yard faster than you, as he gains ground on every step and you canā€™t even get close enough to foul him

Some sort of leg muscle fetish?

If I jumped on a bike Iā€™d trouble 15.

He shit himself when he heard I was all in.

Run for distance and not for time and it is a far more enjoyable pursuit.

Thereā€™s no future in it though, I canā€™t speak for anybody else but the satisfaction gained from anything like that is in improvement and testing yourself against others, and pushing yourself to the limit sometimes

I ran for a few years without entering any races. I was happy out doing this. However, once I started entering races, it was like a drug. You are competing against yourself and others.

i think id prefer the drugs :smiley:

I just wanted to finish the Great Limerick Run 10k so my kids could see me do it, we used to go in every year and cheer the finishers, I promised myself every year that Iā€™d do it next year, I gave myself about three months to train, there was no question of stopping afterwards, longer faster whatever, but mostly because I love it

Canā€™t even get close enough to get a howld of his jersey.

Iā€™m very much a social type runner. Iā€™ve little interest in races nor competing against others. It was a bit of craic alright with the 5k race on here to try beat one or two here, but ultimately Iā€™m not fast so wouldnt have a hope generally. I would however try beat times and go against myself. It may be a different type of self challenge on each run, and sometimes its just a run for the sake of a run, but it is enjoyable to try hit a target or beat a time for my own competitiveness, not up against someone else. I know my own limitations enough that I wouldnt stand a hope against a load on here and in the real world!

Ya, thatā€™s the point i was making, I think most people will need to make a game out of it in some way because itā€™s hard work and if youā€™re standing still as regards time or distance thereā€™s little to recommend it as a pastime.
You could probably train for and complete a half marathon, maybe do a 50 minute 10k, thereā€™s always something to aim for

There you goā€¦ Make three divisions for February/March. Set out a number of runs to complete like last time with different goals per division. 1 point for completion, 1 point for finishing before the a set time and first, second and third get bonus points. cc @caulifloweredneanderthal

The champions League format

Hup

12.33 at 65 is what lads here can aim for

Thatā€™s even faster than Brush Shields

Racing is a great buzz. Iā€™ve done the 5km series in Cork for a few years and it does bring you on. You can see where you are at the start and with training and a want to beat the same few who are around you it brings you on loads.
There was this chap with a Musgraves top on him who beat me for the first couple of races in 2019. I beat him down by the Marina down the finishing straight on a dirty wet night in July. Got great satisfaction out of it. He must have had a bad night below at the Novartis race as there was no sign of him after the start when I ran my fastest 5km ever.
Thatā€™ll learn him :relaxed:

A 26.11 200m at 70.

Fair going. Amazing what lads who stick at it can do. Probably a huge amount is genetics but heā€™d outsprint any lad on here I would wager

Great idea. Put me in the rumbelows cup group please.