Long Live the king

Wasn’t the lane closed because they were doing a sweep of the middle section? Am pretty sure they’ve cut it in the past.

Indeed it is. David Cameron is a big Smiths fan.

To be honest, I couldn’t give a shit one way or the other who comes to visit our country. If our head of state feels that its OK to invite dictators and despots to come see the Japanese gardens and Rock of Cashel, well who am I to complain? I did help vote him in, after all.

What does cause me some ire, is the fact that it’s deemed necessary to close the city centre and complete sections of motorway so that this “guest of the nation” can get from A to B without encountering any of the usual hassle that Joe Public experiences on a daily basis. It’s not as if the old bint is going to go walkabout and shake hands with the ordinary folk of Dublin. All she’ll see is empty streets and roads, and smell the fresh paint and cut grass like she always does. How about a dose of reality for herself? Maybe take 30 minutes to get from Heuston to the M50 and let Philip buy the Herald from the amputee at the traffic lights in Palmerstown. Why not just fly in everywhere by chopper, and leave the streets to us that use them every other day of the year.

I for one, would vote for Mr Stokes to become Lord Mayor of Dublin, so that she may be barred from the whole city rather than just one pub.

That Morrissey is a bit of a nutter though.

She has been to Belfast as recently as October so don’t have any more problem with this visit than I did with that. In fact I think visit should be welcomed if it brings about better relations between Irish Unionists and Irish Nationalists. There are far bigger examples of English culture playing greater role in Irish culture these days than ever before and I have bigger issue with these than I do about her visit.

Larry the bastion of sense as always.

Well done Larry !

I’d say it’s more to do with the threat of her being assassinated than allowing her to skip the traffic

Check this clown out:

Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II,
Buckingham Palace,
London SW1A 1AA, United Kingdom

10th May 2011

Your Majesty,

As your majesty will be visiting our community shortly, and being aware of your family’s expressed interest in promoting good community relations, may we ask a small favour of you?

In particular when visiting our community you will be calling at Croke Park, headquarters of the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA). Historically the GAA has been a strongly Irish Nationalist sporting association set up some years after the ‘great famine’ in Ireland with the goal of energising local communities and helping in the fight against landlordism at a time when evictions were commonplace.

Indeed as an association, and up until recently, the GAA would have been unlikely to have extended to a member of the British Royal family a warm welcome on visiting their headquarters in Croke Park. However in these changing times in the relationship between our peoples we now believe that your majesty is regarded with deep affection by many in GAA Headquarters, unlike their attitude to our local community, and it is in this regard that we hope your majesty may be able to be of some great assistance.

Despite our community enduring great inconvenience and hardship during the many major events hosted in Croke Park, that has helped Croke Park to report income of over €58 million in successive years, Croke Park officials have now sent an eviction notice to our Community & Handball Centre members, copy enclosed. This Centre is a vital asset to our local community that has invested almost €4 million in its development and maintenance over the last 40 years. There is huge opposition to this attempted eviction by Croke Park, and Croke Park’s proposed alternative development has been opposed by all 17 local politicians and 10 residents committees representatives at a recent national planning authority oral hearing. I include a copy of our Newsletter that shows how vital an asset this Centre is to our community.

Your Majesty we would be very grateful if you could let the Croke Park GAA officials, that you may happen to meet, know that you are aware of our plight and that it would be only right that we be treated with the same respect and decency that such as Arsenal’s stadium officials treat their local community.

While Croke Park officials have instructed other GAA communities not to comment on your visit this does not affect us and we trust your majesty will not mind our asking for your assistance in this matter.

Yours sincerely,

Eamon O’Brien.
Chairman, Croke Park Streets Committees.

Good post Larry.

Exactly. Deluded retarded republicans are the problem more so than anything else.

Read that earlier, what an utter mongoloid. I will ensure to piss in as many gardens any time I am walking out of Croker from now on.

Anybody who thinks this visit is a good thing can go and shite. Bobby Sands is a hero one minute to some and the next minute they’re delighted the Queen coming. Bullshit.

Gardai every 50 paces on the M50 and four guards on a bridge in Rathcoole, you’d wonder was the bridge at Remagen as heavily defended in '45.

I know a good few guards (two) from Limerick who have been drafted up to this thing. Who knows how many more are gone up there. Are the areas of Moyross and Ballinacurra being policed tonight? No better opportunity for them to start blowing each up…

Decency may not have been the best choice of word but the idea was that it would be better not to facilitate the visit whether it’s part of their job or not. I don’t think being a Garda should just be a job. I think with certain occupations it needs to be a bit more - garda, doctor, politician, teacher etc.

I for one wouldn’t mind a few pints with the queen to discuss the horses. I’d say she has a few stories.

What examples are these? Please don’t say people following British football clubs, watching Corrie and eating curry

Saw some Eirigí people near Trinity. There was 7 of them at most but I’d say some were people who they had stopped to listen to them. Probably 4 or 5 activists. There were six Gardaí watching them.
Over 30 Gardaí on Parnell Square West. Seemed to be a good few on Nassau St around Trinity as well. It all seems a bit much. Saw a northern reg car being searched just before the M7 starts outside Naas.

I know a lad who was having a coffee in the kitchen in Richard Hannon’s when the Queen called over one day to see her horses, he says she said something along the lines of “It’s nice to walk into a house for once which doesn’t smell of fresh paint”. :smiley: Hannon barely bothers his arse even tidying up the place before she pops round apparently. Everywhere else she goes, fellas are putting on a show.

She has a proper one this year with Sir Micheal, beginning to lean towards it for Epsom.
Will there ever be a Sir Chemical Nicky I wonder? Doubtful.

:lol: :clap: Richard Hannon is an alright sort. I hope she drops into Coolmore on the Tipp leg of her journey, would be good to get the Queen to own an Irish trained one.