Matters regarding Limerick, Limerick Pubs, No Culture allowed

They never went to Scottsā€¦The age of the nagginā€¦ Some filter into Oā€™Dwyers, some into Charlie Malones but most donā€™t know what a pint looks like.

Students donā€™t go to pubs now at all, at all.
Lodge is closed as well & hurlers up for sale. No money to be made from Students.

The Guinness in Fennessys is worth tipping in for but it is an auld lads pubā€¦ The highway (across from the Unicorn) is grand out for a pint/game. They also lash out a mountain of foodā€¦

In fairness. ā‚¬20 or less would get you 24 bottles of Heineken or whatever these days. You might get 5 pints for that if you were very lucky. No brainer

Yeah was thinking that. In my day though students were still drinking away in pubs, i suppose most of us had part time jobs to finance it which is now gone.

You could walk it to town from where you are? Hit Bobby Byrnes or Souths in 15mins i imagine from Dooradoyle and itā€™d be safe enough.

Charlie Maloneā€™s is a great pub to waste a day in. A proper boozer.

Most of the cunts are workingā€¦ but phone credit/clothes etc. etc are far more important than pints these days.

I like auld lads pubs. All the pubs in Dooradoyle seem to be more restaurants than pubs.
@ciarancareyshurlingarmy whereā€™s your local?

Both would be a fair walk for a couple of pints, although would only be a few quid in a taxi. Walk in to whet the appetite and then taxi home.

Was only there last weekā€¦ Iā€™ll be in there for a day session soon enough iā€™d say.

Agreed. Great pub. The west end of Limerick is a great spot for proper boozers.

As I said, the highway if fine, a real locals barā€¦ Heā€™s up by Russels bar on Father-Russel roadā€¦another Collinsā€™.

I used to drink there back in the dayā€¦ serious bad element took over for a few yearsā€¦ back to regualar alchos drinking in there againā€¦last time I was there (about 3 year ago) we were roped into a game of bingo with a load of auld wans- great night.

Sorryā€” read that wrongā€¦ I thought you said the West End bar :slight_smile:

Agreed. Years since iā€™ve been in there. What is the best pub at the moment to enjoy a nice pint of Guinness without too many crowds or pretension about the place? Tom Collins is meant to be gone bad with a fierce hipster type of bollocks going in there in recent years.

Iā€™d say my era was the last of the pub students and it was already well dying at that stage. Minimum pricing was lifted a year or two after I finished and that fucked it altogether.
Same all over, was it the Western Star in Cork that was the famous student bar down there? Thatā€™s gone as well.

Pity to see JJ Bowles closed down. One of the best pubs in Limerick.

Ah fuck.

JJā€™s was another great pub just hidden away. Grand and cosy bar and a fine smoking area on the river

Fucking hipsters. Sextons was a haunt of mine in a previous life. I presume itā€™s still open?

I plan on an exhaustive search of Limerick boozers once I get settled down there. Iā€™ll keep the board posted.

That Russells is another souless place @ChocolateMice. I hear a lot about the Curraghower these days, full of Rugby cunts I assume?

Can you get Monday week off, pal? Iā€™m heading out for around 11.30am and will be hard at it for the day. Weā€™ll do a 12 pubs of mid-October.