Is Ted’s still on the go? Had a few weird nights in there many’s the Wednesday. Load of auld wans and freaks. Great craic
Didn’t the Theatre Club have one back in the day?
Great spot, long gone.
The Jukebox would be a good name for a pub.
About ten years ago, three of us walked into the Sarsfield Bar at around five on a Saturday evening. There was no one in the bar, and the ould lad that owned it was cutting timber with a bow saw on the pool table, all very normal. He looked out at us and went back to cutting the timber. We waited for about five minutes just to see what would happen. He eventually wandered out and told us that he only ever serves his friend and that the place ‘Wouldn’t suit ye’. Showing due respect, I asked him to serve us one pint and we’d go and he was happy enough. Myself and the other fella ordered Guinness and the girl wanted a pint of Smithwicks. He pulled the two pints but only handed your wan out a mug of Smithwicks. Some legend. There was some great history to the place and he’d talk for Ireland once you got him going. Great pictures on the walls of the city from 100 years ago. Sad to see pubs and characters like that lad and his brother gone, and replaced with shitholes like cobblestone Joes.
Anyone have any decent tales of entering rough bars in Limerick? I was on Dick Devane’s once or twice as a teenager but didn’t hang about in there too long. Lads openly rolling joints at the counter! I think a retired copper ran it and he didn’t give a fiddlers.
I see it has opened again under some new name. Driving past last week I thought I noticed a sign saying something like “Free shot with every pint between 5 and 7”
It was the Mucky Duck for a while.
For some reason a few of us used to drink in Norbert’s a good bit, mainly on a Saturday or Sunday morning after staying up all night. The place had it’s own eco system and would regulate itself and lads used to almost be on shifts in there.
Is Devane’s/The Mucky Duck called The Sports Bar now? Used pass it a good bit, trackies tucked into white socks pulled up to your knees was the order of the day. Katy Daly’s further up opposite the castle is a spot for a smashing pint of G.
There’s fuck all out Castetroy way now for a good pint either? Hurlers is gone bad a long time, then you have O’Connors (formerly Synnotts) further out and it’s average enough but more of an eating house then pub.
Was The Sports Bar for a while but has changed again now.
The North Star out in Thomondgate is another unheralded gem.
Aside from the Baalbec influence of course. Serious pint of Guinness though
Were you ever in Termights? The first club I could get into. “Security” let you smoke joints if you gave them a puff when they came round.
Defend the fuck out of it, pal.
Too right I was in Termights. I remember it being in the Theatre Royal for a while and serving the worst Guinness one could ever imagine out of plastic glasses. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten over it as I have never really taken to Guinness at all bar when I’m in pubs like the Long Hall, etc.
There is zilch out that way other than Sky Sports & Steak pubs. Black Swan out in Annacotty nearly your best bet, Guinness would be fair-to-middling though.
Is the bar in the Southcourt still septic?
The Savoy I remember it as? I remember when they were knocking the building and for a while one wall was down you could see into the old club from the bus stop at dunnes with daylight pouring in on the murals on the walls that it was too dark to make out when you were actually in there -surreal sight.
Any modern pub in Limerick is a soulless hovel.
Some of the older ones are utter kips.
Therefore, one should consider the following as pubs worth their salt in Limerick City:
Patsy Nicholas’s
The Still House
The Square Bar
Austin Quinlivan’s
Rasher Benson’s
The Village Inn
Flannery’s, Shannon Street
Tom Collins
Slattery’s, Edward Street
Patsy Nicholls is unreal.