Sir Tony McCoy
It was my go-to town for socialising when younger. Was grand for a few years but then we started getting accosted in the Square on random Sat nights by settled pavees from two particular estates. Fellas just out looking for trouble. Funny thing is, a lot of folk from outside West Limerick seem to think Rathkeale is the rough town - when a quieter town you could not find. Sure the Travellers are a nuisance but if they fight its generally between themselves. The permanently settled pavees in NCW are a different breed altogether.
Getting attacked was part of the night out in NCW.
Used to love going to NCW on a Saturday night and randomly attacking lads from ballingarry, Granagh etc
The Round House, an establishment I never ventured into it, has reopened under new management and a new name. Itās called Mother Macs. An awful name but a nice spot - was in there for a few last night and the stout was good, decent layout, and a sound owner dropping over pints. Clientele seem to be a bit more civil than the regulars who used to frequent that place. Your man says theyāll be getting some craft beers in so itāll suit posh boys like @ChocolateMice also
How do you know what the old clientele were like if you never ventured in there?
Friends used to live above it and I did frequent the offie there many years ago
Less of the handy talk, pal, or Iāll fucking drop you the next time you ignore me in the Crescent.
The Round House always had salt of the earth type locals in fairness - never heard of proper row in there or anything. Up the street into Stepperās is another world - canāt condone that place. There is a remarkable amount of pubs around that little part of town though by the four banks and on to upper William Street, then you have Rashers and Patsiās.
The real market quarter.
Not in Limerick but the JC is from out Doon way. He got a few clips in and did well to stay on his feet. Heās also a ref in Dublin.
http://thestar.ie/watch-brave-tallaght-barman-fights-off-three-armed-thugs/
Is that the footage of the entire incident? Is that what all the hullabaloo was about? In the car today listening to jd show I was almost in tears for the poor mans welfare. If that is the coverage of the complete incident I hope they come back and beat the shyte out of him for going crying to the jd show. A fucking joke.
Lovely family from Monagea on Operation Transformation here.
Gardai are treating it as suspicious, strange case by the sounds of it as a couple apparently were living in the house with the body lying in the back garden partially covered for the last week and a half.
Iām planning a romantic night in Limerick on Saturday 13th February to coincide with Valentineās weekend. Any hotel recommendations, chaps? I used to stay in The Clarion on the quay/docks or the defunct Juryās (now known as The Strand possibly?) during my Stokes Kennedy Crowley days over a decade ago but I havenāt stayed in Limerick since. Iād like to be city centre based and in walking distance to pubs/restaurants rather than staying in The Radisson or somewhere on the outskirts. Any (genuine) assistance appreciated.
You wonāt go wrong with either of the aforementioned. Personally, Iād opt for The Strand. Better food, more central, nearer the Gaelic Grounds (which I assume youāll be attending on the night in question)
The Strand is still a fine spot.
The George seems popular these days and has a lively bar. I stayed there a couple of years ago and it was very nice, basic enough but decent value.
If you want to push the boat out this place is supposed to be the business Bandage.
I wouldnāt stay in the Clarion, the hotel itself is fine, but the immediate area is grim
The Strand is still a good shout. Very nice hotel.
The Absolute gets very good reviews (itās about 5 minute walk from The Locke Bar).
The Savoy is the only 5 Star hotel in the city and also the most centrally located. I think rooms there are reasonable too.
I stayed in The George Boutique Hotel once or twice a few years back and found it cheap and cheerful. Nicely located too. Maybe a Limerick native could confirm if its still a viable option.
EDIT, it appears @Julio_Geordio has done so.
Iād go with the George Boutique mate if city centre based is a priority.
Youāre walking distance from all the pubs/restaurants there.