Matters regarding Limerick, Limerick Pubs, No Culture allowed

Two Mexicans in Limerick has certainly spiced things up alright.

I just read the Leader from today, sheā€™s pissed off that a new business got the go ahead in the urban garden thingy when she had applied to do so long before, as a rate payer in Limerick she felt she was badly treated.
To be honest Iā€™m in Mags (Badass) corner, Iā€™ve just realised that where I recognise the other one from is the market, she was the a big cheese down there for a good while, I assume that did no harm when she went looking for this pitch,
Badass does a fine burrito, the other place done me a decent chili one day but I know that @caulifloweredneanderthal was disgusted with his grub from the van on the bank holiday weekend.

Whatā€™s a sodacake from Thomondgate @ChocolateMice

Thats the name given to born and reared residents of Thomondgate. It goes back centuries. Something to do with the women from there smuggling bread during the seige of Limerick .

Well Badass is one of them, the other one is from fuckin Corbally, youā€™d never get a decent nickname for those cunts.

Badass is ignorant enough, but does a much better burrito than the wagon. The erratic opening times are an issue though, especially as sheā€™s a bit out of the way and itā€™s annoying to walk up there and find it closed.

Are you calling me a soda cake or just asking? I have soda cake roots alright, palā€¦ The Tobins from Thomondgate - Great soccer pedigree and unfortunately probably better rugby pedigreeā€¦ But, all people from Thomond were referred to as sodacakesā€¦ Thereā€™s a few different myths - it goes back to when Limerick was under siege in 1691 and people in Thomondgate used to sneak in sodacake to those behind the wallsā€¦ another is that the people of Thomondgate often paid the toll into the city with sodacakeā€¦ another still reckon it came from the pride of the women in Thomondgate who placed their efforts on their windows for all to see.

Take your pickā€¦

So you had sodacakes and those from ā€˜the parishā€™ looking over the river at each other.

My grandparents came from both sides of the vicious divide.

Bad ass is a great name

She does a burrito that is a match for anything Iā€™ve had in the country, and I include that place by Mick Wallaces with the queue out the door, her slow cooked pork is unreal.

Thanks for the history lesson @ChocolateMice, thatā€™s very interesting, especially the bit about your rubby pedigree :kissing_heart:

Ye have funny habits in the continent. The pudding box is a new one to me. They never had one of those in Larkinā€™s, Roccoā€™s or Joeā€™s

Ah- anyone with roots in old Limerick City will have a rugby story - it really was a parish game- but most of those that played also played soccer- it was rare that lads only played one and not both - actually one of those Tobin sodacakes is regarded as one of Pike Rovers greatest, tho he came from Thomondgate ā€¦ His brother played for Balla. Soccer has always been like that in Limerick. Whereas when it came to rugby they were staunch Thomond men and wouldnā€™t dream of crossing townā€¦ your rugby club really defined you back in the 50s/60s/70s/80sā€¦ If you go back further it evolved from the Parnellite split - depending on the split and area GAA fell away and rugby and soccer thrivedā€¦ This was the case in Limerick City while Cork City largely went the other way and GAA thrived.

Ah here. How have you never heard of the pudding supper, not box, from Delaneyā€™s?

It sounds like you know your shit, fascinating stuff that social history of sports in Ireland, thereā€™s been a few books recently dealing with it but to my shame I havenā€™t read any yet, there used to be a fella posting on AFR who was doing doctoral research mostly around Kerry. This is a book that I love flicking through from time to time.

@cluaindiuic settle this. Have you heard of the above?

Is Delaneys the blue door on John St? If so yeah they do a pudding supper.

Yes, itā€™s the Blue Door now

Aye, even around claughan in the 80s soccer and rugby were huge. I remember granville even had a rugby team who i played with as a young lad before moving out of the area, wed have training the same day as the soccer team (on the same fucking pitch) youll be happy to know pal i picked the soccer!

@backinatracksuit the Burrito wagon has now setup shop in a kinda courtyard beside King Johns Castle, lovely setting and was very busy when I passed yesterday.

Iā€™ve always said iā€™ve nothing against club rugby and real club menā€¦ itā€™s the modern provincial and international fan I despise.

@Midshipman_Asha, @cluaindiuic @corner_back
You Kilkenny cunts can fuck off out of this threadā€¦ itā€™s bad enough that you steal our trophy every September without hijacking our thread also.

Limerick is box office mate, thereā€™s hardly a fucker on the forum who doesnā€™t read this thread.