I doubt it. There was similar optimism for Trevor Deely a year or two ago.
More a ploy to give the perps a scare I think.
They’ve announced numerous new searches in the various missing women cases over the years, none of them have yielded anything.
Must be a scandal about to break about them.
In Larry Murphy’s neck of the woods. Seems like the Guards are just wanting to be seen to be doing something.
Strange comments by the Guards.
We are searching predominately for evidence of Deirdre Jacob but believe in doing so we may find evidence relating to Jo Jo Dullard. But we don’t believe that the same person was involved in both murders.
Wrong log-in Tim
The below statement on the RTE website seems strange. The burning question is where did they get this information and why wasn’t it investigated years ago?
Gardaí investigating the disappearance of Deirdre Jacob and other women who went missing in Leinster over 20 years ago said a new search has commenced because of unusual activity noticed on the evening she disappeared.
Inspector John Fitzgerald, who is in charge of the search, said an area of dense woodland at Brewel East, on the Kildare/Wicklow border was identified as an area of interest, as he said unusual activity was reported at the woodland on the night of the 28 July 1998, the day Deirdre Jacob went missing.
I was just about to ask the same thing after watching the One O’Clock news and wondering why it wasn’t checked years ago. 15KMs from where Larry Murphy lived and close to where he was caught with another woman.
Just up the old N9 from where Jojo Dullard was last seen. It’s in behind Walls of Kilgowan (the Priory Restaurant) which some posters might have stopped at for a sangwich over the years.
It’s still hard to believe that cunt was ever again allowed out of prison
I was just listening to it on the radio and I thought he said “unusual activity in or around the time” she went missing. Sounds highly speculative to me.
It defies belief.
He served ten years for one of the most horrific attacks perpetuated on someone in the history of the State. He would have killed her also were it not for the chance appearance of the hunters.
He was let out early for ‘good behaviour’ despite the fact he refused ‘help’ for his ‘issues’.
A prison inmate apparently came forward to say that Murphy told him that he abducted a girl outside Newbridge with the intention of sexual assault. She went crazy apparently and he killed her immediately and threw her in a lake.
I hope that is not their source as he’s probably about as credible as Murphy himself.
I’d say Murphy was telling fellas wild tales inside to see how he could lead the cops on a merry dance while he sits back and chuckles. The cunt
Surprised nobody ever brought him to an abandoned farmhouse and gone medieval on his ass til he coughs up info …
The Gardai were told their best bet for success was to excavate the area in October. WTF?
Well he fucked off abroad as soon as he got out of jail
The 4 week search that started today is expected to uncover clothes or material they say. This is beyond bizarre. There’s a bunch of info that has to be getting withheld here