Missing People In Ireland

They watched Sopranos and decided against Chrissy and Paulie

Just because they spoke to him at the time but didn’t arrest him in the same go doesn’t mean he is or was not on their radar. They would have to go through what circumstantial evidence they have and build a case - whether that be through hours of CCTV or interviewing those close to the two men. You don’t charge someone without something that strongly points to them or it falls apart. If this chap is their guy and he is ex special forces and is now gone missing himself I’d imagine the next thing is a manhunt for him.

Would there not have been a high chance that person might leave the state in the intervening period?

Until they charge him then he’s a free man I’d be thinking, they could try to extradite him if they figure out where he went but he could end up leading a transient lifestyle now and be very difficult to pin down his location.

Would there be much CCTV footage on a remote farm in Kerry?

If he went towards the lakes or back towards Kenmare you’d imagine there may be CCTV somewhere; the farm may be remote but the entrance near where his car was found is on the Ring of Kerry, so surely other nearby premises might have some CCTV operating, like the Avoca at the top of Moll’s Gap.

Why were they able to send the whole army to search for this lad and they couldn’t look under the stairs for Tina Satchwell?

After all the investigations on here lads are still blithely unaware of the landscape around getting search warrant for a private residence

“Shure we know he did it judge” doesn’t get you there

The guards did search the house sure

Just not under the stairs.

He said there was nothing there

The guards haven’t showered themselves in glory on the Tina Satchwell case that’s for sure. He said on the stand that he had her in a freezer for two days before then burying her in a corner under the stairs which he concreted over and put up a false wall in front of it. Surely there would have been in a smell of DIY work in that spot when they had a look around the house . I know four days elapsed before he reported her missing but my understanding was they’d been allowed access to the house to search for “clues” as to where she may have gone? Open to correction on that. He very nearly got away with the whole thing.

When the whole army came out to search his land the examiners crime correspondent Ralph Rigel said the investigators were using all the levers and resources available to them in a murder enquiry. So from an early stage I would say the family were able to say there was sufficient suspicion around his recent interactions with a certain individual. There was probably beef going on a while. That’s the way it’s looking now.

was I half reading the news articles, I did’nt know Michael Gaines had a wife

they didn’t need to, Richard told them he didnt know where she was

He bamboozled them really with his weirdness.

I think they knew but from listening to the Graham Dwyer podcast @gman recommended, there’s a lot of paperwork involved in a murder case. I’d say the Gardai were as pissed off as Satchwell when a body was found.

The Guards have made a fucking dog’s dinner of the Satchwell search. In the house for 11 hours while Richard was out “scouring the countryside” for Tina. After the 2nd delivery from the Youghal’s equivalent of Donkey Forde’s, the photographer on site sat back and observed fresh plasterboard and unpainted woodwork under the stairs. He didn’t mention the setting concrete but noted that the birdcage hadn’t been cleaned in a while. He’s 3’ from Tina and hasn’t the wit to think to himself this looks odd. The country is indeed fucked.

Would you have needed to listen to a podder to know that?

Wasn’t curious about the freshly bricked wall at all at all.