Missing People In Ireland

Was there a taxi-driver who said he dropped someone matching his description in Baldoyle?

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-1.2120358

Irish Times are running a series on Trevor Deely. A strange one still

[QUOTE=“Tim Riggins, post: 1100595, member: 1382”]http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-1.2120358

Irish Times are running a series on Trevor Deely. A strange one still[/QUOTE]
i read that, the gardai dont come out of it well; didnt check the street for CCTV, didnt look into phone traffic, didnt look at the emails. just seemed to have made their mind up straight away that he went into the canal and that was that

Seems to be a resources issue - no real investigation into disappearance of Elaine O’Hara until a body showed up

[QUOTE=“Tim Riggins, post: 1100595, member: 1382”]http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-1.2120358

Interesting, knew of the case but not really the story. Nothing in there to suggest suicide which I had assumed was what happened him. Then again doesn’t rule it out either.
The Guards :rolleyes:

The call to the mate was strange I thought, given that his colleague didn’t think he seemed particularly pissed when he called into his office and the voicemail he left.

interesting to read background.

if he had a mobile phone with him could they not track last movements and last activity with cell tower to narrow location of search

Saw that over the weekend.

Very strange. I think the canal can be ruled out given that he would have to go off his route home to walk along side it, and his workmate didn’t indicate that he was drunk enough to do that. The Dodder at Ballsbridge which was on his route would be the more likely. But that is not a very treacherous bridge and the CCTV indicated that the brolly was reasonably stationery which suggests that the weather wasn’t too bad at the time.

Suicide could never be ruled out but he showed no signs whatsoever of it.

The lad with the cap behind adds to the intrigue.

Terrible on the family in any case.

I dont know if it’s a resources or just a manetal block on behalf of AGS, but they dont have a great track record in missing person cases. i remember a few years ago there was a lad who’d gone missing on grafton st and in spite of “an intensive search” his body was found randomly by a guy on a ciggie break nearly a week later, just off grafton st.

I wouldnt hold out much hope for operation trace either

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1100604, member: 2272”]interesting to read background.

if he had a mobile phone with him could they not track last movements and last activity with cell tower to narrow location of search[/QUOTE]
given AGS never bothered looking for CCTV, do you think they’d look at cell triangulation ? it was a GSM phone that he had thoug, mind you, it was big enough to weigh you down if you fell in the water
http://www.ixibo.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/nokia-1610.jpg

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1100605, member: 24”]Saw that over the weekend.

Very strange. I think the canal can be ruled out given that he would have to go off his route home to walk along side it, and his workmate didn’t indicate that he was drunk enough to do that. The Dodder at Ballsbridge which was on his route would be the more likely. But that is not a very treacherous bridge and the CCTV indicated that the brolly was reasonably stationery which suggests that the weather wasn’t too bad at the time.

Suicide could never be ruled out but he showed no signs whatsoever of it.

The lad with the cap behind adds to the intrigue.

Terrible on the family in any case.[/QUOTE]

What’s that about a lad in a cap?

Was his phone actually ringing the next day or was it going straight to voicemail? It’s not clear from the article.

Didn’t nobody notice he was missing until Monday? Work just thought he has hungover. Not sure what his housemates were at

[QUOTE=“artfoley, post: 1100610, member: 179”]I dont know if it’s a resources or just a manetal block on behalf of AGS, but they dont have a great track record in missing person cases. i remember a few years ago there was a lad who’d gone missing on grafton st and in spite of “an intensive search” his body was found randomly by a guy on a ciggie break nearly a week later, just off grafton st.
This was a chap from Fermanagh if I remember? Think it took almost two weeks to find him. I think he’d climbed a fire escape stairs and fell off it having a pee.

[QUOTE=“briantinnion, post: 1100618, member: 6”]What’s that about a lad in a cap?

Was his phone actually ringing the next day or was it going straight to voicemail? It’s not clear from the article.[/QUOTE]

There was a lad in a cap seen on the CCTV passing by the now Milanos about a minute after Trevor.

He has never come forward.

thats the chap

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dead-man-still-had-cash-in-his-pockets-26248971.html

the little paul williamsesque garda clearing final line of the report:rolleyes:

I really can’t see how he could have managed to fall into the Dodder on that bridge. I think the call to his mate was important.

That taxi driver would want to learn when to keep his trap shut if he doesn’t want to end up on Blackpool beach

I’ve been reading the piece in the Irish Times myself, part three is tomorrow. I agree with Tim Riggins above, he rang his mate at about 4.15am on his walk home. Who rings their mate that late at night? But the mate was quoted as saying that wouldn’t have been unusual on a night they were both out for a few pints separately.

I think what’s of more interest, and they didn’t really flesh out at all, is that he had only recently before he disappeared returned from a trip to Alaska. He had met this bird in Dublin and they kept in touch, he went out to visit her. Whatever happened there needs to be thoroughly investigated. Was it? It’s not apparent that it was. Anything could have stemmed from that.

1. He could have been emotionally crushed by it if it went bad and the bird rejected him (plausible given the time frame and his subsequent disappearance, young fellas of 22yrs old with relationship problems is prime candidate for suicides). Also he hadn’t told anyone since about how the trip went. He rang the same mate from above and the fella told him to say nothing about how the trip went, that he wanted to hear it all in person. But of course they never met again.
  2. It could have gone so swimmingly well that they hatched some plan to just disappear together, meeting in Asia or something. He could have been a bit of a fantasist and fancied the idea of disappearing without trace. Granted this idea would seem extremely unlikely.

The idea that he ran off does seem plausible except it wouldn’t exactly be a masterplan to do it after a night out. He wasn’t to know of where CCTV took him. Of course we don’t know what happened after the CCTV footage and even before that Monday - he could have returned to his apartment and left.

Suicide I guess is plausible as well but his route doesn’t seem to tally with that. If he had been planning that then why back to the apartment? Of course again we have no detail on what happened after the CCTV footage. Again I’m interested in the lack of detail here, nothing is said in the articles so far except his brother called on the Monday and couldn’t find him.
The theory that it was a drunk driver out who panicked and dumped the body, with no taxis on the road and few cars about, seems the most likely if he never made it back to his apartment. Well that or kidnap.:eek:

Seems a stretch he’d be kidnapped randomly and done away with. Surely a more likely candidate is attractive young woman or child for that, not a 6ft plus 22yr old at 4.30am in the morning in Dublin city. Fleeing the country and starting a new life as well has to be ruled out too otherwise they’d have said his passport is missing? He lived with two girls, i understand both of them make out he never returned after the night out? But were they there all the time. He could have returned quietly, or on the Monday when they were at work, got a few quid and got a bus somewhere rural. He could have fired himself off a cliff or whatever. Surely that’s more of a possibility than he died in Dublin by suicide otherwise the body would be found. It’s pretty damn horrific for the families, these missing persons cases.