Thatās cos you are a fucking idiot
Iām talking about people who drive for a living. People are often forced by bosses to go past normal limits. And thatās not just truck drivers, happens with pharma reps and the likes as well.
Thatās cos you are a fucking idiot
Iām talking about people who drive for a living. People are often forced by bosses to go past normal limits. And thatās not just truck drivers, happens with pharma reps and the likes as well.
how do you know i dont drive for a living?
it makes no difference
if i had to be in one place and another immiedialy after that i was doing it for my living, i wasnt tipping down to the local GAA club, i was doing it as it was my job
i am no different to you chugging around handing out fliers u fool, we both choose to do it , the risks are the same
If you drive tired to the extent that your reactions are impaired, you shouldnāt be on the road.
Any person can pull in somewhere and have a nap for an hour, no matter where they they are.
Thatās very much living in the real world.
This is the typical bullshit you hear in relation to drink. Using it as an excuse.
For me drink brings out elements of someoneās personality that may well have been hidden previously, or may not be very nice. Their inhibitions are lower and the guard drops.
Like the Laois bloke. I donāt think that the drink miraculously made him think that he could go around a formula one track. I think the drink awoke the stubbornness in him and also a macho type of āIām a legend for driving with 10 pints in me and still be able to driveā.
With regard to the running away, thankfully I have never been there but I would imagine smashing into a car and seeing the results wouldnāt be long sobering you up anyway.
As regards the comparison with my local lad and the Laois bloke, I never condoned it but fortunately there was a humourous ending to the local ladās story. And he didnāt fucking crash head on at speed into an uncoming car while slumped across the wheel.
Iād tend to agree with that point about drink bringing out elements of someones personality or even just being a convenient excuse in the moment. Itās amazing how often its the same lads whoād get into fights or dodgy situations or make poor decisions when theyāre drunk - its not just a random thing that happens.
Because you work in a factory
You are not getting it sid. Most people have GPS trackers on their cars now. Every stop can be monitored. However while bosses flaunt the rules on one end they enforce on the other. And if you donāt like it they will find someone else.
Thats reality.
But does the drink change them or just reveal who they really are?
I was hit head on by a drunk driver a few years back. She fell asleep at the wheel. Thankfully I was stationary and she was only travelling at around 30km/h. She then tried to drive away when the Gardai arrived.
I swore Iād never drink and drive after it but yet about 18 months later I found myself driving home after a night out without even realising what I was doing, only time Iād ever done it. Thankfully it happened without incident. Gave me the greatest fright of my life. In short, drink is a curse.
Am sure the mother will learn to forgive in time but can completely understand why she feels how she feels now.
Iād say it reveals who they are or certainly reveals aspects of their personality that they otherwise hide/control.
There but for the grace of God too, it was a way of life in the west up til the last few years, my 24 year old brother wouldnāt dream of doing it but it was par for the course when I was 17 to mid 20s. A few pints and home, maybe once or twice very drunk, thank fuck I didnāt hit anyone, but at that age you donāt understand the consequences despite going to funerals of lads around south Galway killed due to drink driving. We had a euphemism for it, if someone wrote off their car drunk, and someone subsequently asked what happened lads would say āhe swerved to avoid a dogā wasnāt a joke or a big laugh or anything, just said matter of factly. And I didnāt do it thinking I was a hero just had often no other way to get to social events. I still think this lad is a cunt for leaving the scene, thatās my issue, I didnāt think he had any intention of crashing into someone. 10 pints of cider is not mind altering, he was the same as a sober lad whoād leave the scene of a crash.
But ones that might never emerge if they werenāt drunk? Iāve seen completely calm lads go nuts on innumerable occasions, try and fight bouncers twice the size of them or whatever.
Yeah - Iāve seen that too - antics from guys that you just wouldnāt expect.
In Vino Veritas as they say. In Vino Veritas.
You must have realised what you were doing. You were able to start the car, move it, find your way home etc.
FFS are everyone just soft fuckers that lose the run of themselves completely with drink?
The greatest excuse ever given to those who want to find it, shur I was drunk. Horseshit in reality.
As does be said at home, if you canāt drive properly with 4 pints in you then you canāt drink. Or canāt drive.
The lad that came up wonāt leave the house now for a pint without getting a lift.
so when you told some fat yoke at ten to two that she was the woman of your dreams that was the truth?
There was some truth inside me looking to get out at that point anyway !
Had been drinking from 8pm to about 5am and couldnāt get a taxi so plan was to sleep in the car. Next thing I remember is being on the road home. Am sure a part of me realised what I was doing but my mind is a complete blank. No excuse though. I was just lucky.
Or things they have not dealt with.
I can vouch for that.