More Things That Are Wrong, just plain wrong

Nobody can be fired. Nobody.

I have a cluent who delivers training to Hse and Councils everywhere. She says they are box ticking but sometimes raging arguments happen where nurses hop off management. The ones generally interested in doing a good job. She thinks they have no fear because they cannot lose their jobs either.

But nursing isnā€™t all rosey either. Their basic training has dipped. The stanards are way down and they use tge mess as an excuse. I would be gere for 2 hours giving you examples.

Pount being its an unbelievable task. Where do they start? Its mental.

Only outright rebellion will work

You donā€™t have to tell me about the state of the health service. I spent a few weeks in and out of a hospital everyday when my father was there and when there was nothing they could do for him it was get him out as quickly as they could and they didnā€™t give a fuck. They tried to send him home to my mother to look after him are her only over a knee replacement and has arthritis in her fingers she just about use them. Only for the rest of us stood up them they would have had him out and not only would he have died my mother would have went as well.

Was that coming from Hospital management or were the medical staff trying to put the pressure on

More the management wanted him out and didnā€™t give a shite about where he went as long as the bed was freed up. The poor man was afraid to leave the ward for any length of time in case his bed was gone. When a bed became free in the hospice they gave my mam 30 minutes notice that they were moving him.

Isnt all rosy? Its hardly 10% rosy as far as i can see. About all it has going for it at the moment is you are guarantees to have a job if you want it

Nurses have it fairly handy alright.

I donā€™t mean to sound harsh but if there was nothing more they could do for him would you not expect that they would look to free up the woefully scarce bed for someone who they could possibly do something for?

Mate - itā€™s a bit of back pain. You are hardly on deathā€™s door.

I never claimed to be on deathā€™s door, palā€¦ I can barely move tho and itā€™s going on 3 weeks now but more severely for 5 days whereā€™s itā€™s a struggle to sleep, get out of bed or stand upā€¦ Anyway, my ire is more at the process - demanding a new referral if it was just one scan and then needing another 48 hrs to verify that referral having already verified the first oneā€¦ Iā€™m allowed a little whinge in the appropriate thread surely?

Go on - Iā€™ll let ya.

Cheerā€™s bro ā€¦ If I had the strength at all iā€™d get into the car and drive to Dublin and hop a 2 by 4 off that cunt @Horseboxā€™s head.

C[quote=ā€œChocolateMice, post:6401, topic:20929, full:trueā€]
I never claimed to be on deathā€™s door, palā€¦ I can barely move tho and itā€™s going on 3 weeks now but more severely for 5 days whereā€™s itā€™s a struggle to sleep, get out of bed or stand upā€¦ Anyway, my ire is more at the process - demanding a new referral if it was just one scan and then needing another 48 hrs to verify that referral having already verified the first oneā€¦ Iā€™m allowed a little whinge in the appropriate thread surely?

Yes but you hardly acted responsibly when you had the twinge, going out and getting buckled and falling over drunk. No wonder your back is sore. And then you think everyone in the health service should be dancing to your merry tune, when you wonā€™t take any responsibility for your own care.

We were tagging each other at the same time, mate. Great minds and all that.

Woah, woah, woah ā€¦ I was given the green light to go drinking, mateā€¦ And the fall actually put the joint back into place for a short period Iā€™ll have you knowā€¦ You know very little about my injury mate so donā€™t be coming in here giving it the holier than thou craic - I only encourage you in your battle against the Celtic aids, iā€™d appreciate some of the same in returnā€¦ And this isnā€™t the health service per se, itā€™s a shower of cunts being pedantic - itā€™s being privately paid for and nothing to do with the state or state coffers, so yes, I do expect a little bit of efficiency.

Look I would have no problem with that but unfortunately this is where the system falls down, they donā€™t have the supports in place for when people are sent home from hospital to die. This is one of the major issues that there is in the health service and why beds are not freed up correctly. You cant send a dying person home when there are no supports in place unless you are rich enough to be able to employ a full nurse or carer. We were looking at that fair deal but that takes 6 weeks to process a request, the doctors couldnā€™t tell us how long he had left. That just left the hospice and that is just a waiting game as to when a bed becomes free.

My mam would have loved to take him home but the house was inadequate, there was no way he would be able to get up and down the stairs, there was no downstairs toilet and he was unstable on his feet and had a couple of falls. So what are people to do?

No i do not think they do. But since they made it more academic in training standards seem to have dropped. Its probably multi factorial but that seems a key reason.

They simply do not seem to care as much or ve as professional. Even reading a patients notes seems too much for alot of them leading wrong doses, incorrect consumables used etc

Would you not put that down to the pressure that is on them from the system and the fact that they are under staffed?

Was the hospital actually going to release him to a completely unsuitable home where he was being put in danger due to his condition? I am genuinely amazed by that.

I have had a few relatives in a similar situation. The Hospital quizzed us to make sure that we had a sufficient house and enough man power to take care of the person.

And all this is coming from the previously mentioned source?

Well she is talking through her hole.