Moving Abroad

Same everywhere, I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, going to spend a year in Australia doesn’t mean you are expanding your horizans, it just means that you spend 11 months working and drinking with your mates down the local Irish bar then you goto Fraiser Island for a month, that’s not seeing the world to me

no i dont know if its true, i have no idea

very true- muldoons are terrible travellers

Seriously, girls “riding all round them”, “taking cock off everybody”.

I never met those girls

I steer clear of Coppers, Fran.

If a bar sells more pints that anything else, then your in the wrong place

There’s some amount of people who seem to do just that. 11 months living in Bondi Junction or whatever the fook it’s called, working in a bank and socialising exclusively in Irish bars. You may as well be working in one of the banks in Dublin city centre and spending every weekend in Copper’s. In fairness, I’ve a few mates travelling at the moment, and ClarkeyCat from here too, and they’re seeing a lot of Asia, New Zealand and other places and not just Sydney followed by the Fraser Island thing. As I said, I’m personally not interested in exploring Asia and all that lark but I wouldn’t mind working and living somewhere like Sydney for a year. I hope if I ever do I don’t end up in the Copper’s equivalent 3 or 4 nights a week. That actually seems depressing to me.

one of my lowlights from oz was coming home with hot buttered after a long day in the green room & passing through bondi junction where i would see a cackle of muldoon women in GGAs jerseys heading to some Irish bar -uugh:mad:

I had a fair few friends who did the whole year in Oz thing, not my cup of tea, I stayed at home and stuck it out here (I’m a make hay kind of man), but I went over there for 5 weeks a few years back on a holiday, I honest think I’ve seen more of Australia that all my mates combined, 2 of them saw only Sydney another other Melbourne, they had no interest in seeing Perth cause it was too quite

Nothing worse than a lad coming home from Australia wearing those fcuking beads around his neck. Usually those yokes last around three weeks in Ireland before yer man realises he looks like a Berkshire Hunt walking around Grangemockler with them. I say usually because Ciaran McDonald still thinks they’re cool.

Nah, it’s yerman that comes home with the Shark tooth that he got down in Oz, how he hates it back here, that it’s too cold, there’s nothing happening, there’s no craic, etc. etc. that wrecks my head

Most of the time it’s the local GAA star that went out there in October

:wink:

Fooking hell. I stand guilty of this practice but it was after a J1 summer in America. I completely take and accept your point and, in my defence, my ‘beads’ only lasted about a week before I realised what a gimp I looked like.

Were you at Mardi Gras, Bandage? At least you wised up quick enough.

Clareman, I’ve never seen a lad come home with a croc tooth, but you are 100% correct. An even graver offence than beads.

Similarly I must confess that I came home from Italy in 1998 with a propensity to wolf whistle at any girl that walked by me. Such is the way in the Eternal City.

I went to London when I was 13, I came home and only wanted to drink bottled water, what a ponce I was

Haha Bandage you idiot. Beads from your J1.

Went to Oz for 3 weeks before and had great craic, but most of the enjoyment was in drivng from Cairns to Brisbane and stopping off in shitty little towns. Was 2 nights in Sydney and it looked impressive but not my cup of tea and I reckon I’d get bored of living there.

Happy enough in ire, can’t really imagine living anywhere else. Germany would be the only place I’d even consider but even then I’ve done a year there and wouldn’t go back.

Have to concur with Gman on Fist of Fury - get it over and done with if you don’t want to spend your time in Oz with her. Why not bring MGG along for the ride?

You fooking jennet :wink:

I loved that drive as well rock, I could see myself living in Perth or Melbourne, Sydney just wasn’t for me

I remember embarrasing my mother when asking for it in a shop, I thought she was going to kill me, she couldn’t understand wanting to pay for water, we’ve come along way in 17 years http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif

I’d say she probably said something like could you not get some Coke or something of a bit of value!