Moving Abroad

I think she called me a jessie or a girl or something, my mother would be a bit of a country lady

[quote=“therock67”]Haha Bandage you idiot. Beads from your J1.

Have to concur with Gman on Fist of Fury - get it over and done with if you don’t want to spend your time in Oz with her. Why not bring MGG along for the ride?[/quote]

i’m not going to throw a shot in every bird i meet along the way. going for beering and a break from my job. (good timing) as i may get laid off anyway.

was in oz for a month 2 years ago enjoyed the craic but i plan on asia for two months oz new zealand and south america on the way home.

[quote=“fist_of_fury”]i’m not going to throw a shot in every bird i meet along the way. going for beering and a break from my job. (good timing) as i may get laid off anyway.

was in oz for a month 2 years ago enjoyed the craic but i plan on asia for two months oz new zealand and south america on the way home.[/quote]
Sounds good to me, try to hold out for being laid off if you can, worst case scenerio you get 1600 for each year you’ve worked there, cover the flights if nothing else

sounds good alright FoF. I did it the other way around, I went toe america/south America for a few months before heading to Oz, and back thru Asia. And as the lads said, dont end up living in county Bondi for 11 months and do a fly tour of the east coast before you go home. Its a massive place and lots in it to see. Make a point of going to each state/territory there, not a hard thing to do. I started West and gradually ended up in sydney which I left til the very end as I wasnt pushed about the place, well not so much the city, but the Irish element of it. The first night I got there I was in some Irish pub and I met 7 people I went to primary school with. I wouldnt even meet that many in the local boozer at home, never mind in Oz. And all the same thing, ‘where have you been, why havent you been in Sydney?’ as if Sydney is Australia. I love the one about Perth being quiet tho. ‘not much going on there, really quiet’, ie. there isnt a big Irish settlement and Irish pubs where everyone goes to and fondly remembers home while they are away for 12 months.

I had a great time in Perth, really liked Freemantle as well.

the beaches between freo and perth are great for sunday sessions. Cottesloe being the best by far. Heading back to Perth for a month or so at Christmas. Cant fecking wait.

Rub it in why don’t ya

Gman - let me know before you head. The sister of a lad I work with owns a bar in Perth (dont think its a stereotypical Irish bar). I’ll put in a good word for yez!

do you know the name of it? there’s only one real main Irish bar in Perth anyway, Rosies in Northbridge, all the other ‘irish’ bars would be a mix of people. even the Irish club wouldnt be all Irish in it because its in subiaco just beside the football ground.

Ahh, the Irish club, I had a great night there, in fact I sent out 2 of the crests that are hanging on the wall once I got home, met a fella called Lewie from Galway, apparantly he’s a complete legend

I’ll check and find out for you

Just got this back from him Gman. Am sure you know a lot of this already but just in case you didnt.

Its the Shed.

http://www.the-shed.com.au/

If he is going around x-mas tell him there is a foam party on boxing day over x-mas. Scroll down to see the pictures when you enter the link. (http://www.the-shed.com.au/gallery/list/3)

Sunday is Irish day at the shed. Opens at 11 in the morning and runs all day. She sells breakfast rolls and has an Irish band in.

Mad some of the rules for pubs in Oz (Of course not all have these stipulations on their license but some do):

1.   You cant wear flip flops

2.   You have to have ID

3.   You cant go into a pub on your own (they reckon it stops binge drinking)

4.   If your locked theyll ask you leave (Seemingly they are held responsible for drunk behavior)

5.   The pub has to clear within a 100 meters of the venue within 15 minutes of closing. There fined if they dont

6.   Its 2 grand for anyone caught in the venue without ID or underage and the cops come in and check ids

7.   Its somewhere the same of a fine if people are in the venue 15 minutes after closing (be prepared to be kicked out of Venues sharp on closing)

8.   Pubs are bound to a lock in policy so they wont let anyone into pubs 30 minutes and sometimes an hour before closing (again to stop binge drinking)

Perth is a mighty spot. It will be well hot at x-mas. Some of the night clubs stay open until 6am.

I might head down there for Stephens day myself by the looks of things

http://www.the-shed.com.au/gallery/list/3

Meet you in Singapore on the way there http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin.gif

Nah, was the one place in the world that was recommended to me NEVER to go to! Supposed to be one of the most boring places in the world? (Hope I haven’t prematurely ruined your honeymoon now or anything!).

I ment the airport, which is 1 of the best airports I have ever been in, there is a rooftop garden that has a bar in it, it is just heaven. When I was going the travel agent was trying to get me to spend a day or 2 in Singapore, I told her that I didn’t want to stop that I wanted to just get there, in the end it turns out they get massive commision for flogging holidays there.

I will spend a night there on honeymoon (I’m thinking a 3 month around the world trip)

the fecking shed! Are you serious! thats a great spot. right in the middle of northbridge too. spent many a great friday and saturday night there before moving onto other places and falling out of the bog (another nightclub, not a toilet, altho it does smell like that) at about 7 in the morning and then togging out for a game in the afternoon. mad times. it was around 40 degrees there last christmas, so I’ll be well up to speed on the heat there.

Ah, the Bog, great spot, I think I was in the Shed now as well now that you mention it, I think I was there before I went to the casino, oooh the casino

These Australian war stories are getting tiresome. Please cease and desist. http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif

signapore is crap