Munster Rugby - We DID start the fire (Part 1)

Ah that’s a proper deal so.

I was only going on what ye said about 1 year tbh.

What do lads want so?

2 years is about normal enough contract

What they did was go for the “safer” option. Rather than picking hanrahan, who most people would have said had way more talent and potential but was unproven and liable to make mistakes, they went for keatley on “you know what you’ll get” basis.

I.e. they never backed hanrahan.

I was merely speculating. He could be another Tony Ward. I’m happy it is two years. Sickened he won’t be linking with zebo. I think Scannell has played a nice bit at ten and Murray has so many of the traits a ten needs that they can really help Carberry. I suspect JJ will be given a good run at 15.

Can you please confirm that paddy jackson was not behind JJ Hanrahan like you’ve claimed. PJ was vastly superior.

Happy to confirm that hanrahan the more talented and higher rated player at u20 level.

JJ Hanrahan was a very good prospect but is totally overrated based on a couple of games for the Ireland under 20s. He made a massive mistake leaving when he did and hasn’t really performed when given a chance. He is more of a 12 to me but isn’t near Scannell. I’d also suspect hearing stories from when he left his attitude isn’t the best.

You really should’ve just set this as your stall a few hours ago rather than the mess of an argument you made of it. That’s a valid opinion and I definitely think they fucked up by not giving him more game time at 10 in his last stint but I don’t really think he’s good enough to be honest. Would like to be proved wrong and have a fellow Kerryman as an Irish starting 10.

Even do Paddy Jackson always started ahead of him?

Thanks bro

Yes and Paddy Jackson was given the summer off because he was the starting ten for Ulster in a Heineken Cup final at the age of 19. So JJ took his place. He was either centre or a sub when Jackson was available.

:astonished::astonished::astonished::astonished:

As if it was that simple.

Hanrahan was offered alot of money. There was alot going on

Ya I hope they give him a good run somewhere

He is supposed to be a decent lad.

But having known one or two starlets who were messed around in pro sport it can ruin a guy easy enough. He needs solidity.

The strongest of us need love

Jackson clearly better player on all know evidence

Hanrahan sulked when he wasn’t starting. I’m not sure he has the best attitude. It was nearly 25 before Johnny Sexton won his Leinster starting shirt and even at that it was due to injury. He didn’t sulk. He worked on every single aspect of his game. Turning himself into a world class ten.

Johnny has an unbelievable attitude.

I’d be slow to out anyone in with him for comparison.

Many a good pro did a great job without reaching Sextons levels

But that’s difference between good and great

Only a clown could think otherwise. People have short memories. Jackson at 24 was probably ready to break in to the top ten outhalfs in the world after the bok tour in 2016. He was always a far more complete player than Jj.

I’m merely pointing out when things don’t happen for you there’s a way to handle it. Jj has multiple chances with munster and didn’t take them. All you can ask for a player is to reach the best of their ability. This why I feel sorry for keatley I actually think he’s playing to his ceiling but it isn’t good enough.