Netflix

I donā€™t recall Irish International Mick McCarthy or anyone speaking up for the residents in Garvaghy Road back in 97, clearly he, and indeed the entire Irish sporting fraternity of that time, are scumbag uncle Toms too so?

McCarthy was a professional footballer, he was far from a star in the world of football let alone a superstar.

Jordan was a couple of levels above being a superstar and could have spoken out about any thing he wished and it would not have had any real impact on his standing within the team he played for or his endorsements - little point comparing him to a run of the mill pro player, you might as well be comparing him to a taxi driver or a butcher such is the gap between Jordan and your average player.

Mc Carthy probably often played against those types of folk when he was at Celtic as well

Beckham has been pushing the Qatar WC on behalf of the despot that rules that placeā€¦ heā€™s an Uber cunt.

Why did Mick McArthy not speak up about Drumcree? Iā€™m sure it would have meant a lot to the people there being subject to the orange abuse to know he had their back. Heā€™s gone way down in my estimation now for never having spoken out, what a scumbag

Michael Jordan could have been the James McClean of his generation, but he took the soft option and laid down.

Cuchulainn and Fionn Mac cumhaill were Uncle Toms too, more concerned with their striking and first touch than helping the marginalised.

Tiger Woods didnā€™t do much either. Worse really considering the demographic he was largely playing to

Yeah, Woods didnā€™t have the personality or charisma in front of a camera or crowd which Jordan had. Woods also had an overbearing father who made all the decisions.

I donā€™t think Jordan needed to be as pure in virtue as James McClean but he could easily have thrown a few crumbs to the likes of Gantt or a few other black causes as he had serious cache. I dont think he had to be a champion for them or a driving force but even a tacit endorsement would have been unreasonable given his standing but that wasnā€™t Jordanā€™s MO.

Sportsmen who express opinions just get bullied by an intolerant media

Some pile of shite of a story line but I love the fookin toonsā€¦a great time in the lives of any lad in his early 40s now .

Conversely, he played for less for many years. He didnā€™t hold out on contracts. He didnā€™t engage in things like Pippen did or Shaq did at the Lakers, in recovering from injuries ā€œon company timeā€. He tried to force himself back on the court everytime.

Going off to play baseball was selfish, but he was up front on that. He wasnā€™t crying out at basketball, his teammates or the Bulls, he just needed a break.

Compare that to a lot of the modern NBA. LeBron walked out of the Cavs to play with his mates & did it on a live tv show. He has had lots of coaches fired through his passive aggressive behaviour. I love LeBron and coming back to Cleveland was great, but he has done some very shifty things and left sour tastes with fanbases and his teams.

Part of Jordanā€™s behaviour there will be competitive and also from when he played. Players were pally but not like now. I personally think itā€™s a bit disingenuous when the likes of LeBron go on about the players fraternity. Thatā€™s grand as long as himself and his mates are sorted out. Jordan will know how much it takes to ultimately own a NBA team so will view it accordingly in terms of giving away value.

Itā€™s why youā€™d have to respect gentleman Jim gavin and his band of socially responsible playersā€¦

It was a great time in the 1990s. I was there living in the Midwest for a lot of it, society really peaked.

Jordan was an athlete of his time. He didnā€™t have a Vietnam. He didnā€™t have social media that demands a comment on every little social issue. He was charismatic and perfect for the cable tv, polished media cycle of the time. Not only did he not have an obligation to speak out anyway, but times were good. There wasnā€™t even a Donald Sterling like incident in the NBA that might have demanded some action from him as it was in his industry.

What made him so transcendent @Big_Dan_Campbell?

Shaq was as transcendent, if not more.

If you think Shaq was more transcendent star or had a bigger impact on pop culture than Jordan then there is little point continuing.

Why so? What made Jordan more so?

Space Jam, obviously

Did you not see Kazaaam?

Shaq was fucking everywhere

Not even close mate, Shaq was a giant, a good center but not in Jordanā€™s stratosphere,

You Canā€™t explain in words how good Jordan was