Netflix

Weā€™re not talking basketball here. Weā€™re trying to determine why @Big_Dan_Campbell thinks jordan is an uncle Tom and other successful athletes arenā€™t.

More than basketball apparently

Add to that Air Jordan branding which revolutionised sports shoes and apperal.

Shaq wasnā€™t close mate. Just look at the NBA Finals ratings alone for the Jordan years than even the Lakers three peat.

North Carolina, Air Jordans, 1992 Dream Team, Space Jam, international basketballā€¦it isnā€™t even close

Theyā€™re probably the only two basketball players Iā€™d heard of because Iā€™ve no interest in it.

Shaq was a fucking money making machine outside basketball, you could almost say he transcended it

Do you know what Uncle Tom means @Big_Dan_Campbell?

Jordan made the NBA, the same NBA most widely ackowledged as the most progressive and pro African American of all the leading sports leagues globally. MJ is directly responsible for the massive paychecks the pros are getting not to mention the hopes and aspirations of so many millions of would be minority athletes the world over. Yet you have lads wumholing themselves into knots calling him an Uncle Tom and betraying deeper and darker held prejudice in doing so.

Shaq was a Gimp.

Not an uncle Tom though

Muhammad Ali > Michael Jordan

And you can add to that list becoming a General Manager straight after playing and then then a player majority owner. Thereā€™s very few to have done that. George Halas springs to mind but we are talking about the 1920s there.

Shane Walsh > David Clifford, whatā€™s your point?

Yes it is a reference to uncle Toms cabin and itā€™s historical meaning is that if someone who is servile today the white man. Jordan had a chance to tacitly support someone running against Jesse Helm and either didnā€™t care enough or was too worried about his bottom line to do it. He didnā€™t want to offend the knuckle draggers who supported Helm.

You can argue Uncle Tom is too strong but very few ever get the platform Jordan gets and he just didnā€™t care.

Shaq is a rich man but he still turns up for work on TNT for a reason.

He didnt support helm.

Uncle Tom is a very very strong incrimination for a guy who did nothing. Selfish, maybe, but fucking hell mate

Itā€™s time for another poll - The Greatest Sportsperson of all time.

It will create the most opinionated comments of all time without possibly reaching a conclusion.

It will require firm moderation.

I watch that sometimes. Himself and Barkley are box office

Wipe your mouth, youā€™re talking shite. Off the top of my head magic Johnson was given a lucrative contract before jordan ever entered the NBAā€¦hakeem ā€˜the dreamā€™ olojuwon had a massive contract from the rockets and he was same draft as Jordan I thinkā€¦

Is money heist worth sticking with

Shaq was a great player, I was a little unfair a while ago, he dominated the key like no one else I ever saw, but itā€™s not right to put him up with Jordan, Magic was a great player to watch , but from my limited knowledge of Basketball history only Bill Russell can compare with Michael as a competitor

@Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy can run it.

Canavan has every chance.