[SIZE=7]RATIFIED[/SIZE]
This is gonna be funnier than Stan
Keane returning to Irish football the weekend Cloonan returns to Galway hurling… rare times.
I am delighted to see Roy Keane back in management, albeit as an assistant. Hopefully, he will learn a lot as an assistant to Martin O’Neill and return to management much wiser than hitherto.
Roy Keane will always be a legend in my eyes.
[quote=“fenwaypark, post: 855098, member: 276”]I am delighted to see Roy Keane back in management, albeit as an assistant. Hopefully, he will learn a lot as an assistant to Martin O’Neill and return to management much wiser than hitherto.
Roy Keane will always be a legend in my eyes.[/quote]
He is a legend, a right mental fucker but a legend all the same.
Surely this appointment is seen as Martin takes lead, Martin gets bored & Roy takes over.
With Keane involved we’re going to be back to the situation of half of the Irish people hoping they lose as they hate Keane so much. Apart from that though, surely this can’t work…
Those fucks don’t go to games though, so who gives a shit what they think.
I’m happy with this appointment. Fuck all other options and it’s worth a shot.
i can honestly say I hope Oireland never win a game with these 2 charlatans involved
Keane is already despised by the squad
[quote=“The Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 855206, member: 80”]i can honestly say I hope Oireland never win a game with these 2 charlatans involved
Keane is already despised by the squad[/quote]
Sales if Walkers Crisps are expected to boom…
Good, It’s hard to get a single packet of ready salted on the northside.
[quote=“Rocko, post: 854816, member: 1”]It’s a really strange one. I don’t think Keane brings nothing - he was clearly capable at some level in his club management, he was way too prone to getting distracted, his transfer dealings were poor and he seemed to lose respect over time but he was better than “nothing.”
There are lots of surprising elements about it:
[LIST=1]
[]Surprised O’Neill wants Keane as his number 2
[]Surprised Keane is prepared to work as a number 2
[*]Surprised the FAI are happy with Keane in the role
[/LIST]
The only not really surprising element is the most important bit, that the FAI would want O’Neill as the #1.
Obviously O’Neill has already approached Keane and he must have some idea of what Keane would bring, but it’s still really strange that he seems to have chosen him, and possibly made it a precondition of getting the job (though I guess all managers would want to appoint their own assistant as a precondition). Can he get Keane to just do the job and keep quiet with the media?
I’m happy to give this appointment my backing, and therefore my tag-alongs like @Bandage[/USER] and @[USER=1052]Rudi will also be supportive of the move.[/quote]
WhAt often seems to be forgotten is Keane is an extremely proud Irishman. Our twisted way of thinking that if he didn’t just be happy with mediocre that he must not be really Itish.
As for Keane being a hoof merchant? He hardly ever lifted the ball higher than an inch over the ground or longer than 10 yards, it’s a bizarre statement. As a manager he had championship players. You need to play a bit of rough an tumble to get out of there, that’s just the way it is.
What’s wrong with his honesty. Are we still stuck in the “Oh you can’t say things like that” mentality.
He’s not perfect by a long shot, but he has many of the qualities Irish teams have lacked lately, hopefully he can transfer some of this.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 855213, member: 273”]What’s wrong with his honesty. Are we still stuck in the “Oh you can’t say things like that” mentality.
He’s not perfect by a long shot, but he has many of the qualities Irish teams have lacked lately, hopefully he can transfer some of this.[/quote]
What qualities are these?
No fear of opposition.
giving of 100%.
Self confidence.
Willingness to sacrifice himself for good of the team.
Straight talking.
Shows respect for inferior opposition (by going out and beating the shit out of them, again giving 100%, all the time)
Ireland have lacked much of the above for a long time.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 855212, member: 273”]WhAt often seems to be forgotten is Keane is an extremely proud Irishman. Our twisted way of thinking that if he didn’t just be happy with mediocre that he must not be really Itish.
As for Keane being a hoof merchant? He hardly ever lifted the ball higher than an inch over the ground or longer than 10 yards, it’s a bizarre statement. As a manager he had championship players. You need to play a bit of rough an tumble to get out of there, that’s just the way it is.[/quote]
keane spent more on his squad than bayern munich and barca combined the year he walked away from Sunderland
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 855216, member: 273”]No fear of opposition.
giving of 100%.
Self confidence.
Straight talking.
Shows respect for inferior opposition (by going out and beating the shit out of them, again giving 100%, all the time)
Ireland have lacked much of the above for a long time.[/quote]
he dressed up as a leprechaun and shat himself before a world cup
I think those two actions show all your points are wrong
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 855216, member: 273”]No fear of opposition.
giving of 100%.
Self confidence.
Straight talking.
Ireland have lacked much of the above for a long time.[/quote]
I think the one thing Ireland do have is giving of 100%. Its more on the ball qualities and defensive organisation that they lack
FFS, have you watched that useless gutless shower of cunts playing recently?
[quote=“The Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 855206, member: 80”]i can honestly say I hope Oireland never win a game with these 2 charlatans involved
Keane is already despised by the squad[/quote]
Idiot. There’s only about three lads left that ever played with him.
Anyway, rumours have it he’ll be presenting each player with a fixie as a sign of goodwill.