Officially gone.
Giving Trap a new contract before the Euro’s has fucked us.
If we had a new manager in place for this campaign, to implement a system/belief with the younger players with an eye on the next Euros, I think we would be in a better place.
We don’t have world beaters, everyone knows it, and I don’t buy into Hoola or the likes would have made a huge difference this campaign, but we are certainly better then we have been. In many ways this qualifying process should have been wrote off, with a new man in charge, and had the likes Of Clark, Coleman, McCarthy, Gibson, McGeady, Brady, McLean, and Long (Possibly Duffy)should have formed the basis of the team, got them playing a certain way, with belief and confidence. Giles is bang on when he says Trap had written us off from the get go and decided to play one way and one way only and we’ve wasted an opportunity to bring on what limited resources we’ve had by insisting with his shite and certain players - O’Shea will probably still be around next campaign, as will Walters, Green, Wilson, Myler, McShane, Hoolahan, Stokes, Pilkington (who am I forgetting?). Add those into the mix with the first group and I think we’ve the makings of a half decent squad that should at least stand up to anyone at home. We’ve lost our pride and fighting spirit under Trap, getting hockeyed by Germany is one thing but the way we capitulated to Austria and particularly Sweden at home is unforgivable. I don’t care what anyone says, the players have no belief in the man and as a result have no belief in themselves on the pitch.
God knows who goes in next, but he is going to spend the better half of the next campaign fixing the wrongs of this one.
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/rep-of-ireland/next-permanent-manager
BetVictor really taking the piss with some of their priced up selections
Liam Daish
Brian Carey
Robbie Fowler
etc.
Bring Big Mick home
Big Mick won’t be walking out on the Tractor Boys.
Wes Hoolahan player manager ??
Attilio Lombardo
[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 830311, member: 1796”]Giving Trap a new contract before the Euro’s has fucked us.
If we had a new manager in place for this campaign, to implement a system/belief with the younger players with an eye on the next Euros, I think we would be in a better place.
We don’t have world beaters, everyone knows it, and I don’t buy into Hoola or the likes would have made a huge difference this campaign, but we are certainly better then we have been. In many this qualifying process should have been wrote off, with a new man in charge, and had the likes Of Clark, Coleman, McCarthy, Gibson, McGeady, Brady, McLean, and Long (Possibly Duffy)should have formed the basis of the team, got them playing a certain way, with belief and confidence. Giles is bang on when he says Trap had written us off from the get go and decided to play one way and one way only and we’ve wasted an opportunity to bring on what limited resources we’ve had by insisting with his shite and certain players - O’Shea will probably still be around next campaign, as will Walters, Green, Wilson, Myler, McShane, Hoolahan, Stokes, Pilkington (who am I forgetting?). Add those into the mix with the first group and I think we’ve the makings of a half decent squad that should at least stand up to anyone at home. We’ve lost our pride and fighting spirit under Trap, getting hockeyed by Germany is one thing but the way we capitulated to Austria and particularly Sweden at home is unforgivable. I don’t care what anyone says, the players have no belief in the man and as a result have no belief in themselves on the pitch.
God knows who goes in next, but he is going to spend the better half of the next campaign fixing the wrongs of this one.[/quote]
But Trap changed the team hugely since the Euros and introduced half those lads you’ve mentioned above. There isn’t a cohort of players who are hanging on to places at the end of their careers out of blind loyalty. Indeed Trap was criticised for moving on from the likes of Kilbane and Reid when the time came.
Clark has been given a few chances and is, regrettably, shit. Coleman has eben good. McCarthy has been very average - he’s an ok player but he’s not the messiah he was proclaimed to be. Gibson chooses not to play. McGeady always plays when fit. Brady has been given a chance by Trap, but I don’t know why he fell down the pecking order. McClean has had his chances, and despite his rant in Kazakhstan he hasn’t proven himself to be any better than any other options. Long has been elevated to our primary striker and has been dreadful.
It would have been ridiculous to sack Trap, or not renew his contract after the Euros. We lost to Spain, Italy and Croatia after qualifying for our first major tournament in 10 years. Getting rid of him then would have been illogical and indefensible.
I don’t think we have a particularly good team at all.
We have no goalkeeper. We have Coleman to play full back and Wilson as a really limited left back. We’re desperately short on central defenders - badly need SSL to stay fit and we’ll probably have to endure O’Shea as his partner for the time being.
We can’t play Hoolahan and Keane in the same team as far as I’m concerned and there is no earthly way we can drop Robbie yet - we simply don’t have another striker who can shoot straight, with the exception of Stokes who needs to be recalled. If we have Gibson, McCarthy, Meyler, Whelan and Green we do at least have sufficient central midfielders to provide cover for eachother but none are outstanding. Brady and McGeady are good wing optoins with a bit o fepth in that position at least.
Compare that to Austria’s squad or Belgium’s squad, or even Wales’ squad (are they renewing Coleman’s contract - now that’s madness!) and we’re not in a great position at all.
With a backroom team of Bobby Robson(Asst. Manager), Andy Reid(fitness coach) and Brendan Carroll as his translator.
[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 830311, member: 1796”]
God knows who goes in next, but he is going to spend the better half of the next campaign fixing the wrongs of this one.[/quote]
I’d argue that any manager worth his salt should be able to do that in a couple of friendly matches. After Stan we were a disorganized rabble, don’t have the players, ten years of gloom ahead, blah blah blah.
After about 10 minutes under Trap, we were organized and hard to beat and played some nice stuff against Georgia and Montenegro.
[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 830349, member: 129”]I’d argue that any manager worth his salt should be able to do that in a couple of friendly matches. After Stan we were a disorganized rabble, don’t have the players, ten years of gloom ahead, blah blah blah.
After about 10 minutes under Trap, we were organized and hard to beat and played some nice stuff against Georgia and Montenegro.[/quote]
We have a decent amount of time before the next campaign. I think we should aim to have our new manager in situ before the February friendly window. Unless we have a clear first choice who’s interested and available, I don’t think we should be rushing for the Germany game.
One of the first things Trap did well was that training camp in the early summer after he took over. Of we got a chance to do that again we’d be plenty bedded in before our first competitive game.
DOL
As a stop gap and see if he can prove he can do the job?
[quote=“Rocko, post: 830353, member: 1”]We have a decent amount of time before the next campaign. I think we should aim to have our new manager in situ before the February friendly window. Unless we have a clear first choice who’s interested and available, I don’t think we should be rushing for the Germany game.
Arrividerci Giovanni Trapattoni, howiya Noel King.
It’ll be interesting to see how his tactical acumen measures up against the Germans.
[quote=“Sidney, post: 830358, member: 183”]Arrividerci Giovanni Trapattoni, howiya Noel King.
It’ll be interesting to see how his tactical acumen measures up against the Germans.[/quote]
Is Don Givens sick?
[quote=“Sidney, post: 830358, member: 183”]Arrividerci Giovanni Trapattoni, howiya Noel King.
It’ll be interesting to see how his tactical acumen measures up against the Germans.[/quote]
Won’t be too hard, German football is in decline apparently.
Could Coach Reid realistically combine this with his job with the Chiefs though? I doubt it.
Raymond Verheijen