Official 2011 All Ireland Hurling Championship Thread

For the night thatā€™s in it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iteRKvRKFA

It was the mayonnaise in the sandwiches wot fucked Cork up this year.

The likes of Mark Oā€™Sulivan and Luke Oā€™Farrell are top, top players and would walk into any inter-county team. How many of the Galway players would get in the Cork team? None, thatā€™s how many, none.

Thereā€™s light at the end of the tunnel for Cork, Sean Og will be back next year as player manager with Donal Og, Joe Deane and the Rock will return triumphantly and the mushrooms will grow overnight again.

Jayzus. Itā€™s like something out of the DKR. Complete denial.
No underage success to speak of.
No club success.
No league form, no championship win bar Laois and offaly.
Step 1 is admitting youā€™ve a problem.
Ye canā€™t even win a puckout FFS. Thereā€™s a very long road back for cork.
The kind of conditioning needed is not something you do in 12 months.
Tipp, Galway, Dublin and Kilkenny are years into their strengthening programmes.

I have said this. Why canā€™t people read.

The last time this happened Cork made the All-Ireland the following year and won the 2 after that. Lets not lose the plot yet.

Club success has very little to relate to in IC terms anymore. Agree though, we have not had the underage and other form to be a contender. But all the reasons stem from the one same problem. The people at the top.

Ah jaysus. :unsure:

Donā€™t contradict yourself now Turenne, there are enough fools on here.

By the way, just reading the Examiner, Davy is some bluffer.

Pretty insulting putting these two together. One is a Junior hurler, the other was an exceptional talent who is still recovering (if he ever will) from two horrible injuries in his most important years of development. Indeed, he is U-21 and could still make it at this level - it takes some talented players a few years on the senior panel to get there. If he gets more of his pace back then heā€™ll make a serious corner forward.

Contradict myself? I think we have the players to compete (not necassarily beat) Galway (who are a above average side imo), but you are completely overrating the talent we have at our disposal. The depth of quality in Cork Hurling isnā€™t there at all - I mean look at the non-existent options we have in the half-back line.

Donā€™t contradict yourself now Turenne, there are enough fools on here.

By the way, just reading the Examiner, Davy is some bluffer.

That is true to a point but the 2003 Cork team had an array of talented young hurlers who had recently won All Ireland Under 21 and minor medals. The current crop do not. The last minor All Ireland won by player on the Cork team was by Gardiner in 2001.

Cork havenā€™t won the under21 since 1998 either. Thatā€™s the most obvious reason Cork are where they are. Not the people at the top - unless you can link the underachievement at underage level to the people at the top.

Unless Cork start churning out exceptional minor teams again I canā€™t see them winning All Irelands again. To be fair to Tipp they spotted their own problem a decade ago on this front and started to address it. It took years though to turn it into an All Ireland senior.

[quote=ā€œTurenne, post: 592458ā€]
Contradict myself? I think we have the players to compete (not necassarily beat) Galway (who are a above average side imo), but you are completely overrating the talent we have at our disposal. The depth of quality in Cork Hurling isnā€™t there at all - I mean look at the non-existent options we have in the half-back line.[/quote]

Cunt

Bad form to kick a man while heā€™s down alright.

What gives with this early training HB?

was it worse than the All Ireland final?

Meeting at 6ā€¦ Training at 9, most of them had days off anyway. I would have told him to fook off anywayā€¦ Cant imagine a full roll call.

some load of shit, cork were hammered in an embarrassing fashion yet if Kev was showing them how to bench they would have beaten Galway :rolleyes:

they are like wexford about 3 or 4 players that could hold their own against any team and the rest average club players.

last thing they need is training ffs - 6am just pure Davy bullshit. counselling maybe. disastrous result for the game of hurling really.

I agree things have to improve at the underage, but yes the lack of success can be directly blamed to the CB IMO. Of course not all the blame, some years we just havenā€™t had the players, end of and no debate. But the CB are only picking fellas who are too afraid to go against them in any way. Basically they are picking weak managers and management teams, and this is being seen in the play as well. Cork lost a weirdly high number of games in the past 3 years late in the game. Waterford Minors and Tipp 21ā€™s both robbes them last year due to lack of concentration and poor organisation. You had Teddy Mac roaring and shouting at lads on one side of the picth telling them to do the exact opposite of what Ger Fitz was sheepishly telling them on the other side. There is no Cody type person going to get picked with the current CB as that type of person one, wouldnā€™t do it as he knows the set up, and two he wouldnā€™t get the interview anyway. Had Ger Cunningham been given the job in 07 weā€™d be considered part of the top 3 now, i am quite confident of that.

For anyone to discount the importance of the Strength & Conditioning side of things these days is quite simply an idiot, and i make no apologies for saying that (not directed at you Fagan). To play the game at pace now you need your skills at top notch while under extreme pressure and with your body fucked. You can only train for this with extreme conditioning programs. This doesnā€™t just mean lifting weights in a gym, in fact thats a very small part of it thats mainly done in November/December. This is training that takes place every session building and tappering as the season unfolds. Cork do very little if any structured training like this. It puts them at a massive disadvantage. Thats the managments fault and the people who put him there.

This shows your complete lack of understanding of the entire issue, so lets not embarrass yourself further.

Hang Blaa - Fuck off you hypocritical cunt, if you give it you have to take it. Iā€™m delighted for the over confident fools that a massive amount of Waterford fans are.

By the way, in Cairns last night for the games, Wexford people embarrassed themselves, followed closely by a pair from Down.

I think we are partly to blame for Waterfords misfortune.

Waterford thought that because Brick was able to manage a worn out teenager for 15 minuntes heā€™d be able to handle the Tipp FF line.
FB is a specialist position, you canā€™t just shove a good hurler in there and hope for the best. They wouldā€™ve been better off leaving him at CB and at least he may have been able to stem the flow into the Tipp FF line. They basically conceeded the HB/HF duel by playing him at full.

Hindsight is 20/20 etc. and Iā€™d like to thank Waterford for saving us from that misery because Iā€™m not sure our FB line would have done much better.

Dubs next for us, Iā€™m not sure if winning would be a good thing.