I wouldnāt have questioned their edge in the second half either day against Clare when questions were asked of them. They hurled hard but fair and turned both games. If they had hurled in this manner throughout the campaign Iād say fair enough but they simply didnāt need to start today. It stunk of flat track bully
Can you be a flat track bully in an All Ireland final? I wouldnāt have thought so
Its an all ireland final, its for all the marbles. I would take a win the way they played today versus a loss playing pretty.
But it isnāt either or.
There is no sympathy in this game for anyone. The referee should have shown at least one red card but I donāt think it would have impacted on the result in the end.
Teams that win at the highest level, have an edge. Limerick have it, Kilkenny had it and Cork had it. Today told me some of these lads are made of the right stuff to get Cork back to the summit. I have not seen that in recent underage teams. There is not one Cork supporter who has a problem with the way they won today.
Itās not as if they werenāt by far the superior team in any case either? Cork were way better.
Cork abandoning the moral high ground. I never thought Iād see it.
See All Ireland Senior Hurling Final 2021, to be fair maybe exclude flat track
So, you can be a flat track bully in an All Ireland final??
Thanks.
Watching those mullockers today made me think that Cork are finally ready.
Cork owe fuck all apologies. They were hard today when they needed to be and they will need to be into the future.
At the end of the day its dog eat dog. Cork have developed alsations when they were long enough breeding labradors.
End of the day, noone is going to salute a meek side being humbled. Though to be fair to them, Offaly fought them as a young team. Theyāll improve for it.
Offaly people cribbing better prepare themselves for how senior corner backs will make shite of Screeney going forward. Today was only an hors dāoeuvres.
He is unreal. Just 18 and was best player on the pitch. Its only a pity it was not a red jersey he was wearing.
He was not the best player on the pitch. Mullins and Buckley were both better.
Best player on the pitch is a push. Buckley and Mullins were outstanding for the entire game and when needed Ben Cunningham and Diarmuid Healy stood up. Screeney was kept very quiet in the second half and couldnāt play himself back into the game. To be fair to Aaron Niland, when nearly all around him were making a balls of possession he kept looking for it and providing scores. Heās a far more exciting prospect in my opinion.
Screeney has fantastic footwork, pace and stickwork but he has a lot to learn and a long way to go. Heād want to be eating 3 dinners a day for the next few years.
Ah he was, x factor.
Donāt think that will happen. I think thereās still room in the game for a guy like Screeney. He is unreal.
Screeney is a hardy little hoor. Heāll be grand. I doubt thereāll be too many days heāll get less protection from the ref than today.
Iād fear more for a lad like Downey whose first instinct was to panic rugby tackle when 9 points up 30 yards from goal. Heād be in serious trouble if isolated on the likes of Flanagan.
Bar the cynicism some of the Cork lads were very good. Mullins was the stand out for me. Iād like to see how Cunningham at senior. He seems to be exactly what Cork need if he can step up. He got ridiculous space today. Iād like to see how heād get on on a more confined environment.
The centre back was excellent too. Hopefully he has a better rugby career than Darren Sweetnam.
I went down fearing that Offaly would go behind early and itād be a damp squib. The first half at least gave the massive support something. The managers tactics are awfully negative though.
Great win for Clare. I think llosing that will be no harm at all fornthe likes of Niland
It reminded me of Clare v Wexford in the 2014 U21 final. An almost identical score and a 6 point margin in the end. Although there was more suspense in that game as the gap was often back to 3 in the second half. The scoring burst after half-time today was an awful pity for the neutral.