Presume Dublin have home advantageâŚWould expect them to just about shade it in Parnell, although I wouldnât fear them one bit
Parnell Park is a big advantage for them alright. Tight pitch and theyâve been stubborn enough there in the league. Was this game in Thurles Iâd definitely favour Clare but at home youâd make Dublin slight favourites.
There will be pressure on Dublin though. Shockingly poor against Kilkenny and badly needing a big performance in front of their home crowd. If this brand new Clare team comes and beats them on their home patch it will be a massive blow to them. It might even spell the end of Dalyâs tenure.
Anyone know when theyâre on?
:([quote=âWatch The Break, post: 462593â]
Parnell Park is a big advantage for them alright. Tight pitch and theyâve been stubborn enough there in the league. Was this game in Thurles Iâd definitely favour Clare but at home youâd make Dublin slight favourites.
There will be pressure on Dublin though. Shockingly poor against Kilkenny and badly needing a big performance in front of their home crowd. If this brand new Clare team comes and beats them on their home patch it will be a massive blow to them. It might even spell the end of Dalyâs tenure.
Anyone know when theyâre on?
I am hoping that the put on a double header at Parnell park with the Dub vs Clare match and the Dub vs Tipp match, but I donât think that will happen.
That would be ridiculous. Parnell Park is way too small for that. On the other hand I heard some speculation that there could be a double header in Croke Park. That would be brilliant for us but Iâd expect Daly to do everything in his power to stop it. Clare rarely if ever play poorly in Croke Park and the wide open spaces would suit us down to the ground.
Tipperary are priced 1/14 to beat Wexford!
What an insult.
Tipp team for Saturday
Tipp team for Saturday:
Brendan Cummins,
Michael Cahill, Declan Fanning, Conor OâBrien,
David Young, Conor OâMahony, Paudie Maher,
Brendan Maher, Shane McGrath,
Gar Ryan, Seamie Callinan, Bonner Maher,
Eoin Kelly (capt), Larry Corbett, Noel McGrath
WEXFORD
- Noel Carton,
- Paul Roche, 3. Keith Rossiter, 4. CiarĂĄn Kenny,
- Richie Kehoe, 6. Darren Stamp, 7. David Redmond,
- Colm Farrell, 9. Harry Kehoe,
- Peter Atkinson, 11. TomĂĄs Waters, 12. Eoin Quigley,
- Rory Jacob, 14. Stephen Banville, 15. TomĂĄs Mahon.
Subs:16. Dermot Flynn, 17. Michael Jacob, 18. Lar Prendergast, 19. Malachy Travers, 20. Tommy Dwyer, 21. Barry Kenny, 22. Jim Berry, 23. Eoin Doyle, 24. Mark Molloy, 25. Paul Nolan, 26. Darren Kehoe, 27. Darren Nolan, 28. Willie Doran, 29. Emmet Kent, 30. Paul Morris.
Sheedy has let the axe fly in fairness to him. Scrapping the entire full backline is a big move though.
I think Sheedy needs to swallow his pride and ring Michael Webster.
I just donât see us scoring anywhere near enough to get a win on Saturday.
According to the hurling folk on PV both Curran and Stapleton are injured at the momentâŚThey would have to be as Conor OâBrien isnât half the corner back that either of the two lads are
Diarmuid Lyng is a colossal loss. Michael Jacob dropped?
whats Sheedy at starting Bonnar Maher?? he just doesnt have the skill level for intercounty hurling and has been poor for Lorrha so far this year. Conor O Brien at corner back is another liability. lucky for Tipp though, Wexfords forwards are shite.
David Young defiantly deserves his start, playing serious stuff at the moment
Yes, Jacob is dropped. He hasnât been a factor when played in the forwards for quite some time but had been quite effective since reinventing himself as a wing back a couple of years ago. Bonnar dropped him for the start of the league but then brought him back half way through as a FORWARD. He didnât make an impression at full forward or when moved to wing forward against Galway before being hooked. Poor management in my opinion.
Peter Atkinson hasnât looked making the step up to being comfortable playing against Division One standard defences. We can all probably think of examples of players who will score and stand out against a certain level of opponent but you know beforehand that they wonât deliver once presented with the challenge of the stronger teams. Heâll be taking the frees in Lyngâs absence and was cleaned out at wing forward by Collins. Again, it was a a strange management decision to play him there and land puck outs on top of him given heâs small in stature and played EVERY league game in the corner.
Waters is big, physical, strong and often dirty. Not really a scoring threat and needs to develop this side of his game. Has the physique to be effective but has had a series of niggly injuries throughout Bonnarâs tenure. Would have played in the defence for most of his underage career and itâs a typical Wexford thing to try to create a forward out of him.
Eoin Quigley is still trying to find his best form after his cruciate knee ligament injury last year. Iâve seen other players come back to a higher level quicker.
Weâll need Rory Jacob to have one of his days where everything comes off for him.
Banville hasnât put in a performance of note since the Offaly Leinster Championship game in Wexford Park last May and needs to increase his level massively.
Mossy Mahon would be more familiar to neutrals as a midfielder from the mid 1990s. He left the panel a couple of years ago but is back this season. Not a corner forward.
picked on form nod. both are showing up well at the minute. although foxy has been playing out wing back since before the cork league game in training so a bit unfair putting him in the corner. at least Sheedy is trying to mix things up a bit. id be more worried if he kept more or less the same team
Is Kerwick injured?
Anyone have any info on Kerry Westmeath?
I heard he was back, but surely theyâd start him if he was fit.
The longerKerwick goes without hurling for Tipp the better a hurler is becomingâŚhe is a solid intercounty hurler but isnât going to win you a game all the sameâŚ
Thereâs some truth in that alright. Heâll need the new lads to perform though. You canât frighten lads for their places if their replacements play shite. Tipp should have enough scoring power to get through this anyway youâd imagine. As Bandage says, Wexford will really struggle to get a winning score.
hes only back from injury. didnt play for killenaule the last few games. obviously isnt 100% as hes missed the whole year to date. ah puke thats how it operates in tipp. if your injured for a long time, you become a better hurler by the week likewise if your not on the panel. well thats how the people on PV would have you believe
Not sure what you mean there Pukey, heâs getting better by not playing?
I think he is a massive loss for Tipp, and is exactly the guy that can win a game. He was starting to get there last year anyway.