He created two goal chances. Difficult when you are being marked by two men and your corner forwards are nowhere to be seen. He is still the only option in full.
The bottom line is that Cork-Tipp wasnāt the real deal. Cork put absolutely everything into that match. Tipp put a bit less than than that into it. it was hardly unforeseeable that Cork wouldnāt be able to put in as good a performance again. They are scratching around for a first choice forward line and havenāt much off the bench. Kilkenny will eat them.
Offaly will beat Tipp, watch.
He got a lot of bad ball, but he got some decent stuff too, especially in the second half, and didnāt do much with it. Are you counting that one where he shot from a zero angle as a goal chance? In any case, I absolutely agree heās the best option at full, and he will have good games again. He just strikes me as the type that will do serious damage in a game, or do very little. Donāt think thereāll be too many inbetween games.
Agree with you there, but for the Hoggie part, he needs to be involved in the game, bring him out.
Feel sorry that Ben has gone this way. newtown winning the county robbed us of one more year it looks like. His hunger is completely gone. He takes frees far quicker than before, as if to get them over with, and has missed a large amount in 2 games.
WTB - I hate to agree with you, but your right. This is the one thing i didnāt want. If they get a run on Cork they wonāt stop, and they could actually send us back years. A shock to Antrim might be a better result, and iām fucking serious there.
Iām depressed about the hurling. Thank god weāre good at the football now. Always seems to work that way. When the hurling goes to shit we get very competitive in the football.
This is about the 3rd time in 30 years Cork have got too comfortable with a bunch of players and it has caught up on us. No excuse in a big county like we have.
Cork have thrown one way of playing out the window and replaced it with?
What exactly?
Yes, should have across the goal though. My point is that he created some goal and point chances and so didnāt ādo very littleā imo. Wasnāt great either, but middling.
This is the problem - we made three changes to three lines, and generally it fucked us over. The corner forwards got fuck all ball - its fine hitting it direct, but hitting direct to the exact same player again and again is a problem.
I am horrified to say this, but Pat Gilroy was vindicated today. Dublinās U-21ās, along with the rest of the ream, were out on their feet today while Rory OāCarroll had an excellet match for the footballers. Some of Dalyās decisions on the sideline were crazy though. OāCallaghan, McCrabbe, Rushe and Kelly all taken off. 6 points up and lost by a point. Utterly sickening and a defeat that will haunt this team. Itās galling to admit it but there is a softness at the heat of the team that must be eradicated. If Daly stays, nothing less than a winter like Clare put in in 1994/95 will suffice.
I thought a lot of ball bounced out of his hand, and we were losing posession as a result. Iād suppose wet conditions are particularly unsuitable for a player that relies on catching ball to be a serious threat. Donāt mean to harp on about it, as you said in an earlier post there was worse than him out there. I guess itās just that if there is no goal threat from him, our forward line is incredibly limited at the moment. Thatās not his fault obviously, but Iād suppose it just stands out when he doesnāt have a good game for that reason.
Yeah a couple of balls dropped right out of his hand towards the end alright.
TBH Iād be more worried about Pa Horgan, his drop in form is incredible, although he should have been brought back on in ET.
Aisakeās touch is shit. Not even good by club standard. He is a fucking full forward, so heās the last person who can afford this.
For all his strengths this kills him. Especially on a wet evening where touch is everything.
Heāll probably improve though. Unless he gets sick of it and hits off to Australia again.
But thats bollix Turenne, he shouldnāt be in the squad if his speed is gone. Its sad, but thats the way it goes, if you rely on your speed, and your speed goes, then your gone. He of course will get stronger and may in fact improve his speed again in time. Ryan Clifford is clearly a better hurler at this moment in time, as is Bowels.
I said it a long time back, the physical conditioning training Cork are doing, especially the strength training, is not up to scratch. Iāve seen the programmes, and they are dated to say the least. I know what Tipp do is far better, and far more hurling specific. Corks is very general. The Cork minors pre season 2 month strength phase was the exact same as that given to the seniors, and any random gaa guy who rang up to ask about it, and you paid 60 snots for the privilage as well.
Anyway, thats not an excuse for tonight, we just didnāt have the hunger or hurling, but Waterford were better conditioned, with a similar age profile.
Ye are right lads, there is no style to our play.
You said a while back the Cork Minor hurlers were better prepared this year then ever. :blink:
Its poor, but has improved, and he wonāt be found wanting for trying to improve in fairness to him.
Turenne - Weāre talking about the seniors. I flagged way way back that the conditioning training of the Minors was wrong, but it has less of an effect on the young players. They clearly did some good hurling though. But do you not see a problem with a whole load of people of different ages, playing different sports having the same strength training programme? I do anyway.
Its not your guy iām getting at either though Turenne, the trainer from Castlemartyr, its the other guy. I know him a long long time, heās a bluffer, heās not even Irish and doesnāt understand hurling. Munster got rid of him as well. Heāll get you fit, and youāll probably look well, but his programmes donāt help your hurling or football.
The minors were well prepared hurling wise, and the scouring done for hurlers was over 2 years. But in the end i felt the management made a balls of that too, 16 personnel changes in 3 games, not good.
didnt make the game today?
Where would Antrim/Cork be on?
As exciting as the game was, it was of a poor enough standard, and I couldnt see either of them troubling Kilkenny with some of the tactics and style of play shown tonight.
Turenne and Kev seem to have been fairly upset with the ref, but to be honest, I didnt think he was too bad. He let an awful lot flow, but any free he gave, couldnt be doubted. There was a couple of frontal charges and shoulders front on or into the back from Crok players, and while they may have been good tough tackles, they were more than clearly fouls. The whinging after weāve got used to, but when they are clear frees, theres no need for it. I definietly didnt think he favoured Waterford over Cork anyway, and I am completely unbiased, I think they both are showers of cunts and would have preferred see both of them lose.
As for the game, Cork were atrocious in the first half, but still, were well in it. 8 points to 4 at half time are two poor scores for either side, despite the weather. Aisake had his first shot for a point in extra time, and despite Turenne thinking he set up a bit and was middling, I thought he was shite. his first touch was terrible, a lot of ball cmae into him and bounced about 5 metres away from him. Cussen was good, but when needed he was out of it. Brick Walsh outfielding him in second half when Cork needed posession, and a poor miss, but still, he had a decent game and played off some good passes for scores. Cork had nothing down the wings, and it was only Paudie sul coming in for breaks in the middle where they got any posession there. Midfield was even enough. Naughton got on a lot of ball, but wasted too much of it, but heāll come good.
Waterford backs worked well. Tony Browne at the end was unreal. to have that much energy at his age and be the real leader then is stuff of legends. Really stood up and was counted when the rest of his team were sitting back defending. Lawlor was decent and the full back line seem good and tight. Brick was so so. Seemed careless with the ball at times.
Gardiner again was good, fielded some decent ball, and was the only on at least trying to hit cross field balls and having some purpose to his deliveries, even if they didnt always come off. Thought Cadogan was poor on Mullane and Walsh, but knew how to play Kelly, and just wound him up. Kelly was poor enough, and Mullane didnt get enough ball, but he was dangerous any time it came in. Clever player, he doesnt just mill into a high ball, heāll stand off and pick up the breaks and slot over quick points.
Couldnt believe Shanahan took that shot when he did. Had the whole goal to run into. Maybe it was the early shot that deceived Cusack, but it was certainly a saveable shot. No way did Ben mean that goal. Tight angle on 21, and majority of free takers will always strike the ball like that, low and through. His just was too low. Hennesy should have dealt with it too.
An entertaining game, but poor quality.
Nope. More pressing matters.
Did you?
I wasnāt really. Had a decent enough game.