Official All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2010 Thread

Itā€™s hard to overestimate how sickening a result that was today. It really is.

Dublin are soft though. How many close games have they won in the last two years?

League or championship?

Who hurled well for Antrim, sid? I wasnā€™t at our Division 2 game against them this season but I was up in Belfast last year for the corresponding fixture and I came away thinking they have 5 or 6 decent players but a good bit of filler. They didnā€™t seem to be going anywhere under the management team last year as the year progressed but Cahillā€™s obviously got them moving in the right direction again.

de duds hurling defeat makes a mockery of all the idiots that keep saying stick hurling is getting more popular in dublin- it will always be hated in dublin

Itā€™s true.

A beautiful game like hurling will never thrive in the culture of hate that is dudlin.

how did the game compare atmosphere wise with rovers on thursday?

it actually only thrives in 4 counties

They like diving and crying too much.
Soft as shite the whole lot of them.

SHC qualifier: Stewart the hero for Antrim
Antrimā€™s Liam Watson with Dublinā€™s Peter Kelly during the hurling qualifier at Croke Park.
17 July 2010

Antrim 1-17
Dublin 0-19

Antrim upset the odds to edge out Dublin this afternoon at Croke Park and book their place into the last eight of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship.

In a thrilling encounter, it was Karl Stewartā€™s injury-time point that made all the difference for an Antrim side which overhauled a six-point deficit in the final 20 minutes.

Through their ace forward Alan McCrabbe, Dublin settled into the game nicely and held the lead for much of the first half.

However, a PJ Oā€™Connell goal put a spanner in the works and at half-time the sides were dead-locked at 0-10 to 1-7

McCrabbe belted over more frees to re-establish the capital menā€™s lead and they pushed on from there to open up a 0-18 to 1-9 advantage.

The Ulster champions looked dead and buried, but they dug deep and came roaring back to equalise towards the finish and had still had enough left in the tank to set-up a last ditch effort for Stewart, who made no mistake to send Antrim into a first All-Ireland SHC in six years.

nah, we dont like protestant games like hurling

:o
I thought Ncc didnā€™t like bigots

Bigot

:lol: :lol: :lol:

I have to admit the following: i) I was drinking cans beforehand ii) My complacent attitude meant I was only there for the second half iii) I donā€™t know a donā€™t know a whole lot about the Antrim team and iv) I wasnā€™t focussing on their players - so Iā€™m probably the wrong man to ask.

Former Clare stalwart PJ Oā€™Connell got their goal - Iā€™m sure I saw the tache poking out from under his helmet, and Karl Stewart got the winning point. Karl McKeegan looked to be doing a fair bit of damage on Oisin Gough but was taken off late on Dublin just had a total systems failure in the last 10 minutes. They were out on their feet. Liam Ryan went through and went for a goal with about two or three minutes left and put it wide. That was pretty much Dublinā€™s only attack in the last 10.

I am glad for Antrim though. I got talking to some lads from West Belfast after the Dublin v Meath match, proper hurling people, and ended up on a fucking epic session with them. Also had dealings with another group of hurling people from West Belfast when doing a thesis last year who couldnā€™t have been more helpful - they even got me free tickets to watch the Leinster hurling final last year with them in the Ard Comhairle, so Iā€™m delighted for them and there are worse counties to lose to, but itā€™s a dreadful result for Dublin hurling.

what do ye think of Tipp/Offaly tomorow??
havnt seen Offaly yet this year so dont really know what to expect from them.

considering hurling is only played in north antrim we will have to take that with a pinch of salt

Tipp by 6/7.

Hurling is only played in North Antrim, is that so? :rolleyes:

:stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue:

aiy, places like Ballyclare and Carrickfergus are hurling strongholds