Official Dublin City Marathon 2014 Thread

20 miles in the Phoenix Park this morning, just under 3 hours at a shade under 9 minute pace.

After getting that under my belt, will probably give it a go on the 27th.

What distance is the full outer ring of the Phoenix Park?

I’d say about 9-10 miles.

[QUOTE=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 1026400, member: 377”]20 miles in the Phoenix Park this morning, just under 3 hours at a shade under 9 minute pace.

After getting that under my belt, will probably give it a go on the 27th.[/QUOTE]
Did a loop of Phoenix Park on Wednesday (taking in as many hills as possible) before completing the first half of the marathon. Definitely tough first 13 miles. I’m going to go for a big negative split.

Just found out there yesterday that they’ve jigged the route around. First half is tougher but that’s a tough stretch starting at the bottom of Darty at the 19 mile mark up, uphill most of the way to top of Roebuck Road at the 22 mile mark. That’s about 2 miles later than it used to be on the old route.

I’ve run the second half as a training run previously and thought it was much quicker than first half. Going to start tapering next week. Might do a Parkrun tomorrow or the Simon run in PP. Had planned on 14 PMP on sunday but might put that off till Wednesday if I race tomorrow.

About 7 miles today. Ran the Simon run in Phoenix Park in 28.50 or 5.46 m/m. Very happy with this on a very tough course.

14 miles this morning @7.40 m/m.

18 miles easy this morning. Last very long run before race day.

Fair play lads… I feel like a fat fuck here sprawled in the couch watching shite soccer.

This is an especially depressing sporting weekend. GAA inter county season over. St Pats v Finn Harps the main event on Sunday Sport. Papers’ headlines dominated by what was essentially a preparatory game between two understrength rugby teams

9 miles tonight @7.42 m/m.

I did about ten this morning in the rain, with steam rising off the river. First run of that length for a year. Enjoyed it 100%.

Be careful not to over do it. That’s quite a long run after a gap of a year.

I was tapping away on an odd short one, maybe 8k or so once a month. The bike keeps the legs in ok nick. I’m no natural like you though. Was tempted to give Dublin a dig but too many logistical problems, not least I suppose actually running 26 miles. You are flying though. Love hearing about it.

10 miles in the Phoenix Park this evening, 8.30 minute a mile pace.

13 miles today @ 6.58 m/m.

9 miles in the Phoenix Park this evening at 8.00 m/m

Went out at 6.15. Its a great time of the year to be running in the Park.

[QUOTE=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 1028562, member: 377”]9 miles in the Phoenix Park this evening at 8.00 m/m

Went out at 6.15. Its a great time of the year to be running in the Park.[/QUOTE]

Cos’ the deer are in heat?

Walked from the car to the house there. 1 minute. Bollixed.