Limerick beaten by Tipperary and Waterford beating Clare in Ennis were fairly surprising results today
A bit?!
Kildare are shocking me this year, running up some big scores, but having seen them do it against Laois, I cant figure out how they’re doing it, they’re still no better than they ever were.
Shock of the day? Leitrim pulling a point back in Carrick after a chronic start.
Limerick cost me my accumulator. Still, at least my vbookie bet came off. Hurray!
Nothing suprising about the Clare footballers losing these days. Antrim drawing with westmeath another surprise. John McIntyre rippin into the team there on setanta. “Galway are not as good as people think they are” probably the choice quote.
John Mcintyre is a clown and galway will do nothing with him in charge, he used to be at the same craic with Offaly, constantly talking them down…
Big result for Westmeath alright, Division 2 is fine and competitive…
[quote=“The Puke”]John Mcintyre is a clown and galway will do nothing with him in charge, he used to be at the same craic with Offaly, constantly talking them down…
Big result for Westmeath alright, Division 2 is fine and competitive…[/quote]
Yeah I was amazed he was seen as such a better option than a third year with Loughnane. Offaly were a fiasco under him. I agree with a lot of what he said though. I was a much bigger fan of Galway hurling before I started living here. The superstar complex is unreal. Real celebrity status, queue-skipping shite. I’m never surprised when these ‘big’ names disappear at the business end of championship games. It’s a pity but that’s the way they are at the moment anyway. Need a real shift in the type of player they value here.
Galway definitely look lacking when it comes to physicality, and Nicky English tentatively making an excuse that “they might have trained hard yesterday” is absolute guff.
[quote=“myboyblue”]Big game this weekend in the NHL.
Laois Down, epic stuff. Fancy Zane to see us home, good to have youngsy and matty back too. Should be enough.
Nicely predicted. Laois prevailed by six points in an epic game. Zane was very good. Mouse got a stupid yellow card. For a lad who’s been around so long, he’s still quite stupid when it comes to fouling.
Excellent crowd as usual.
Can anyone put up Mcintyres comments?? or tell me where I might find them. Would appreciate.
Was in Pearse today and Galway were a shambles. KK were far from great but unlike Galway they seemed to hold some interest in winning the match or competing at the very least. Mcintyres team were smaller, slower and much less skillful. Farragher aside they were nothing short of a disgrace.
Not sure what Mcyntires up to though, slamming the players might take the headlines and divert the attention from himself. He knows the media game well. Knows fuckall about hurling by the looks of things.
[quote=“Lazarus”]Can anyone put up Mcintyres comments?? or tell me where I might find them. Would appreciate.
Was in Pearse today and Galway were a shambles. KK were far from great but unlike Galway they seemed to hold some interest in winning the match or competing at the very least. Mcintyres team were smaller, slower and much less skillful. Farragher aside they were nothing short of a disgrace.
Not sure what Mcyntires up to though, slamming the players might take the headlines and divert the attention from himself. He knows the media game well. Knows fuckall about hurling by the looks of things.[/quote]
Exclusive: McIntyre slates Galway players
by Johnny Ward , 08 March 2009
related news
Cats canter to facile win
Sunday’s LIVE GAA action
Tribesmen too strong for Tyrone
read comments (2) | have your say
John McIntyre slated Galway’s “shocking” performance and threatened “major surgery” within his panel after their dismal loss to Kilkenny on Sunday.
The Tribesmen were poor in all areas and their Allianz National League Division One prospects look rather grim after a 1-20 to 0-12 reverse.
McIntyre certainly did not shy away from letting his feelings known post-match when he gave an explosive interview to Setanta Ireland.
“I’m sick - straight up. I’m not going to run away from my responsibility - I’m the team manager - and that simply wasn’t good enough, whatever the cause of it,” he said.
"People are saying that Galway arriving in Leinster is going to be a good thing for the provincial championship, but I think it’s given Kilkenny an extra cause to stay at the top.
"We were shocking. Our team-work was poor. I heard some supports and officials saying we were gutless and that is extremely worrying.
"Over the past three or four years, Galway just haven’t come up to the standard that people think they should be at.
“We’re going to sit down and look at our squad and I would expect that significant surgery will be carried out over the next three to four weeks.”
The Lorrha native questioned the expectations of the Galway public, sympathised with them and said that he feared that the players had come to accept failure.
"I’m always tempted to apologise to the Galway hurling public because that is not acceptable. I know in my heart of hearts that they are better than that.
"They’re training excellently, doing everything we ask of them, but somewhere along the line they’re not transferring that onto the field of play.
"On the day, Kilkenny were in a different league - a different class. They beat us pulling up. We thought that after the kick in the arse we got against Dublin, that would help us get the egos removed from some of our guys.
"Galway are not as good as people think they are. My job and the job of my management is to try and get them up to where some fantasists in Galway think they should be.
"The reality is that Galway have won under-21 titles down the years by winning two matches. It’s flattering.
"I’m hurting this evening on behalf of the team management and supporters, but there is no point in me hurting - the players have to hurt.
"Are Galway players accepting defeat too easily? Has it gotten into their psyche? I think there is mental and psychological damage going into that dressing room going back the past three or four years.
“It’s still not a lost cause. Maybe I’m clutching at straws but I will promise the Galway hurling public here now that they will see a different Galway team next summer. The reason why is because they’ll be battle-hardened by these knocks and setbacks.”
[quote=“Lazarus”]Can anyone put up Mcintyres comments?? or tell me where I might find them. Would appreciate.
Not sure what Mcyntires up to though, slamming the players might take the headlines and divert the attention from himself. He knows the media game well. Knows fuckall about hurling by the looks of things.[/quote]
From Setanta’s website.
John McIntyre slated Galway’s “shocking” performance and threatened “major surgery” within his panel after their dismal loss to Kilkenny on Sunday.
The Tribesmen were poor in all areas and their Allianz National League Division One prospects look rather grim after a 1-20 to 0-12 reverse.
McIntyre certainly did not shy away from letting his feelings known post-match when he gave an explosive interview to Setanta Ireland.
“I’m sick - straight up. I’m not going to run away from my responsibility - I’m the team manager - and that simply wasn’t good enough, whatever the cause of it,” he said.
"People are saying that Galway arriving in Leinster is going to be a good thing for the provincial championship, but I think it’s given Kilkenny an extra cause to stay at the top.
"We were shocking. Our team-work was poor. I heard some supports and officials saying we were gutless and that is extremely worrying.
"Over the past three or four years, Galway just haven’t come up to the standard that people think they should be at.
“We’re going to sit down and look at our squad and I would expect that significant surgery will be carried out over the next three to four weeks.”
The Lorrha native questioned the expectations of the Galway public, sympathised with them and said that he feared that the players had come to accept failure.
"I’m always tempted to apologise to the Galway hurling public because that is not acceptable. I know in my heart of hearts that they are better than that.
"They’re training excellently, doing everything we ask of them, but somewhere along the line they’re not transferring that onto the field of play.
"On the day, Kilkenny were in a different league - a different class. They beat us pulling up. We thought that after the kick in the arse we got against Dublin, that would help us get the egos removed from some of our guys.
"Galway are not as good as people think they are. My job and the job of my management is to try and get them up to where some fantasists in Galway think they should be.
"The reality is that Galway have won under-21 titles down the years by winning two matches. It’s flattering.
"I’m hurting this evening on behalf of the team management and supporters, but there is no point in me hurting - the players have to hurt.
"Are Galway players accepting defeat too easily? Has it gotten into their psyche? I think there is mental and psychological damage going into that dressing room going back the past three or four years.
"It’s still not a lost cause. Maybe I’m clutching at straws but I will promise the Galway hurling public here now that they will see a different Galway team next summer. The reason why is because they’ll be battle-hardened by these knocks and setbacks.
Wexford were a shambles alright. Usually well able for Kildare.
Stand out statistic was the fact that Laois couldn’t score anything against Meath in the second half.
[quote=“Pikeman”]Wexford were a shambles alright. Usually well able for Kildare.
Stand out statistic was the fact that Laois couldn’t score anything against Meath in the second half.[/quote]
We scored 5 points in the second half pikie.
Poor form there…
Can’t say i was surprised with either of these results. Tipp and Waterford footballers seem to be improving, while Limerick seem to have gone backwards, and Clare football is dire as usual…
[quote=“myboyblue”]We scored 5 points in the second half pikie.
Poor form there…[/quote]
Sorry MBB, meant to say the other way round. Meath failed to score in the 2nd half.
Poor form?
Thought you were having a dig.
IF you wanted to do that, you could just have said we didnt score from play for 70 minutes.
To be fair to both sides, the conditions were atrocious, as bad as I’v ever seen anywhere anytime.
Smallest forward line I’ve ever seen line out for Laois. Need to get Quigley, McMahon, O Loughlin and Kingston in there, will be a big help.
I caught a glimpse of results on the news earlier. What in the name of fuck is going on here???
Kilkenny 0-3 Wicklow 7-24
[quote=“myboyblue”]Thought you were having a dig.
IF you wanted to do that, you could just have said we didnt score from play for 70 minutes.
To be fair to both sides, the conditions were atrocious, as bad as I’v ever seen anywhere anytime.
Smallest forward line I’ve ever seen line out for Laois. Need to get Quigley, McMahon, O Loughlin and Kingston in there, will be a big help.[/quote]
Laois are going nowhere.
[quote=“Flano”]I caught a glimpse of results on the news earlier. What in the name of fuck is going on here???
Kilkenny 0-3 Wicklow 7-24[/quote]
Football* Flano, Football.
[SIZE=“1”]*Bogball[/SIZE]
:D[quote=“Flano”]I caught a glimpse of results on the news earlier. What in the name of fuck is going on here???
Kilkenny 0-3 Wicklow 7-24[/quote]
Kilkenny are going nowhere