Official NFL & NHL 2009 Thread

Intersting but heā€™s mixing the the truth here with a lot of his own shite IMO. Thanks for putting it up lads.

"Galway are not as good as people think they are. My job and the job of my management is to try and get them up to where some fantasists in Galway think they should be.ā€™ā€™

Your job is to get them playing with a bit of fight and pride. Win or lose what more do supporters really ask for? The problems with Galway hurling were evident for years. Genuine supporters wouldnā€™t expect anything less so dont be hiding behind a few muppets you refer to as fantasists. Pointing the finger at the players is a well worn strategy but absolutely nothing weā€™ve seen so far has suggested management have either the intelligence or kop on to address Galways impotence in the heat of battle.

ā€˜ā€™"Itā€™s still not a lost cause. Maybe Iā€™m clutching at straws but I will promise the Galway hurling public here now that they will see a different Galway team next summer. The reason why is because theyā€™ll be battle-hardened by these knocks and setbacks.ā€™ā€™

Battle hardened me bollix. Galway hurlers should be battle hardened enough. Its hardly their first ā€˜knock or set backā€™ after all. ā€˜A different team next Summerā€™?? Maybe this is a loose reference to the absence of the Portumna players who hes praying will perform miracles. Hes a good talker but hes kidding himself if he believes this shite.

ā€˜ā€™"On the day, Kilkenny were in a different league - a different class. They beat us pulling up. We thought that after the kick in the arse we got against Dublin, that would help us get the egos removed from some of our guys.ā€™ā€™

Dubs were going easy on us.

Thank Christ for Paraic Joyce

[quote=ā€œgiuseppeā€]Nicely predicted. Laois prevailed by six points in an epic game. Zane was very good. Mouse got a stupid yellow card. For a lad whoā€™s been around so long, heā€™s still quite stupid when it comes to fouling.

Excellent crowd as usual.[/quote]

Was Willie Hyland playing and if so where and how did he doā€¦

Antrim Hurlers drew with Westmeath up in Antrim. 0-15 each.

Now that was a shock.

An educated opinion or talking through your arse?

Touchy tonight Mbb.
Sup?

[quote=ā€œPikemanā€]Touchy tonight Mbb.
Sup?[/quote]

Nah, just wondering where he was coming from. Dunno where dunph is from, wondering what level his knowledge of Laois GAA would go to.

Freezing your nuts off on a terrace in Navan last night would cheer you up though.

The latter. But iā€™d say i wouldnā€™t be a million miles offā€¦

Iā€™d wager you would. Time will tell mind you.

Dunph is a Limerick man Iā€™m pretty sure.

Yeah, right half forward. Played fairly bad. Hit some bad wides and didnā€™t really get involved. Was taken off with about 10 mins to go.

Liam Kearns is a top of the range manager, a serious operator, if he couldnā€™t make things click over there i donā€™t know who will.

Ah christ, thats what youā€™re basing this on, Kearns?

Kearns done a fine job with Limerick, but was a fool imo. A bluffer who was content to talk the talk, but at the end of the day couldnt back it up.

I wouldnt base anything on him.

Pardon my ignorance - who is in charge of Laois now?

Sean Dempsey. Managed Laois minors to 03 AI Final, and Laois U21ā€™s to Leinster 3 in a row and lost out in AI Final to Cork to a last minute goal.

Was wondering the same think myselfā€¦

Heā€™s a brother of Mick who managed Laois in the 90ā€™s and is currently one of Codyā€™s selectors.

I take it youre not happy with him or does he have it in him to turn it around?

Iā€™ll give Sen his head. Serious rebuilding to be done there, and he knows the young fellas coming through better than anyone. Iā€™d rate him higher than Kearns anyway. Cheaper than Kearns too Iā€™d betā€¦

Laoisā€™s big thing is holding onto our young talent, Begley has been a huge loss for us, Meredith not so much, but heā€™d be an addition in a year or two. If we lose Kingston we might as well knock it all on the head because that lad is the best player Iā€™ve ever seen at his age. Size. Strenght. Skill. Point frees off either foot from 40 yards, outrageously good. If the Aussies take him weā€™re fucked.

A bit more information than I was looking for MBB.