That Tipp attack isn’t up too much.

Cork Team vs Limerick.

Donal Og Cusack

Shane O’Neill Eoin Cadogan Conor O’Sullivan

John Gardiner Ronan Curran Sean Og Hailpin

Cathal Naughton Tom Kenny

Ben O’Connor Kieran ‘Hero’ Murphy Jerry O’Connor

Patrick Horgan Kieran ‘Fraggie’ Murphy Paudie O’Sullivan

Hero Murphy aside, very strong team. Cork by 5+.

And what do you think of Galway to beat Waterford? They’re a good price in my eyes.

Sure Waterford are going nowhere.

Would have to see the teams Dunph…Waterford beat Clare well and outbattled Kilkenny…Wouldn’t write them off too handily

They also lost to Dublin. And don’t give me this ‘Dublin are useful’ rubbish. Come championship time they’ll shit themselves as usual.

They did, didn’t Galway also lose to Dublin, infact got a hammering off dublin…The league this year is fairly tight and games like Waterford v Galway could go anyway to be honest…

Limerick team v Cork

1. Murray 2. Reale 3. Lucey 4. Walsh 5. O’Riordan 6. Geary 7. O’Mahony 8. O’Grady 9. Hickey 10. James Ryan 11. N.Moran 12. Browne 13. O’Shaughnessy 14. Breen 15. P.Tobin.

Galway (NFL v Mayo) - A Flaherty; N Coyle, F Hanley, D Burke; G Bradshaw, D Blake, D Reilly; B Cullinane, J Bergin; S Armstrong, P Joyce, D Dunleavy; P Conroy, M Meehan, M Clancy.

Galway (NHL v Waterford) - Colm Callanan, Damien Joyce, Eugene McEntee, Ollie Canning, Richie Murray, Martin Ryan, Fergal Moore, Adrian Cullinane, David Tierney, Andy Smith, Cyril Donnellan, Aonghus Callanan, Ger Farragher, Joe Canning, Niall Healy.

Galway hurlers slowly showing signs of progress but still have a very unsettled look about the team. Farragher moved into corner forward now after not doing too bad at MF against Limerick. Not a total surprise but Mcyntires priority must be to get a settled side before the championship

Galway footballers = magic

CORK (SF v Monaghan): A Quirke; K OConnor, R Carey, A Lynch; G Spillane, N OLeary, M Shields; A OConnor, N Murphy; C McCarthy, P ONeill, P OFlynn; D Goulding, D OConnor, P Kerrigan.

The worst team we have put out yet this year, but still should just about have enough for Monaghan.

[quote=“Lazarus”]Galway (NFL v Mayo) - A Flaherty; N Coyle, F Hanley, D Burke; G Bradshaw, D Blake, D Reilly; B Cullinane, J Bergin; S Armstrong, P Joyce, D Dunleavy; P Conroy, M Meehan, M Clancy.

Galway (NHL v Waterford) - Colm Callanan, Damien Joyce, Eugene McEntee, Ollie Canning, Richie Murray, Martin Ryan, Fergal Moore, Adrian Cullinane, David Tierney, Andy Smith, Cyril Donnellan, Aonghus Callanan, Ger Farragher, Joe Canning, Niall Healy.

Galway hurlers slowly showing signs of progress but still have a very unsettled look about the team. Farragher moved into corner forward now after not doing too bad at MF against Limerick. Not a total surprise but Mcyntires priority must be to get a settled side before the championship

Galway footballers = magic[/quote]

Any argument for Galway to put out the full Portumna team like Holland with Ajax back in the mid 90s?

Galway will be looking for Portmna’s club success to inspire them in the same way Munster did for Ireland.Some serious talent in the side but really need to lift their game to even dream of competing with Kilkenny. I’d say a total of about 7 or 8 will come in from Port and might well end up forming the bulk of the team. The Cannings, the Hayes’s, McEntee,Andy Smith.
The ones to watch will be Leo Smith and Martin Dolphin, 2 serious talents. Not called up yet bit I’d say they might get a run in the county team at some point.

[quote=“Lazarus”]Galway (NFL v Mayo) - A Flaherty; N Coyle, F Hanley, D Burke; G Bradshaw, D Blake, D Reilly; B Cullinane, J Bergin; S Armstrong, P Joyce, D Dunleavy; P Conroy, M Meehan, M Clancy.

Galway footballers = magic[/quote]

Still Gary Sice, Nicky Joyce, Cormac Bane etc to come back into that Galway side, Michael Comer too. Dont think Coyne or Dunleavy will be there come Championship time. Sean Armstrong seems to have rebranded himself as a creative half forward rather than the scoring machine he was at underage level.

Thats a fairly average Galway hurling side. An injury to Joe Canning and they would be a shambles.

This coming from a limerick man:D

Fair play to the Tipperary footballers - another good win for them today. Cork scored an injury time goal to beat them in the Munster U21 final yesterday so there must be some good work going on there. Dublin and Kerry was an excellent game apparently.

Clare got a bit of a kicking off kilkenny 3-16 to 1-06 according to Clare FM…only scored 1-1 from play…Mike Mac is getting absolutely nothing out of these lads…Only saving grace is that Tipp are no great shakes either and we will be well able for them come June

They are promoted now to the second division. Some achievement in fairness to them.

Missed the game at Parnell Park today and I’m raging about it. First game v Kerry at a Dublin venue that I have missed in my time following the game in either League or Championship. I thought for some stupid reason that the game was at 3:30 rather than 2:30, probably due to the clock going forward. Silly me. Was sitting there at about 2:15 thinking “we’ll have to be going soon”. Then looked at the paper and saw the throw in time. My Da said “ah but I thought you said you weren’t going because you had to do a report”. No I didn’t. “Ah it’s too late I’m not going anyway” he said.

It was too late to go by 2:20 so had to watch it on the box and what a game it was. Even though we didn’t get the win it was a very good performance. Definitely the most even performance from first whisle to last under Gilroy. And that’s without the two Brogans (until Alan came on with a few minutes left anyway), Shane Ryan until he came on also with ten minutes left and Ciaran Whelan, Jason Sherlock and Mark Vaughan. And Kerry’s team was close enough to what it will be in the championship with only Declan O’Sullivan and Darragh O’Se of their big guns missing.

The feature of Dublin’s play today was the tenacious defending when Kerry had the ball. Tenaciousness all over the pitch in fact. For the first time in a good while there seemed to be a plan. Up front there were good performances from Mark Davoren and Diarmuid Connolly. I’m not too sure about how Davoren will cope in the heat of championship action but 1-3 from him is more than enough reason to justify persisting with him at full forward. Certainly looks to be a far better option than somebody like Kevin Bonner who has been used in that type of role before. Overall the movement of the forwards was good. When the movement of your forwards is good it really can become a simple game.

The return of the Crokes contingent made a difference with Paul Griffin at 6 and Darren Magee in midfield excelling. Alan Hubbard at corner back is a bundle of energy. He’s another of the succession of small corner-backs we’ve had this decade (he’s the smallest in fact). Reminds me a bit of Declan Meehan of Galway aka the Duracell bunny he’s up and down the pitch so much. Bastic at full-back is growing into the role while his predecessor in that position Ross McConnell has now found his place at midfield. Really strong options in midfield now. McConnell, Whelan, Ryan, Magee, and Fennell when he returns from injury.

One old failing returned to haunt Dublin today though and that was that the team once again couldn’t close out a match. A really stupid goal for Kerry when we were four up with ten minutes left did most of the damage. Stephen Cluxton has to take the blame for it - he went into a 50-50 challenge with Donaghy which he had to win but uncharacteristically shirked it I felt. Desperate bad luck at the very end when Alan Brogan hit the inside of the post. He was turning away midway through the shot punching the air but the ball curled viciously to deny him. It would have been a huge psycholgical win if we had got it but We’ll have to make do with the draw and good performance. 10 years now since our last victory over Kerry in a competitive game.

Victory in the last game against Westmeath is a must to avoid relegation, coupled with a Donegal defeat. Otherwise next year’s league programme will be looking fairly unappetising.

[quote=“sid waddell”]Missed the game at Parnell Park today and I’m raging about it. First game v Kerry at a Dublin venue that I have missed in my time following the game in either League or Championship. I thought for some stupid reason that the game was at 3:30 rather than 2:30, probably due to the clock going forward. Silly me. Was sitting there at about 2:15 thinking “we’ll have to be going soon”. Then looked at the paper and saw the throw in time. My Da said “ah but I thought you said you weren’t going because you had to do a report”. No I didn’t. “Ah it’s too late I’m not going anyway” he said.

It was too late to go by 2:20 so had to watch it on the box and what a game it was. Even though we didn’t get the win it was a very good performance. Definitely the most even performance from first whisle to last under Gilroy. And that’s without the two Brogans (until Alan came on with a few minutes left anyway), Shane Ryan until he came on also with ten minutes left and Ciaran Whelan, Jason Sherlock and Mark Vaughan. And Kerry’s team was close enough to what it will be in the championship with only Declan O’Sullivan and Darragh O’Se of their big guns missing.

The feature of Dublin’s play today was the tenacious defending when Kerry had the ball. Tenaciousness all over the pitch in fact. For the first time in a good while there seemed to be a plan. Up front there were good performances from Mark Davoren and Diarmuid Connolly. I’m not too sure about how Davoren will cope in the heat of championship action but 1-3 from him is more than enough reason to justify persisting with him at full forward. Certainly looks to be a far better option than somebody like Kevin Bonner who has been used in that type of role before. Overall the movement of the forwards was good. When the movement of your forwards is good it really can become a simple game.

The return of the Crokes contingent made a difference with Paul Griffin at 6 and Darren Magee in midfield excelling. Alan Hubbard at corner back is a bundle of energy. He’s another of the succession of small corner-backs we’ve had this decade (he’s the smallest in fact). Reminds me a bit of Declan Meehan of Galway aka the Duracell bunny he’s up and down the pitch so much. Bastic at full-back is growing into the role while his predecessor in that position Ross McConnell has now found his place at midfield. Really strong options in midfield now. McConnell, Whelan, Ryan, Magee, and Fennell when he returns from injury.

One old failing returned to haunt Dublin today though and that was that the team once again couldn’t close out a match. A really stupid goal for Kerry when we were four up with ten minutes left did most of the damage. Stephen Cluxton has to take the blame for it - he went into a 50-50 challenge with Donaghy which he had to win but uncharacteristically shirked it I felt. Desperate bad luck at the very end when Alan Brogan hit the inside of the post. He was turning away midway through the shot punching the air but the ball curled viciously to deny him. It would have been a huge psycholgical win if we had got it but We’ll have to make do with the draw and good performance. 10 years now since our last victory over Kerry in a competitive game.

Victory in the last game against Westmeath is a must to avoid relegation, coupled with a Donegal defeat. Otherwise next year’s league programme will be looking fairly unappetising.[/quote]

Ladbrokes go 13/8 for Dublin to win the Leinster championship. They should be 4/6 at best. The Dubs are always a better side on summer days in Croker. The opposition look pathetic, Meath, Laois, Wexford all going back at a rate of knots. Kildare would want to improve a shedload from last year to threaten them. Get on lads.

Dublin V Kildare is looking the likely Leinster Final at the moment. You’d have to fancy Kildare to improve again from last year but we should still comfortably have too much for them. Dublin’s toughest game will probably be against Meath the first day out. They always raise it for games against Dublin even when they have a poor team. Get over Meath and we’ll win Leinster. Don’t ever remember us losing Leinster after beating them, always gives the team a bit of momentum and confidence.

I don’t know what the hell is going on in Wexford at the moment but to call their league campaign a shambles is being very kind. I’d imagine some of those players have been wintering far too well. It’s not as if they were up against much today against Laois either.

Poor game down in Wexford today, but nice to get the win, stay in Div 2 and get some more game time for Donie and Reddin. Hopefully Reddin will be fit for the Leinster U21 FInal next weekend.

Apologies to the Wexicans for the relegation.

[quote=“sid waddell”]Dublin V Kildare is looking the likely Leinster Final at the moment. You’d have to fancy Kildare to improve again from last year but we should still comfortably have too much for them. Dublin’s toughest game will probably be against Meath the first day out. They always raise it for games against Dublin even when they have a poor team. Get over Meath and we’ll win Leinster. Don’t ever remember us losing Leinster after beating them, always gives the team a bit of momentum and confidence.

I don’t know what the hell is going on in Wexford at the moment but to call their league campaign a shambles is being very kind. I’d imagine some of those players have been wintering far too well. It’s not as if they were up against much today against Laois either.[/quote]

Whats the draw like in Leinster. Ya Meath should give Dublin a game anyway but a full forward line of both Brogans and Keaney could annihilate them too.