Mark Davorenās movement is superb, in my opinion. Heās excellent at creating space for himself and is pretty mobile for a big lad. He can also score. I reckon heāll be in their championship side.
[quote=āmyboyblueā]I wont get carried away with McConnell yet, has put in one or two decent shifts, but on the whole he has a bit to prove yet.
Ryan looks to be pulling a plough these days.[/quote]
Usually does in March.
Tipp team v Galway
- Darren Gleeson (Portroe)
- Eamonn Buckley (Drom and Inch)
- Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
- Conor OBrien (ire g Annacarty)
- Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
- Conor OMahony (Newport) Captain
- Shane Maher (Burgess)
- James Woodlock (Drom and Inch)
- Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
- Patrick Maher (Lorrha and Dorrha)
- Seamus Callanan (Drom and Inch)
- Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)
- Tony Scroope (Burgess)
- Michel Webster (Loughmore Castleiney)
- John OBrien (Toomevara)
I donāt see Tipp doing much this year, they havenāt kicked on at allā¦
Galway team v Tipp
C callanan
D joyce
E McEntee
O Canning
R Murray
Martin Ryan
F Moore
A Cullinane
O Lynch
A Smith
C Donnelan
A Callanan
N Hayes
J Canning
N Healy
Galway will have too much for them, but surely that wonāt be the Tipp attack come championship? The full forward line is shite.
Looks like Brian Murphy, Diarmuid and Timmy will be back for Cork, although Joe looks like he has retired. Will put up team tonight.
To be honest I think Tipp will struggle, no ball winner in the half forwards, Callinan is superb hurler but will only play off the breaks and wonāt get as much room this yearā¦Eoin Kelly is yet to puck a ball and is not the player he was 4 or 5 years ago eitherā¦Webster will battle but canāt hurl while Corbett can hurl but canāt battleā¦
I think Tipp are coming from a different angle this year. Iām told they believe thety peaked too early last year, if they get to semiās iād watch them.
I canāt see anyone beating KK anyway, but i suspect by september weāll be saying that Tipp and Galway have the only chance of doing it in 2010.
Your right about ball winning though Puke, they need to improve in that area. The Cork 4th team showed a little glitch in Tipp that night, they were caught out tactically.
[quote=āTurenneā]Galway will have too much for them, but surely that wonāt be the Tipp attack come championship? The full forward line is shite.
Looks like Brian Murphy, Diarmuid and Timmy will be back for Cork, although Joe looks like he has retired. Will put up team tonight.[/quote]
Duirmuid is down to play for Highfield on saturday, surely heās not trying to play both?
[quote=ācaoimhaoinā]I think Tipp are coming from a different angle this year. Iām told they believe thety peaked too early last year, if they get to semiās iād watch them.
I canāt see anyone beating KK anyway, but i suspect by september weāll be saying that Tipp and Galway have the only chance of doing it in 2010.
Your right about ball winning though Puke, they need to improve in that area. The Cork 4th team showed a little glitch in Tipp that night, they were caught out tactically.[/quote]
They might have peaked early but I think that they would struggle against a decent waterford or Galway team this summer, if either team is going wellā¦Still no partner for McGrath in midfield either and another wing back, Benny and Diarmuid Fitz are both far too looseā¦
I said it last year that they had their best panel available to them last year and they have added a few young lads this year but I canāt see them inproving this year, in fact I reckon that either Cork or Clare will beat them in munster
Ya, its very hard to know really. Clare look all over the place, but i have a feeling they are totally championship focused as well. Cork is hit and miss. I think Waterford have added nicely to the panel, Richie Foley looks a real prospect. Hurney is a bit hit and miss, and his touch and pace might be just that too far off Senio IC, but iād say he needs time.
Right now iād still go for a Waterford-Tipp Final. (Munster of course)
Galway going well Puke could mean the end of 4-in-a-row. They more than anyone could have a good day and win a shoot out with KK. Still unlikely though.
[quote=āThe Pukeā]They might have peaked early but I think that they would struggle against a decent waterford or Galway team this summer, if either team is going wellā¦Still no partner for McGrath in midfield either and another wing back, Benny and Diarmuid Fitz are both far too looseā¦
I said it last year that they had their best panel available to them last year and they have added a few young lads this year but I canāt see them inproving this year, in fact I reckon that either Cork or Clare will beat them in munster[/quote]
Iād actually put Noel McGrath in midfield a few times, best place to find out about the pace of the game. Might be too late now this year, but ghe could be a lethal midfielder.
Fixed that for you there puke.
D g Cusack
S OāNeill E Cadogan C OāSullivan
J Jordan R Curran C McGann
T Kenny K Hartnett
B OāConnor K āHeroā Murphy G Callanan
P Horgan N Ronan J OāConnor
Kilkenny will be laughing their asses off at that center forward line (Ben aside). Good to see Gardinar and Naughton off, but Iād have Fintan OāLeary (and about a dozen others) ahead of Graham at least. I suppose he can do some damage at least. Still, there is still at least three players not up to inter-county standard starting, prefered sundayās team really.
Kilkenny by 15.
[quote=ācaoimhaoinā]Ya, its very hard to know really. Clare look all over the place, but i have a feeling they are totally championship focused as well. Cork is hit and miss. I think Waterford have added nicely to the panel, Richie Foley looks a real prospect. Hurney is a bit hit and miss, and his touch and pace might be just that too far off Senio IC, but iād say he needs time.
Right now iād still go for a Waterford-Tipp Final. (Munster of course)
Galway going well Puke could mean the end of 4-in-a-row. They more than anyone could have a good day and win a shoot out with KK. Still unlikely though.[/quote]
Tis Kilkennyās to lose and if they are to lose it will be in an all ireland semifinal and not the finalā¦The Portumna lads offer a lot to galway, Richie Murrey seems to be going well at wing back and John Lee is after rejoining the panel, the games in leinster will be a help alright, questions still remain about their temperament, but if they click they will put up a big scoreā¦
As for Clare, I wouldnāt read too much into our league form, pretty much the same as last year, we beat laois and drew with tipp in the league last year aprt from that we were hammered by limerick and Galway fro 45 minutes til they had 2 sent off and we got back in itā¦Our backs seem to be taking shape and will hold their own against any forward line in the country bar kilkennyā¦BOC is still a bit rusty at midfield but we seem to be struggling a bit in the forwards(whatās new) and it will be our undoing I would sayā¦By the looks of us so far we look liek a team that is still training hard physically and have little ball work done, I hope this is the caseā¦
[quote=āTurenneā]Kilkenny will be laughing their asses off at that center forward line (Ben aside). Good to see Gardinar and Naughton off, but Iād have Fintan OāLeary (and about a dozen others) ahead of Graham at least. I suppose he can do some damage at least. Still, there is still at least three players not up to inter-county standard starting, prefered sundayās team really.
Kilkenny by 15.[/quote]
Delighted Joe Jordan is getting his chance, baptism of fire though. McGann isnāt up to it, neither is Callinan. And Hartnett at midfield.
Are they trying to lull KK into a false sense of security or what? Jesus its weak.
We should aim to do better than Tipp, iād go for 2-22 to 1-15.
[quote=āThe Pukeā]Tis Kilkennyās to lose and if they are to lose it will be in an all ireland semifinal and not the finalā¦The Portumna lads offer a lot to galway, Richie Murrey seems to be going well at wing back and John Lee is after rejoining the panel, the games in leinster will be a help alright, questions still remain about their temperament, but if they click they will put up a big scoreā¦
As for Clare, I wouldnāt read too much into our league form, pretty much the same as last year, we beat laois and drew with tipp in the league last year aprt from that we were hammered by limerick and Galway fro 45 minutes til they had 2 sent off and we got back in itā¦Our backs seem to be taking shape and will hold their own against any forward line in the country bar kilkennyā¦BOC is still a bit rusty at midfield but we seem to be struggling a bit in the forwards(whatās new) and it will be our undoing I would sayā¦By the looks of us so far we look liek a team that is still training hard physically and have little ball work done, I hope this is the caseā¦[/quote]
An old Clare trick.:rolleyes:
It will be his spot in a few years time but would be destroyed at the moment in the middle just doesnāt have the physicality for itā¦yet
Tis the same man that did it 15 years ago that is doing it now sureā¦
Puke, have Clare to beat the Dubs to stave off relegation or is it too late?
If they win their last two games (v Dublin and Galway) then they need one of either Cork, limerick or Waterford to lose their remaining two matchesā¦
We are as good as gone I would sayā¦
[quote=āThe Pukeā]Tis Kilkennyās to lose and if they are to lose it will be in an all ireland semifinal and not the finalā¦The Portumna lads offer a lot to galway, Richie Murrey seems to be going well at wing back and John Lee is after rejoining the panel, the games in leinster will be a help alright, questions still remain about their temperament, but if they click they will put up a big scoreā¦
As for Clare, I wouldnāt read too much into our league form, pretty much the same as last year, we beat laois and drew with tipp in the league last year aprt from that we were hammered by limerick and Galway fro 45 minutes til they had 2 sent off and we got back in itā¦Our backs seem to be taking shape and will hold their own against any forward line in the country bar kilkennyā¦BOC is still a bit rusty at midfield but we seem to be struggling a bit in the forwards(whatās new) and it will be our undoing I would sayā¦By the looks of us so far we look liek a team that is still training hard physically and have little ball work done, I hope this is the caseā¦[/quote]
What you on about Puke? Going on reports Ive read, mainly yours I might add, the Clare backline is struggling big time with only Gerry OāGrady showing any kind of form and Bugler ok at centre back the last day. Gerry Quinn possibly our best player is gone awol again. Full back is struggling and no likely contenders to replace him either, Pat Vaughan who done well at corner back last year is up in midfield. From watching Pat Donnellan last year, I dont think he is good enough and is far far too loose. Who do you reckon are the starting six backs and keeper? Even last year Clare were conceding big enough scores and there is nothing to suggest that without Frank Lohan and Gerry Quinn that things are going to get better. Midfield, Colin Lynch should only be a sub this year but who knows who is going to partner BOC. Iād suggest Tony Griffin maybe. None of the forwards look in any sort of form. Overall the portents arent good.
At this stage the Munster championship is looking a poor competition. Kilkenny seem like they will annihilate everyone this year. I think Galway have to improve from last year but when you see lads like the Healys, Tierney, Murray and Farragher still on and off it wouldnt fill me with hope. If Cork pull together any kind of form they might reach a final.