Kilkenny look like serious value at 1/2 for the four in a row this year. Sneery enough cunts of fans by the sounds of things though. Lots of ironic cheering and jeers for Cork today even when they were beating the shite out of them. Even if they are Cork thereās no need for that shit.
Iām watching the game on tg4 at the mo, donāt think that the cheering is too sneery, more very vigorous cheering of every kilkenny score as a nail in the GPa coffin,
Notice the sign behind cusackās goal ?
When you look at the team we put out - rookie full-back, rookie corner-back, rookie-wing backs, squad player at midfield, inexperienced players at wing forward, center forward and one of the corner - I canāt say I really care about the result.
About half the team was made up of inexperienced youngsters and squad players, and with the likes Sean Og, Gardiner, Diarmiud, Conor OāSullivan, the two McCarthys, Deane, Brian Murphy, Fraggie Murphy etc to come back so the result isnāt really reflective off where we are, and what kind of team we will have come championship. And the likes of Jordan, Callinan, McGann etc are getting game time when they wouldnāt have normally.
As I said, no suprise, we all knew KK were better then Cork, however Iām very confident we will win Munster this year, which will be an improvement. :rolleyes:
Noticed the booing during the game by KK fans - leave that crap for the soccer lads.
yeah, stick to the death threats and sombreros like the cork shoppers :rolleyes:
[quote=āTurenneā]When you look at the team we put out - rookie full-back, rookie corner-back, rookie-wing backs, squad player at midfield, inexperienced players at wing forward, center forward and one of the corner - I canāt say I really care about the result.
About half the team was made up of inexperienced youngsters and squad players, and with the likes Sean Og, Gardiner, Diarmiud, Conor OāSullivan, the two McCarthys, Deane, Brian Murphy, Fraggie Murphy etc to come back so the result isnāt really reflective off where we are, and what kind of team we will have come championship. And the likes of Jordan, Callinan, McGann etc are getting game time when they wouldnāt have normally.
As I said, no suprise, we all knew KK were better then Cork, however Iām very confident we will win Munster this year, which will be an improvement. :rolleyes:[/quote]
are ye seriously relying on Sullivan and Gardner coming back to make up the 27 points KK annihilated ye by?
good one;)
didnt see any of it but Colm Murray just called it a mauling on the 6.01 news, thatāll do me.
well done the cats!
would have liked to have witnessed Cusack looking over his head all day.
Where are you from HBV? County I mean.
Comfortable win for Limerick there today, beating Waterford (who are the only team to beat Kilkenny in the league this year) by four points, having played most of the second half with 14 players. This surely makes Limerick hot favourites for the Liam McCarthy this year. I predict all theyāve to do is remember to turn up for each game.
Iām just back from the game and I didnāt notice any extraordinary booing by any Kilkenny fans. Nothing I would describe as sneery. They[We] encouraged Henry to go for the goal from a 21 late on. He didnāt. They made a bit of noise when PJ Ryan had a free on the 40. I think that was just egging him on to try score himself. Donāt think that falls into the sneery bracket.
In fact when Pa Cronin hit a bad wide late on it was the Cork fans around me who made the most noise.
Kilkenny got a huge ovation going off at half time, which seemed to get louder and louder until everyone in both stands were on their feet. Excellent stuff. They deserve it all.
Some of the passing off the hurl was fantastic. Richie Power picked out Eddie Brennan late in the first half with a beauty.
Henry had a beauty of a point in the second half when he was on the run dummied a shot of the right and hit it immediately off the left.
Mick Rice is turning into an interesting option in midfield.
Iām not sure what Corkās tactics were. They seemed to play an extra man in midfield in the first half. Mick Kav was sweeping and clearing ball after ball. In the second half I saw Cork withdraw their half forwards into midfield but the KK half backs refused to follow them. It was no help to Cork either way.
Corry looked to be a useful ball winner when he came on.
I have no idea what Donal Og was doing for the first goal.
Was the second an own goal?
Cork players claimed KK wouldnt have won 3 in a row if they had the manager they wanted, KK fans were right to give them loads of it, shocking lack of respect for a group of players who have won a 3 in a row.
Sickening.
Does anyone know if any of the bookies have a market open for Hurler of the Year yet?
[quote=āmyboyblueā]Cork players claimed KK wouldnt have won 3 in a row if they had the manager they wanted, KK fans were right to give them loads of it, shocking lack of respect for a group of players who have won a 3 in a row.
Sickening.[/quote]
Link.
[quote=ācluaindiuicā]Iām just back from the game and I didnāt notice any extraordinary booing by any Kilkenny fans. Nothing I would describe as sneery. They[We] encouraged Henry to go for the goal from a 21 late on. He didnāt. They made a bit of noise when PJ Ryan had a free on the 40. I think that was just egging him on to try score himself. Donāt think that falls into the sneery bracket.
In fact when Pa Cronin hit a bad wide late on it was the Cork fans around me who made the most noise.
Kilkenny got a huge ovation going off at half time, which seemed to get louder and louder until everyone in both stands were on their feet. Excellent stuff. They deserve it all.
Some of the passing off the hurl was fantastic. Richie Power picked out Eddie Brennan late in the first half with a beauty.
Henry had a beauty of a point in the second half when he was on the run dummied a shot of the right and hit it immediately off the left.
Mick Rice is turning into an interesting option in midfield.
Iām not sure what Corkās tactics were. They seemed to play an extra man in midfield in the first half. Mick Kav was sweeping and clearing ball after ball. In the second half I saw Cork withdraw their half forwards into midfield but the KK half backs refused to follow them. It was no help to Cork either way.
Corry looked to be a useful ball winner when he came on.
I have no idea what Donal Og was doing for the first goal.
Was the second an own goal?[/quote]
Any of the Cork lads catch your eye, other then Corry who is a nothing player imo. I understand Curran was our ābestā player?
Joe Jordan did some good things. Callinan didnāt look to be great. I donāt think any team can afford to have a forward who canāt shoot. Cronin and Corry probably fall into that category.
Hard to see many positives from the game for ye to be honest. Too many bad wides and so much possession given away.
Why that Johnston lad hasnāt got a look in since the 08 panel came back is beyond me.
Lads,
Yeāre wasting time arguing here. Sure itāll be a repeat of the 07 final but with the opposite result.
[quote=āThe Dunphā]Lads,
Yeāre wasting time arguing here. Sure itāll be a repeat of the 07 final but with the opposite result.[/quote]
Would you care to have a wager on this Dunph
5 pounds so?
Will you take a cheque?
Cash only.
But seriously, Kilkenny wonāt be beaten this year. In fact iād be surprised if any team could come within 3 or 4 points of them. The only teams with the potential to challenge them would be Galway and Tipp, with Limerick a little further down imo. But none of these three will stop them this year.