Official NFL & NHL 2009 Thread

Saw him giving Galvins nuts a good squeeze on the news just there. What a cunt

If there’s any two cunts who deserved eachother.

After Limerick’s narrow defeat to Kilkenny, surely they have to be a bet for the Munster championship?

[quote=“myboyblue”]Bit of a dust up in Omagh after the final whistle as well. How McMen didnt see a card today I’ll never know.

http://dynimg.rte.ie/00021191189r.jpg[/quote]

is the dogfighter spitting there?

Dublin can definitely take them the next day if the team keeps up the form, we hammered them down there two years ago and that was the year they got to the All-Ireland. Clare and Waterford are also very beatable. Great shout for a semi-final place now. Daly’s demented eyes seem to be doing the trick so far.

Less encouraging from the footballers although two of the goals should never have happened. The penalty for the first goal was wrongly given as the foul was outside the area and Paul Flynn was caught red-handed in possession for the third goal. Sick of our league performances for the last 10-15 years. We nearly always get turned over away and we haven’t reached a league final since '99. Poor lague performances might have something to do with our losing mentality in the championship these days. Really need a win away to Donegal next day out firstly to get some confidence going and secondly to avoid being dragged into a relegation battle.

Limerick v Kilkenny

From rte.ie

Sunday, February 15.

Kilkenny needed a late Michael Grace point to beat Limerick, while Anthony Daly’s Dublin moved to the top of the table with a shock win over Galway; Waterford easily accounted for Clare.

Kilkenny 0-15 Limerick 0-14

Michael Grace snatched a dramatic winner seven minutes into added time to give Kilkenny a 0-15 to 0-14 win over luckless Limerick at Nowlan Park on Sunday.

Kilkenny had led 0-14 to 0-13 going into the final minutes before Andrew O’Shaughnessy levelled the game with his fifth point of the afternoon.

However, Grace, the former star of television show The Underdogs, made a name for himself by grabbing the winner after 41 minutes of second-half action.

It was heartbreaking for Justin McCarthy’s Limerick, who will rue nine wides in the second half alone, having dragged themselves back into the game after trailing 0-9 to 0-7 at the break.

In fact, the Treaty men, who had Stephen Lucey and Tom Condon in fine form in defence, kept the Cats’ lethal attack scoreless for 17 second half minutes.

In that period they managed four points of their own, and with the game going into extended injury time, O’Shaughnessy had a great chance to win the game, but his goal bound effort was blocked.

Such was the panic in the Kilkenny ranks, Andy Comerford was brought off the bench, but the glory fell to Grace, who grabbed two valuable league points for the Cats at the death.

Nine second half wides from Limerick and still within a point! Encouraging stuff. Road to recovery for Limerick perhaps not quite as long as it looked after the Offaly fiasco.

Such was the panic in the Kilkenny ranks, Andy Comerford was brought off the bench, but the glory fell to Grace, who grabbed two valuable league points for the Cats at the death.

That would be real panic from Kilkenny alright. Did Charlie Carter and Adrian Ronan come on as well?

You got there before Sid! They’ll be wheeling out John Power the next week for a stick fight…

[quote=“sid waddell”]Such was the panic in the Kilkenny ranks, Andy Comerford was brought off the bench, but the glory fell to Grace, who grabbed two valuable league points for the Cats at the death.

That would be real panic from Kilkenny alright. Did Charlie Carter and Adrian Ronan come on as well?[/quote]

Cody is taking the Harry Redknapp approach this year I think.

Watch the break - you’re saying you had 900 spons on Kilkenny to beat the handicap today?

Not quite. Had a 900+ payout if they did.

Ouch

Difficult to know, saw the incident in real time and there was no reaction from the Kerry men to suggest he did. However he did everything else over the course of the game so its possible.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Tipp were poor, but fair play to the Cork lads, they showed some serious bottle, they were just to poor on their touch and fairly weak (as is to be expected) man to man play.
We could have a serious U-21 team with all this exposure to decent hurling.
I thought Chris Murphy really looked good (shocked!), Barry Johnson is a class hurler, had under estimated him as well. I don’t think Tadgh Og would do as well in a more structured game, he was a free man alot of the time. Michael Collins at full forward was poor. Game finished with 7 Sars players playing, good for them i suppose.[/quote]

there were that many changes in the 2nd half I was sorry I didn’t bring me boots.

But what a night; Semple looked fantastic, but no programmes, sweets or flowers left so we went home empty handed but with the road another 20 mins shorter it didn’t even feel like we were bate by 12.

Cork played brilliantly together, whereas Tip played like they didn’t even know each other and they were all but dragged out of the dressing rooms for the second half.

Clearly Tip don’t like the lights on and in my experience of Tip men I would never have painted them shy but Tip has turned lads, in Templemore we saw a lad in a Pink jumper…

But at least Tip can plan their year knowing they are 3 points better than Dublin. For us, it was great in one sense that we saw some nice chancy players, in another it was a shame to have not fully partaken in a great night.

If I were John Gardiner I’d be worried for my place. Maybe its time for a re-allocation of numbers 1 to 30.

Good craic all around and congrats to Semple Stadium; Frilly even thought she was at Ascot it looked so glam and tried to get me to change my hat.

What a cunt is right. He was like a testosterone fueled teenager running around after Kerry players looking for a row at the end.

It’s a pity that Tyrone couldn’t take their beating like men

[quote=“Fran”]What a cunt is right. He was like a testosterone fueled teenager running around after Kerry players looking for a row at the end.

It’s a pity that Tyrone couldn’t take their beating like men[/quote]

I’d have a lot of admiration for Harte and Tyrone, but very disappointed to see a lad like this cunt captain the side. Fair play to the Kerry boys, they handled themselves well in the face of some shocking provocation.

Armagh were no better on Saturday night either against Laois. I think these new rules are driving a lot of the Northern boys blood up.

[quote=“myboyblue”]I’d have a lot of admiration for Harte and Tyrone, but very disappointed to see a lad like this cunt captain the side. Fair play to the Kerry boys, they handled themselves well in the face of some shocking provocation.

Armagh were no better on Saturday night either against Laois. I think these new rules are driving a lot of the Northern boys blood up.[/quote]

No harm if that is the case. I admire Micky Harte too but he obviously condones this kind of behaviour too. Didnt the same lad bite the Gooch in the arm a few years back and nothing was done.

Although that being said, Kerry were the dirtier side in the All Ireland last year.

I think that’s a bit of a generalisation and I’d wait to make a full judgement on the new rules and how teams have adhered to them until the end of the league. Neither Tyrone or Armagh had many problems with them in the Dr McKenna Cup and first round league games on a collective basis and a couple of the names mentioned aren’t really strangers to the odd controversy so it’s not necessarily a response to the new rules and directly related to it.

Reread my post there Bandage. I said “I THINK”, I didnt say “There is nothing surer”. Of course its too early to say. All I can go on is the games I’ve seen which is Laois v Armagh and Kerry v Tyrone, two of the standard bearers for Ulster over the past 20 years.

I also saw Kildare v Laois which is relevsant given Geezers input to Kildare. While Kildare won well (due to Laois’s horrific backline), the inability of the Kildare back line to defend like they were doing last year proved very problematic.

I think Tyrone and others pull these kinda things in the league, so as to give teams like Kerry more to think about when it comes to championship. Tyrone come out in championship then and pass the ball around you and not a belt in sight. They shift the focus of the opposition about 5 months in advance of a game. It’s genius in a way, but i believe Jack O’ Connor will have copped it.
Tyrone have done it too Dublin more than once.
Kinda like Roy Keanes mantra, kick the shit out of them up to half time, then in 2nd half start playing the ball. Tyrone slight adjustment is, bate them up in the league, doesn’t matter if we win or not, but then play total football in championship.