Olympians/Sports stars You Suspect Are Juiced Up

I follow a number of athletic people on twitter and the latest is alot of the PED’S is driven by the shoe companies. Direct references were being made to the doctors and physio’s involved in everything can always be trace back to the shoe companies.

Mo Farrah was taken to the Nike facility in California where all their athletes spend some time. Now they obviously have cutting edge training facilities but alot of the top Athletics people are pointing the finger straight at Nike, Adidas, Puma etc. and are saying that this is the real story, which will unfild over next year. it makes sense to be honest.

The pressure to keep a contract may be behind these guys taking stuff, and some of it may well be unknown to athlete.

In a related story Essesdon are looking like they are getting clean away with the drugs issue, for the players at least. Shocking.

Kev this is pretty much the exact opposite of anything I’ve ever read.

Do you have anything at all to back that up?

There are a number of diseases that have an unusually high incidence of occurrence in Ireland due to the lack of genetic diversity.

The West of Ireland in particular is almost genetically homogeneous.

I have no idea whether your assertion that we are genetically predisposed to boxing stands up to scrutiny, but unless you can back it up even a little I’m going to assume you made it up.

Oregon not California Kev, it’s called the Oregon Project after all.

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 802781, member: 332”]Kev this is pretty much the exact opposite of anything I’ve ever read.

Do you have anything at all to back that up?

There are a number of diseases that have an unusually high incidence of occurrence in Ireland due to the lack of genetic diversity.

The West of Ireland in particular is almost genetically homogeneous.

I have no idea whether your assertion that we are genetically predisposed to boxing stands up to scrutiny, but unless you can back it up even a little I’m going to assume you made it up.[/quote]

http://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/magazine/mythsofbritishancestry/#.UeZhn2Qayc0

Here is an alternative view.

The boxing speaks for itself really. We do Bette than countries with far bigger boxing populations and more money. The standard of Irish Amatuer boxing is streets ahead if anywhere I have been, now that could be for a number of reasons, but we are definitely very nimble and elusive in comparison to alot if other countries.

There are obviously individuals within other countries that will be better than our group, but as a group of sports people Irish boxers seem naturally better than alot if what I have seen.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 802787, member: 273”]http://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/magazine/mythsofbritishancestry/#.UeZhn2Qayc0

The boxing speaks for itself really. We do Bette than countries with far bigger boxing populations and more money. The standard of Irish Amatuer boxing is streets ahead if anywhere I have been, now that could be for a number of reasons, but we are definitely very nimble and elusive in comparison to alot if other countries.

There are obviously individuals within other countries that will be better than our group, but as a group of sports people Irish boxers seem naturally better than alot if what I have seen.[/quote]
Yes and don’t forget Muhammad Ali’s ancestors were from Clare as well

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 802787, member: 273”]http://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/magazine/mythsofbritishancestry/#.UeZhn2Qayc0

There are obviously individuals within other countries that will be better than our group, but as a group of sports people Irish boxers seem naturally better than alot if what I have seen.[/quote]

Kev a huge amount of the success of Irish boxing can be credited to two men, Billy Walsh and Zaur Antia, and also the government’s backing of the IABA in funding for decent bursaries for the boxers, their own stadium and proper structures in place allowing for Billy Walsh’s programme and Zaur Antia’s training methods to be implemented.

What proportion of Irish amateur boxers are travellers? A very significant proportion I would think given they account for only 0.5% of the population. And presuming travellers are even more ethnically homogenous than the rest of the Irish population maybe they’re the ones with the boxing genes?

That article if anything only confirms our lack of genetic diversity.

That’s true, they certainly have a higher representation in boxing than their population would suggest.

But it’s not just them. In the States and in Aus Irish guys hammer the locals, there is a significant difference. Now to be fair alot of guys here go semi-pro or pro really quickly.

That’s undoubted horse. But I’m speaking about lower levels as well.

Eh no it doesn’t. It just says one of the places we thought the Celts came from is incorrect. But we are far more diverse, were you to believe this article and others, than we are told in school.

I love seeing Kev in full bullshit mode. No point in even disagreeing with him on stuff when he’s in this mood as the logic behind stuff gets more and more bizarre.

Kev I’d agree with your assertion that the Irish boxers aren’t on drugs but our success at the sport definitely isn’t down to some genetic predisposition either.
The out of proportion success has only come in very recent years and is down to good organisation, coaching and the funding to keep our best boxers amateur. The relation between the setting up of the ‘high performance’ and the increased medal haul is clear to see.

[quote=“gola, post: 802841, member: 244”]Kev I’d agree with your assertion that the Irish boxers aren’t on drugs but our success at the sport definitely isn’t down to some genetic predisposition either.
The out of proportion success has only come in very recent years and is down to good organisation, coaching and the funding to keep our best boxers amateur. The relation between the setting up of the ‘high performance’ and the increased medal haul is clear to see.[/quote]

So you believe the " high performance" has lead to a rise in the level of performance?

It’s made it high

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]Did you even read the article you posted. It says;[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]“Ireland, being to the west, has changed least since the hunter-gatherer period and received fewer subsequent migrants (about 12 per cent of the population) than anywhere else”[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]What they are basically saying is that the population here has had fuck all new blood since the Stone Age.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]So either two things happened here. [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]1. You misread the article, which is fine, admit your mistake and move on or [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]2. (and most likely in my book) you just pulled that mix of genetics thing out of your arse, and when called on it googled something to support your story, not realising the article had nothing at all to do with what you are claiming, but rather to do with the origin of the Celts [/FONT][/SIZE]

[quote=“gola, post: 802841, member: 244”]Kev I’d agree with your assertion that the Irish boxers aren’t on drugs but our success at the sport definitely isn’t down to some genetic predisposition either.
The out of proportion success has only come in very recent years and is down to good organisation, coaching and the funding to keep our best boxers amateur. The relation between the setting up of the ‘high performance’ and the increased medal haul is clear to see.[/quote]

Again, I don’t disagree with that. But I have experience previous to this success. The boxers were always there, the set up wasn’t.

Do ye not think they don’t have good set ups in Cuba, Russian, Ukraine, France, USA, Canada etc etc. of course they do. The fact we really don’t do anything above 75 KG I think also has to have some significance.

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 802880, member: 332”][SIZE=3][FONT=arial]Did you even read the article you posted. It says;[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]“Ireland, being to the west, has changed least since the hunter-gatherer period and received fewer subsequent migrants (about 12 per cent of the population) than anywhere else”[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]What they are basically saying is that the population here has had fuck all new blood since the Stone Age.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]So either two things happened here. [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]1. You misread the article, which is fine, admit your mistake and move on or [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT=arial]2. (and most likely in my book) you just pulled that mix of genetics thing out of your arse, and when called on it googled something to support your story, not realising the article had nothing at all to do with what you are claiming, but rather to do with the origin of the Celts [/FONT][/SIZE][/quote]

I made specific reference to what we are taught at school. Maybe you misread what I first said, you should go back and read it again. Every race I mentioned is mention in this and other articles and has genetically scientifically proven links ti the modern irish. Much of this flies in the face of alot of what we were taught in school. Yes I google that today, knowing I would find something as I have found similar in the past.

I realize you are pissed off that I haven’t been salivating at Limericks performance on Sunday and I don’t rate them as much as you’d like, but you have gone down the wrong track here.

Of course the original point on boxing is based on experience and OPINION, unfortunately they are not doing medical, scientific or genetic studies on my opinion… Yet. So I will struggle to get anything there for you. Most of what we believe about anything we form over a period of time from a number of different sources. Of course sometimes this can be misinformed, usually misinformed because of a silly history education or some political tripe shoved down our necks by the system or the media.

How ever, we are in the age of information. As I read somewhere recently, in this day and age, ignorance is a choice.

It’s funny how much I have the Limerick lads following me around all week. I never had such an insight into their insecurities.

I’m actually disappointed.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 802901, member: 273”]It’s funny how much I have the Limerick lads following me around all week. I never had such an insight into their insecurities.

I’m actually disappointed.[/quote]

Maybe we only just caught on to how thick you are?

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 802893, member: 273”]
Do ye not think they don’t have good set ups in Cuba, Russian, Ukraine, France, USA, Canada etc etc. of course they do. .[/quote]

Actually there’s an interview with Billy Walsh in the current Hot Press where he says that USA should be the leading boxing nation in the world but he reckons the set-up is shite and one day, maybe after Rio, it’d be a goal of his to go there and get them winning medals.

The fact he also got offers after London from several big nations suggests the set-ups in many countries is shite.