20 years ago today the RA blew three year-old Jonathan Ball and 12 year-old Tim Parry to pieces in Warrington.
A great day for Ireland or a sickening act of murder and terrorism?
20 years ago today the RA blew three year-old Jonathan Ball and 12 year-old Tim Parry to pieces in Warrington.
A great day for Ireland or a sickening act of murder and terrorism?
Not a great day for Ireland anyway.
On this day last year Jim Stynes passed away.
This day 10 years ago was a great day for Ireland.
Celtic rocked up at Anfield and beat the shit out of Liverpool en route to the UEFA Cup Final.
I watched it in MacTuarcaill’s while availing of a free bar provided by Irish Life having played a key role over previous months in the Stokes Kennedy Crowley audit of the financial institution.
I was looking after the directors’ loans section of the audit, if I recall correctly.
The Warrington bombs were 20 years ago today. Two kids killed by the brave heroes.
It wasn’t actually on this day (it was 10 April) but it was a Good Friday 15 years ago the Good Friday Agreement was signed. Imperfect and all as it is it as made some difference to life on this island. I’ll never forget the will they won’t they excitement on the day and on the days leading up to it.
Thank God for Bill Clinton
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 754937, member: 180”]1996
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BG6SygMCYAAm2IE.jpg:large[/quote]
This game was a sign that the hype machine surrounding the EPL was having an impact on peoples lives.
Fair play to BSKYB for creating the smokescreen that this was the “greatest game” of all time, maybe for the EPL generation it was, after all football only began as we know in August 1992 when QPR played Man City in the first televised Monday Night Football, Per Rupert Murdoch this was the best game after his 4 years of running football so therefore it was accepted by the masses that this was “the match”… on reflection it was just an exciting match played between 2 average EPL clubs with some good goals and bad defending where the star of the show went out “dogging” after the game
Its all about “morkeshing” mickee, and knowing your audience. Murdoch has always known both, very well. As for this side of the sea, I blame myoofc supporters, rte, and Des Cahill.
On this day in 1993 the Grand National was abandoned due to a false start. Esha Ness ran the whole race and crossed the line in first place but was not awarded the title.
19 years gone
http://www.biography.com/imported/images/Biography/Images/Profiles/C/Kurt-Cobain-9542179-2-402.jpg
If he lived piles he would proably be living in a trailer park with other has beens like chesney hawkes,better to burn out than to fade away
[quote=“Piles Hussain, post: 755474, member: 363”]19 years gone
http://www.biography.com/imported/images/Biography/Images/Profiles/C/Kurt-Cobain-9542179-2-402.jpg[/quote]
Twas a sad day for repressed teenagers worldwide.
I remember going especially apeshit at the youth disco on the weekend after his death.
When ‘Teen Spirit’ came on the lady folk knew it was time to vacate the floor and let the lads mourn (tear the place a new one).
The bed of heaven to you Kurt a mhac.
Johnnys little girl aint a girl no more
this gave me a fright, remember it like yesterday , I’d backed cahervillahow the horse that finished 2nd
32 years ago today Bobby Sands was elected MP for Fermanagh and South Tyrone.
Today is the fifteenth anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement. Deaglan de Breaduin captures the flavour of the day very well in an article in the Irish Times today.