People who cook slow

Jesus but @labane1917was very badly exposed here.

Time to trade in the 1940s crockpot mate.

Lifting the lid every 15 mins and wondering why it’s not cooked.

That’s enough. Put spuds in the boiler. Heel a pile of them in centre of table. Heel a pile of salt and another of pepper if you want to be cheffy.
Every man for himself.

No butter?

It’s not fucking Paris

Do you not have an old churn lying around somewhere?

Throw her into the slow cooker for 3-8 hours.

Fair play @anon7035031. I made this last week and it went down a treat.

Is there any handy way of thickening the sauce a bit without having to separate it and stir in cornflour? It was very watery. The cornflour thickened it fine in the end but its a messy job for shite cooks like me.

You could make a roux after browning the chicken breasts and onions, add a few tbs oil or butter and the same amount of flour and cook for a few minutes, then add the wine and stock. You could also use less wine and stock.

Would you cook the roux on a medium/low heat? Sorry for all the questions. I find words like roux intimidating!

Medium, you want to brown it before adding the stock. A whisk is handy when you add the stock to blend it in.

Maiden voyage of the season tomorrow for the slow cooker.

2 onions a red and yellow pepper a butternut squash, a can of chickpeas a tin of tomatoes a package of passata a serious dollop of curry paste a can of coconut milk and 6 chicken breasts. She will get 8 hours tomorrow

Lovely if it wasnt breasts you used.

Thighs are too awkward with young kids IMO

Fuck me kid. Did you need planning permission to get the go ahead for that lot?

He had it in the vale star for the past month :sweat_smile:

I’ve found 3-4 hours on high setting is a better job for chicken breasts’
of you leave them in for too long the meat is very stringy.

There’s a bit of work in skinning and boning the thighs but it makes all the difference, a butcher would do it for you if he knew your face, or if you were a woman.

This is a bizarre thread