Pubs opening

That’s the thing that gets me.
I like to be able to go for a few pints on a sunday evening and just fall in with whoever is around, and if the first place is full of potholes, you can just make your excuses and move to the next place.

Thats the whole point of the pub, the spontaneity.

You might agree to meet two other people there, but you’d kind of know you’ll meet another 10 or 20.

Last minute decisions to go watch a match in a pub or something are another great tradition being ripped away as you’ll need to know 2 weeks in advance who your going to be drinking with, where you have to go and at what time.

How long will this be for? Surely everyone who wants one will have a vaccine by September. With the mix of rules about time limits, space between tables, indoors / outdoors. It looks pretty much unenforceable for a small publican

People need to stop making a big deal out of all this. Only a few urban pubs will actually stick by this, mainly food pubs that want to turnover the table anyway.

The 11.30 closing time (when enforced)will force the house parties though.

The big hope is none of them cunts with the cameras are out week 1.

Well over 80% will be fully vaccinated by August. It’s complete nonsense but there is a mixture of public health officials trying to keep some control on alcohol consumption long term and also to show that it was them, and not vaccines, that beat Covid.

The 11.30 closing time is NPHET revealing it’s puritanical streak.

Poor old @Appendage will be looking in the window of the 51 at @briantinnion and the other lads having a drink again.

These nonsense regulations will rule out any craic of note in Ryan’s on All Ireland Weekend, Taafes for Galway Races, Courthouse Tavern - Jazz Weekend, Paidi O’Se’s - New Years Day.

We cant just give up on these things.

There’s no logic to that.

In fact you’d argue that it creates a situation they’d want to avoid and crowds all leaving and trying to get home at same time on same
public transport/encourages house parties.

Another year out of work for musicians

I know a fair few and it’s a killer for them alright. Looks like they’ll be the last back.

Most pubs are fucked now. Food or nothing.

Pubs rely on the big days and nights, the 21st’s, 50th’s, retirement parties, county final wins etc.

15 or 20 of them a year are enough to keep the rural places going.

Even city pubs need matchdays and proper nights out.

There’ll be nothing left if these nonsense restrictions carry on.

Common sense will prevail once more people are vaccinated. Hold firm.

O’Dwyers offically done. Pity.

Irish pubs are done, ye really need to get used to it

What’s the latest on the mainland? @Tassotti

pubs open indoors since last Monday week, table service only, no one is paying any attention to it, full steam ahead on 21st of June when all this nonsense goes out the window

In rural Ireland if you are paying staff and have a loan on the premises and not serving food, then you’re as well off idle.