Yeah. Not much between them for using as catch up.
Argos have a great deal with the now TV stick with a month entertainment and movies and a week of sky sports included for €24.50. It’ll be ideal
You’ll be able to watch sky yourself if you don’t have it. Now tv allows you to register 4 devices I think and can use 2 simultaneously.
Sorted for the world darts championship. A Christmas staple. Loads of soccer too from Stephens day
Do you know if it can be powered off the TV itself via USB port? The instructions say it should be only run off the mains and no other devices. I run my chromecast off the USB on the TV and have no issue.
Depends on the power available from the USB port. Not all USB ports are the same.
I’ll give it a test run theres plenty of sockets but its a wall mounted tv so I want to avoid traipsing wires around the place
Would you consider asking them what TV series they want to watch, downloading them, and handing them it on a USB stick? Zero cost.
There isn’t anything in particular, they want more options for over the Christmas. Its mostly movies they want to watch. I said to him don’t take any broadband over 15 quid extra on the bill as I’ll get a go mo sim and sort them. I have done what you suggested before downloaded a few movies they wanted and burned them onto dvds. For the sake of 30 quid I’ll do it for them for Christmas. I have Netflix, prime and Disney logins between myself and my sister so again we can cover the cost. The poor man is demented at the moment without the local
You’re well on top of it. Fair play!
I’m trying my best in fairness to yourself and the other lads ye had good advice. I didnt want to miss something that may work out better
Well, from experience, when there’s older people involved it’s best to keep it as simple and as fool proof and as reliable as possible. Cost would be secondary. So if they’re familiar with that Virgin remote, that’s your best chance of success.
Yeah they can work that no bother. The now TV has a simple remote too. It won’t take too much to show the ropes. My grandmother told me several times they were always ahead of the curve woth technology, first house in the estate to have telephone in the house and first to have a video player (my father spent 2 weeks wages on it when he was 17). I have used apple TV if it is half as easy to use they will be fine. My biggest fear was they would get caught in a contract or something they don’t need and pay through the nose but they will ring me before they agree to anything
Have these up and running, perfect stream for the GamePass now, via an ethernet cable from one of the slaves. Can’t see a button/switch on the router to turn off the wifi though
Why would you turn off the wifi?
Open your browser and web to 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.254. that’s the router IP usually. The username and password is usually printed on the back of the box. You can disable wifi from in there.
Cos the man told me to
So the cable goes to the first mesh device as master rather than the router as master? Does that give you much benefit?;
Well… The router from the ISP is usually a heap of shit and have a very poor wireless chipset installed as they are very much a budget device. The idea is that you leave the router doing DHCP and routing etc but turn off the wifi. The ethernet cable from the router to the first mesh device will provide DHCP and internet connectivity, and once set up correctly the mesh lads will broadcast a new wifi network, uplinked back to the router through this one ethernet link.
The mesh either use a narrow band of 2.4 or 5ghz as their own backhaul and leave plenty free for user devices to connect. Some of them also use the power link stuff to backhaul each other over the power sockets, allowing more spectrum free for user connections.
You could leave the router wifi on, but it can interfere with the wifi being broadcast by the mesh. Even if the mesh is made up of 3 devices they will balance channels and power correctly between them, and they’d have no control over what the other router is fucking out.
Do you need ethernet to the first mesh device or can you put in good line of sight and forward the wifi?
I paid a nice wedge for a good router recently