Racism Continued

It’s a shame they don’t use the same approach to secondary school English

Doesn’t matter black, white or fudge ripple, Cops in America are a different animal to any where else. .to me its more a case of whoever ends up in front of them more than who they proactively target… They also put on the uniform like a they’re going to war …the gun, the badge etc… The Power and status is huge…once the lad fought back and bettered them, he was fcuked… the mentaility is totally different to anything here where the gardai only flash the badge to get into coppers for free…

Correct, based on their perception that black men are more likely to have committed a violent crime, resist arrest, pull a gun, shoot a cop, etc. Is that unfair on law abiding black men, absolutely. Does it contribute to unjustified killing of innocent black men, absolutely. The elephant in the room though is the level of violent crime.

Making the above statement alone is denounced as racist on here and elsewhere, even though it gets to the heart of the matter. Black men commit 53% of murders in the US, even though they represent 14% of the male population. Black men commit violent crime on a 3:1 ratio to other races (strangely similar to the ratio of shootings), as identified by their victims, not by cops. Over 90% of victims, whether murder or violent crime, are black.

When this comment was posted there was stone splitting sunshine here in Galway City. Since then the clouds have turned black and theres been furious rain and thunder

Here comes the Galway killer bee.

But the point is that sustained racism down the years have hugely contributed to black people being disadvantaged In every aspect of society and hence turn to crime.

I would also genuinely wonder about much of those statistics as to the strength of convictions.

And they’re even ashamed to do that!

I’m really,really hesitant to make any points on this or other threads, as I do not have the interest in these massive monologues and endless debates, but at any stage is there a point in looking at the why of the reasons you outline there? Why do black men commit more crime, why are they involved in more murders?

Does it not point a fact of hundreds of years of oppression and racism in the form of continual put down and may somewhat contribute to their low standing in society, poverty and a general mistrust of people who have abused them for years. Racism still is an issue, a massive one, and more often than not black people have a harder time to try make a life for themselves. People saying now that we have to move on from the sins from hundreds of years ago and look at your actions now, but those sins have made a society of what it is right now. It’s the same in Australia, if not worse to be honest. An inherently racist country where they have had another racist incident in the AFL and from reading social media, the amount of people going on saying that they should look at their own issues and focus on themselves and not being such a pussy over being called names. Again, there is a reason why aborigines are so discarded within communities and why their crime rate is terrible. They are completely shunned and left with damn all.

I’m not giving any solutions here, but there is certainly a rational reason to suggest that continued and sustained racist thoughts and actions for years has left a section of society which is more poverty stricken and ostracised and goes someway to explain why they are more likely to be involved in crime. Plus conviction rates and arrest rates, for similar crimes, are certainly way higher on black people. They are not given the benefit of doubt, due to underlying issues and predetermined thoughts.

He has got a yellow card for dissent.

Your judgement on these issues is fundementally flawed just as your constant ill advised defending of Donal Trump was and is. The two of course are closely related. The psychotic agression of the police over there has actually been stoked by the racist President, a core source of his base. The Police there appear to see all life as cheap but with an openly racist president it’s not difficult for them to make the leap that sees black life as particularly cheap. It comes from on top. Institutional. Structural. Trump played with fire and is getting burned, no one should be that surprised perhaps to see the same happening to his advocates on here. Racism is rooted in hatred and defending racists is a sad and pathetic way to live your life

That’s a much broader discussion than police violence though. The cops are the ones tasked with responding to violent crime, they are not responsible for solving social or racial inequality in society. Remember that police departments are funded and managed at local and city level, there is no US police force.

Has a lot of the subconscious bias stuff not been discredited already? As in even if someone has subconscious bias against someone it doesn’t actually mean it impacts on how they treat that person.

I’m not saying there’s not bias by the way. Just the importance of implicit bias is overstated.

Racism, violent crime, police violence, etc. all existed before Trump. BLM was founded during Obama’s presidency. The cities that have the highest levels by far of violent crime, police brutality, unjustified killings, are all run by progressive liberals… lads like yourself.

I actually think the police have a critical role to play in the management of this area. But it should be part of a wider, more liberal approach to racism in general but that will never happen in the US.

No other President in living memory has sunk to his levels in stoking division. His job is to do the oppsite. Keep defending him if you must but don’t come crying wolf then when it’s your street thats burning down. Actions have consequences

Do you think that will make him more or less angry? :neutral_face:

How can anyone defend Donald Trump?

Seriously?

With luck, less repetitive. He made a holy show of himself, it happens. Time to let it go now and move on

You’ve thrown out that nugget a few times. Where are you getting this information from?

They took a position before he outed himself as a complete and utter dick and are now too entrenched to back out