Rats - A thread about Cats

I wouldn’t put it past them all the same - they can get into people attics after all.

While I kept the doors shut all day and he may have stayed around the hot press area since I first saw him, he definitely came from one of the bedrooms this morning (not mine).

Not looking forward to having to dispose of him now (Sideshow Bob-esque shudder).

Is it a common thing, a rogue rat getting into a house and not being very conspicuous? I know mice got into the house at home a few times over the years and they’d always set up base camp in the same attic. The auld fella would be going mad if you left the front or back door ajar in cold weather unattended…

what a clamping

Nice of him not shitting all over the floor.

Some of you lads, notably @Fagan ODowd badly underestimate rats. It’s a known fact that a rat can seriously out-fox a human in a shit or bust scenario.
They can’t climb 7 feet is a load of bollocks. They’ll climb 70 feet if need musts. Where do you think the phrase “as cute as a shit-house rat” came from ?.

Storm* is the preferred and most effective antidote I think. Placed in an empty jamjar, tilted against the weathers, where consumption levels are monitorable is the way to go. Of course and in context, where urban softies are concerned, paronia can become the main issue. Nutri-bullets may be the buzz-word, but the over and under shotgun may yet be the saviour of your sanity. I have a lad free at the moment to replaster walls if needs be.

*Subject to checking.

Must have been a roaster rat. Getting caught so handily in the city.

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1035495, member: 686”]The neighbour I used to visit died since.

There used to be 3 different lads I used to visit in this village, they are all dead now. Single Bachelors, no running water, no jacks…

A warm fire, an open door and plenty of whiskey though… and stories that would warm you.

I miss it. The village is more or less dead now from 9-5, though a few arty types have bought one of the houses and I only met him yesterday, seems grand.

Different times.[/QUOTE]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5abMngomYe0

I checked my bait boxes just now, usually do it every fews days.

They consist of the inside plastic tubing of a silage plastic wrap. Drill 2 holes and tie the storm block to it.

Anyway, there has been no activity in weeks… but this morning… the poison is gone again.

fucking cunts.

I heard the scratching from behind the hot water cylinder again this morning. So I moved the other trap I’d laid to the same place as where I’d got Vasily (his posthumus name). Scapaticci (this new cunt’s name) wasn’t long in falling for it. The trap had been in place all of about two minutes when he met his end in exactly the same fashion, right beside his mate (I hadn’t even removed the corpse). I shall shortly be uploading a photo of Scapaticci lying in state beside Vasily. But I suspect that’s not the last of the killing spree, In fact I know now as I write this that it isn’t as I can hear more scratching. This is not good. They’re getting in.

Sean O’Callaghan is in the building.

The nutri bullet brothers will blend up that rat with some pomegranate and some seeds of some sort and claim it has given them super powers. :slight_smile:

[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1035598, member: 183”]I heard the scratching from behind the hot water cylinder again this morning. So I moved the other trap I’d laid to the same place as where I’d got Vasily (his posthumus name). Scapaticci (this new cunt’s name) wasn’t long in falling for it. The trap had been in place all of about two minutes when he met his end in exactly the same fashion, right beside his mate (I hadn’t even removed the corpse). I shall shortly be uploading a photo of Scapaticci lying in state beside Vasily. But I suspect that’s not the last of the killing spree, In fact I know now as I write this that it isn’t as I can hear more scratching. This is not good. They’re getting in.

Sean O’Callaghan is in the building.[/QUOTE]

Surely one of them has to be called Elmo?

Scappaticci and Vasily lying in state:

[ATTACH]1870[/ATTACH]

Outstanding culling Sid, but your house is obviously infested.

You’ll have to move, pal.

Had you the other rat left in the same spot when you caught the second fella?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opd14v2I7Ik

jokes aside if rats are coming out into the living areas of your house then you are seriosuly fcuked and the place is full of them. Rats do not enter houses looking for food. they come in looking for somewhere to nest and they avoid human contact at all costs because the ones that don`t avoid human contact end up like the two gents in the photo. If they are coming into the living area it is because there are cartloads of them putting pressure on the space.

get an exterminator in. it should cost you no more than €150 or so but you have to get it done and get rid of them.

if you continue to allow them to come in to the living area any further rats that enter will follow the same routes into your house. they will be back after a while because the tunnels are there now.

on the upside you won`t have mice. the rats eat them

[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 1035620, member: 1061”]jokes aside if rats are coming out into the living areas of your house then you are seriosuly fcuked and the place is full of them. Rats do not enter houses looking for food. they come in looking for somewhere to nest and they avoid human contact at all costs because the ones that don`t avoid human contact end up like the two gents in the photo. If they are coming into the living area it is because there are cartloads of them putting pressure on the space.

get an exterminator in. it should cost you no more than €150 or so but you have to get it done and get rid of them.

if you continue to allow them to come in to the living area any further rats that enter will follow the same routes into your house. they will be back after a while because the tunnels are there now.

on the upside you won`t have mice. the rats eat them[/QUOTE]
The exterminator has been called. I have removed the corpses of Vasily and Scappaticci. I am happy to supplement my new found cold, murderous nature with professional extermination expertise.

I have a couple of theories as to what the source of the problem may be but I’m willing to hand that over to the experts.

Good move calling the experts.

You obviously have a nest under the floor boards.

Chances are they are male rats you caught… and the pregnant female is under the floor boards cleaning away before she calves.

pete postlethwaite - superb casting
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS91PY1zdiEcHIx6xmh_6IqxxSa5tdrPMInQCO-96J2VhWPGhMobg

pete postlethwaite - superb casting :clap:

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS91PY1zdiEcHIx6xmh_6IqxxSa5tdrPMInQCO-96J2VhWPGhMobg