Reopen the counties - the COVID-19 Edgy thread

If you think through what you are saying people will just have house parties instead, with the same effect

Why bother quoting him. He goes on about people not taking it seriously early on when he was exactly that person. He is trying to rewrite history.

People will meet friends but you’ll know who was at your house and who you choose to invite. You won’t be in a bar with 100s of random people standing on top of each other.

Pretty simple to understand but then again…

The UK is facing a 10 to 20 per cent contraction in the economy. To put that in perspective after the world wars and the great depression it was or 4 to 7 per cent. The chancellor was shitting himself yesterday you could see it. Ireland is in an even worse position. Its a pity Varadkar and half the country are hiding under the bed shitting themselves. Hoping it will magically go away in 2 months, its going nowhere, face up to it to fuck and get the thing going

It’s like drink driving. It was once socially acceptable and everyone did it and now people don’t do it. Or smoking in pubs. People adjust fairly quickly to a new normal.

Thirty five per cent contraction in the immediate 3 month lockdown period, its mind boggling

It one god thing comes out of this, hopefully it will be a social adjustment in the Irish view of drinking alcohol.

The brits wouldn’t work to warm themselves

Fucked was an inevitability, if places stayed open, then you were looking at multiples of deaths and healthcare systems fundamentally collapsing and places shutting down anyway. There was no band aid, there was no easy way. What has been done was necessary and is necessary.

If you don’t think it’s necessary then explain why not?

I could live with that so long as they keep stocking pilsner urquell in fine wines

It was nessecary but now we need to careful the cure isn’t worse than the illness.

Supply chains will begin to collapse before long

they’ll start opening places up in the next month, when it looks like it’s under control. It will be done slowly and considerately, with a big eye on the healthcare status.

What’s been done up to now has put us in a place to come out of it with a modicum of control.

Sweden have kept large parts of their economy going.

They will still have a huge contraction, but not to the same degree in the short term.

Health capacity is a huge issue and warranted the caution we had, but in an ideal world you want to be more like the Asian countries who had experience and tackled this. Sustained 2 months shuttering of sectors will mean many businesses will never come back and many jobs may not either. We will likely innovate in the medium term but are facing a U Shaped recovery rather than a V Shaped one now.

We’ll see a gradual reopening of things over next month or two. The lockdown was only ever designed to be temporary to buy time and allow resources and infrastructure be put in place.

But lads expecting crowds in pubs and heading to Croke Park in July will get a rude awakening.

how do you think any of what you just outlined would be any different had we stayed open?

Sweden are going to have to introduce measures fairly soon, they are at a fairly high death per million now, it won’t be long until the people start looking for lockdown. They’ll be in it for longer then

Everyone within the Health service I’ve spoken to is of the opinion that the shit hasn’t actually hit the fan yet.

All this talk of us being past peak seems to be nonsense from what I’ve heard.

I’ve spoken to a lady in CUH who was very optimistic. Now Cork and Dublin are Worlds apart in terms of numbers so she may have a different view of reality than someone in a similar position in the East.

Nobody fucking knows Har and that’s what’s scaring the shite out of the high ups

They are only going on the stats. The rate of hospitalisation and ICU admissions are stable/falling.

Or if you look at it another way, it just hasn’t been as bad as expected for whatever reason. Unlikely to get any worse over the next three weeks surely?