Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread - May cause brain/neck damage

If your describing him as slow you quite clearly have not seen him play nor have a clue what your talking about. I’m presuming your opinion of rossitor is based on something that someone you met in Australia told you?

Kevin once praised Carl Froch for being a “technically skilled” boxer.

Also described one cork footballer last year as being a top class inter county forward despite the fact that he can’t make the cork team nor has he ever done it at IC level in the 10 years he was involved with the panel.

Is he not technically skilled? Gas he became a multiple world champion in and beat many top fighters without being technically skilled. Boxing must be a shite sport for mullockers so is it?

So you think he’d have ade the KK team?

It’s funny lads citing a supposed poor trainers injury issues as a kinda excuse for some of his performances.

As Wexford people here have stated, he was a very good hurler but lacked consistency.
The likes of the KK backs were incredibly consistent.

No. Froch technical skills were poor, he was slow and cumbersome but he had a granite chin, he was extremely well conditioned and he could break his opponents mentally with his ability to take all they had and stalk them down.

Anyone who praises Froch’s technical skills does not grasp boxing. It would be the equivalent of calling someone like Gatusso a technically skilled footballer.

In fairness you probably would have at least to do a boxer code class to get some appreciation of the sport.
Froch was heavy handed and could slug, but he was absolutely gifted at drawing opponents into his fight and pulling them on to his left hook in particular, often starting the process 5-6 punches or feints in advance. That’s tactical of course, but the speed and technical ability has to be there to do it.
Bomber is a plug though and I’m fucked to know as to why I’m explaining this again.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1082339, member: 2533”]No. Froch technical skills were poor, he was slow and cumbersome but he had a granite chin, he was extremely well conditioned and he could break his opponents mentally with his ability to take all they had and stalk them down.

Anyone who praises Froch’s technical skills does not grasp boxing. It would be the equivalent of calling someone like Gatusso a technically skilled footballer.[/QUOTE]
Mayweather he is not but you are a spoofer and retard of the highest order if you want to maintain that he is not technically skilled. Witness his knockout of groves in the last fight for example.

A what?

And of course he was technically skilled, it’s stupidity to suggest otherwise. Not as “technically skilled” as many other top class fighters is a fair comment but then that’s not the type of fighter he is.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1082344, member: 273”]In fairness you probably would have at least to do a boxer code class to get some appreciation of the sport.
Froch was heavy handed and could slug, but he was absolutely gifted at drawing opponents into his fight and pulling them on to his left hook in particular, often starting the process 5-6 punches or feints in advance. That’s tactical of course, but the speed and technical ability has to be there to do it.
Bomber is a plug though and I’m fucked to know as to why I’m explaining this again.[/QUOTE]

Gifted at drawing opponents into a fight has nothing to do with technique. It has everything to do with tactics and executing a plan well. You said he was technically gifted, his defence was pretty suspect, he took big shots in all his fights, he was not the smoothest puncher, he was quite uncouth in his approach, he knew he had the power to punch through his opponent’s guards.

Clearly, you were either spoofing about boxing or don’t understand the term technique. Which one was it?

You clearly know nothing about boxing. Did you not see the first fight where his basic lack of defensive technique had him on the canvas seeing stars?

I suppose Pacquiao isn’t technically skilled either? :rolleyes:

Has Carl Froch retired? as per @Mac assertion on top class players retiring, would he have been considered a top class GAA player?

Pacquiao and Froch are worlds apart, you ignorant buffoon.

Average at best, technically poor on the ball, decent enough to mop up dirty breaking ball, but very useful in a schemozzle.

[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 1082347, member: 1533”]A what?

And of course he was technically skilled, it’s stupidity to suggest otherwise. Not as “technically skilled” as many other top class fighters is a fair comment but then that’s not the type of fighter he is.[/QUOTE]
Boxercise that should have been.

He has a couple of beautiful shots. The impact he makes is technique alone. There are obviously more technical fighters, but that shouldn’t take away from his abilities.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1082348, member: 2533”]Gifted at drawing opponents into a fight has nothing to do with technique. It has everything to do with tactics and executing a plan well. You said he was technically gifted, his defence was pretty suspect, he took big shots in all his fights, he was not the smoothest puncher, he was quite uncouth in his approach, he knew he had the power to punch through his opponent’s guards.

Clearly, you were either spoofing about boxing or don’t understand the term technique. Which one was it?[/QUOTE]

So which one is it, Kevin? Why did you bring tactics into explain technical skills. Was it because you have a poor understanding of boxing or because you didn’t understand the meaning of the term you used?

You can’t hide behind your ratings all your life.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1082386, member: 2533”]So which one is it, Kevin? Why did you bring tactics into explain technical skills. Was it because you have a poor understanding of boxing or because you didn’t understand the meaning of the term you used?

You can’t hide behind your ratings all your life.[/QUOTE]
Tactics need to be carried out with good skills, technique and efficiency.

Again you are one of these block minded people, you see everything in seperation. Boxing is much more integrated and fluid than that. But you have a clear misunderstanding of that. I can’t force you to see it.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1082386, member: 2533”]So which one is it, Kevin? Why did you bring tactics into explain technical skills. Was it because you have a poor understanding of boxing or because you didn’t understand the meaning of the term you used?

You can’t hide behind your ratings all your life.[/QUOTE]
Ring magazine rate Froch in the top 10 P4P boxers in the world and yet you are desperately trying to maintain an argument that he is “not technically skilled”. You’ve made an utter fool of yourself. Give it up now.

Golly, I hope there is another major retirement announcement soon.