even still how can they all fit into an 82,000 capacity stadium pal??..
[QUOTE=“thedancingbaby, post: 1047366, member: 48”]
Ball carrier - a term you’d expect to hear the likes of Tony Ward or George Hook use about some egg chaser[/QUOTE]
when you say it like that i can’t argue…it’s a fair point…on reading back ,i’m actually disgusted with myself…
[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1047372, member: 182”]when you say it like that i can’t argue…it’s a fair point…on reading back ,i’m actually disgusted with myself…
I won’t deny I was seething when I saw it used to describe a talent like Declan O’Sullivan
I appreciate the point you were making Scum but the phrase used was all wrong
its known as the rose of tralee effect mate, there arent a million fans of beauty paegants in Oireland but they still get casual viewers once a year
Tommy Walsh of Kilkenny.
In his prime he was unstoppable. One of the best I’ve ever seen.
Tommy Walsh - 9 all-irelands. 9 all stars in his first 9 years hurling inter county. Not a lot of love for him beyond the county boundaries but we don’t care. What a legend!
He was top class - for a small lad he was unreal, unbelievable in the air.
Was sat 2 rows from watching himself and Eoin McGrath go at it in the All Ireland semi in 2009. Walsh destroyed him.
Any truth that his missus made the decision for him after the Kilkenny lads pulled him out of the house for a session after the All Ireland win this year?
Walsh isn’t all that small. 5"10 I’d say with a wirey enough frame. Great under a high ball though
If she had an issue with him going on a session after winning the All Ireland that brings Kilkenny dourness to a whole new level.
Wasn’t she expecting that week? I doubt he needed her to tell him that his time was probably up
Walsh was a good one. One of the best I’ve seen.
He was brilliant in the air. Often marking lads who would have a decent height advantage over him but he’d inevitably beat them comprehensively in the air.
Had the bit of ruthlessness (or just plain badness) that the best players usually have. Shefflin will surely go too so that’s big experience they’ll miss even if they were only bit part players this year.
there are very few players who were mainstays in All Ireland winning sides that stay on the panel for a few years after losing their places. Vast majority just call it a day and understandably so.
What positions did he win the All-Stars in? Corner back, wing back, midfield and half forward?
A fairly decent spread.
Jaysus, I don’t know about that. He was a joy to behold in his prime.
Fantastic hurler one of the best and a dirty little cunt too!
Medals as a non-playing sub really shouldn’t be added to the haul. Didn’t see any championship action in 2002 and none this year after the Galway matches in the Leinster semi final.
A player like Walsh (Welsh) can only be fully appreciated by people from other counties when he’s gone. It was impossible to much appreciate how he would routinely catch the ball above taller players because every time it happened it just reinforced the depressing predictability of Kilkenny winning and that hurling was going through the most oppressive era in its history.
But the cunt was an absolutely magnificent player and would walk onto a greatest team of all-time if it was picked now.
[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1047683, member: 183”]A player like Walsh (Welsh) can only be fully appreciated by people from other counties when he’s gone. It was impossible to much appreciate how he would routinely catch the ball above taller players because every time happened it just reinforced the depressing predictability of Kilkenny winning and that hurling was going through the most oppressive era in its history.
But the cunt was an absolutely magnificent player and would walk onto a greatest team of all-time if it was picked now.[/QUOTE]
He destroyed @glasagusban’s boyfriend Breenie in a QF a couple of years ago. Caught a rake of ball over his head despite Breen being around 6 and half foot.