Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread - May cause brain/neck damage

[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1065305, member: 182”]totally disagree…intercounty players would actually practice those type of scenarios week in week out…the importance of getting your body in between the oncoming player and the ball is key…it means he will generally have to go through you to get to it …mcdonnell could easily have went to his left and gormley probably wud have either had to jump on him or trust his keeper…
like donaghy said after this year Gooch passes the ball to the net…he’s a genius in that regard. .that goal he got against dubs in 2011 final was ridiculous…he made it look so easy…[/QUOTE]

Bull shit, he brings the ball onto his left and he creates a much more difficult angle. As Sidney has already alluded to, he has to break his stride to switch to his left, at the momentum Gormley is coming in at he’s going to get there. It’s all about the defending there, that’s what happen when you get an Ulster on Ulster clash, the skills levels go through the roof, the intensity scales goes off the richter, it’s an inferno. Pasty skinned little dweebs like Gooch could never fully handle it.

[SIZE=3][QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1065305, member: 182”]totally disagree…intercounty players would actually practice those type of scenarios week in week out…the importance of getting your body in between the oncoming player and the ball is key…it means he will generally have to go through you to get to it …mcdonnell could easily have went to his left and gormley probably wud have either had to jump on him or trust his keeper…[/QUOTE][/SIZE][QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1065305, member: 182”]
like donaghy said after this year Gooch passes the ball to the net…he’s a genius in that regard. .that goal he got against dubs in 2011 final was ridiculous…he made it look so easy…[/QUOTE]
Watch it again and see that you’re wrong.

According to your logic Oisin McConville should have taken the shot against Kerry the previous year with his left and likely missed, because he was in pretty much an identical situation to McDonnell, except that Seamus Moynihan had less ground to make up to make a block on him than Gormley had to make the block on McDonnell.

[QUOTE=“The Selfish Giant, post: 1065294, member: 80”]bullshit

95% of kerrys all ireland have been soft[/QUOTE]

true to the extent in that what they had to play from Ulster and Connacht for much of the 1970s and 1980s were cat malogan in standard. Roscommon were half decent in 1980 I suppose. With a team ageing and with veteran players Kerry managed to beat Tyrone in 1986 by 8 pts having been asleep for over the half the game. For feck sake teams from Connacht and Ulster were coming to Croke Park with lads that were unfit to play the likes Kerry and Dublin. So they were soft in that sense. Hardly Kerry or Dublin’s fault these teams wouldn’t prepare right. Getting out of Munster was tricky though. Cork were better than anything elsewhere bar Dublin and of course Offaly in the early 1980s and were tricky to get over before encountering whatever canon fodder was next

[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1065305, member: 182”]totally disagree…intercounty players would actually practice those type of scenarios week in week out…the importance of getting your body in between the oncoming player and the ball is key…it means he will generally have to go through you to get to it …mcdonnell could easily have went to his left and gormley probably wud have either had to jump on him or trust his keeper…
They haven’t a fucking clue scum.
McDonnell made a poor decision at a vital time of a big game.
The block was good but over rated, as usual

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1065301, member: 273”]I might be a bit late to the party with this, but,
IS BOMBER JUST ONE OF SIDS OTHER Characters?

There is just way too much idiotic tag teaming of late for it not to be some sort of alliance.[/QUOTE]
Bomber gets more right than you and your sock puppet @Bisto do combined.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1065312, member: 273”]They haven’t a fucking clue scum.
The block was good but over rated, as usual[/QUOTE]

I’ve shut you up re Gooch and sent you running for the hills.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1065312, member: 273”]They haven’t a fucking clue scum.
The block was good but over rated, as usual[/QUOTE]
It’s easy to see you don’t watch much football. But that’s nothing to be ashamed of. It’s the pretending you watch it that’s embarrassing.

[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1065310, member: 183”]
Watch it again and see that you’re wrong.

According to your logic Oisin McConville should have taken the shot against Kerry the previous year with his left and likely missed, because he was in pretty much an identical situation to McDonnell, except that Seamus Moynihan had less ground to make up to make a block on him than Gormley had to make the block on McDonnell.[/QUOTE]
I don’t think that’s what he is saying.
What I think he is saying and what I advocate is that he should have shown to the left at the right time. Then gone to the right. That’s the mistake.

@Rocko, can we have a dedicated sub board for Kev and Bombers GAA discussions? It might clear the board of a lot of needless clutter

Like Tyrone winning the All Ireland last year?
He, and you, are a joke shop.

This is Sid you lazy cunt.
I dropped out of the bomber discussion quite a few pages back. He just chooses to repeatedly respond to my posts even when not addressed to him.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1065321, member: 273”]This is Sid you lazy cunt.
I dropped out of the bomber discussion quite a few pages back. He just chooses to repeatedly respond to my posts even when not addressed to him.[/QUOTE]

You dropped out of them when I mugged you off about Cooper and McDonnell. You had nothing constructive to offer.

lads talking about mcdonnell needing to break stride to turn on to his left side even though he had only taken about 3 steps before he got the ball … You’d swear he was after been fired out of a cannon. absolutely clueless…

[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1065323, member: 182”]lads talking about mcdonnell needing to break stride to turn on to his left side even though he had only taken about 3 steps before he got the ball … You’d swear he was after been fired out of a cannon. absolutely clueless…

:D[/QUOTE]

The ball is passed into his right hand, the time it will take him to switch hands will be countered by the momentum that Gormley is coming in at. It’s simple physics.

[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1065323, member: 182”]lads talking about mcdonnell needing to break stride to turn on to his left side even though he had only taken about 3 steps before he got the ball … You’d swear he was after been fired out of a cannon. absolutely clueless…

:D[/QUOTE]
It’s clear you haven’t watched the clip.

If was you I’d get back to talking about things you know something about, like polishing imaginary medals on a barstool.

Anyway, after all that, fair play to Gormley, a great servant to Tyrone. A sneaky hoor, mouthy and well qualified in the dark arts.
He has the 3 Celtic crosses just the same.

[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1065325, member: 183”]It’s clear you haven’t watched the clip.

If was you I’d get back to talking about things you know something about, like polishing imaginary medals on a barstool.[/QUOTE]
you’re the biggest bar fly on here pal…played nothing,done nothing…just read the back of the Sun for stats …for all the slagging you give Kev at least he is asked to train teams and his opinion is sought…this place is the pinnacle for you and your views…you’re a bedsit dwelling no mark… :smiley:

Laughing at your own comment. Says it all that you have to do that.

I thought I only drank at home (sorry, my bedsit) on my own and not in pubs? At least according to your hero Kev. You’re straying from the message.

FFs 3 pages on Conor fucking gormley. He’d be thrilled. I don’t think I ever saw him kick the ball 40yards. He’ll neither be remembered or forgotten

Yea, now that you mention it he was fucking robbed alright