Rose of Tralee 2009

The prizes are absolutely gash as usual. Newbridge shite. It’s like the sort of shite doddery aunts would buy you as a wedding present.

The Wire just started on BBC 2. Fuck the roses.

Do you have to be a bit of a desperate class of pervert to be an escort?

Jesus the escorts are some dodgy looking shower of bogshites.

What kind of bloke does this?

That first escort. Call the police.

I know a lad who used to chat up birds with the line that it is his ambition to be an escort in the Rose of Tralee.

He was recaptured soon after.

Holy fook.

Some sad bastard has been shortlisted for escort of the year for the second time.

He should be killed on the spot.

Surely these lads should be castrated the week before the show to ensure the roses’ virtue.

As far as I know you have to come up with some serious sponsorship to become an escort aswell.

I emerged from The Dome with the Fermanagh rose in a headlock a few years ago. I’m not sure of how it came about, I was only told about it the next day.

The winning escort/perv looks like Harry Hill ffs.

He is some pervert alright, something for us all to aspire to

any facebook links yet for these lovely girls?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I know a lad who used to chat up birds with the line that it is his ambition to be an escort in the Rose of Tralee.

He was recaptured soon after.[/quote]

I know of a couple of lads who have done it. More sleaze merchants than bogshites really. What the fuck would bring you down there for a week though? All manner of gobshite everywhere you look in what is a shithole of a town to begin with.

Without the racing festival there’s absolutely no excuse to go down there. Do some people actually go down specifically for the Rose of Tralee ‘event’? Used to be good craic at the races there when it was in its heyday, the Joes used to be betting on them at the track etc and the roses used to come in and punt themselves giving every farmer in the ring a major thrill.

I was down there the last year of the races but they were cancelled due to a bomb scare.

[quote=“Bandage”]Holy fook.

Some sad bastard has been shortlisted for escort of the year for the second time.

He should be killed on the spot.[/quote]

Went to college with a fella who was head escort for 2 if not 3 years on the trot. He was one of those lads that didn’t really have any male friends but wasn’t really a faggot either. I don’t what you’d call someone like that?

Just in the door, the Cork Rose looked to be a grand soft ride there

They do. The manner of person that goes down there however is the manner of person that comes back saying it great craic. What can you say?

Sure the racing was always shite anyway, it would be like the racing England last week where they put up a stage for Simply Red to play on, and the stage meant you couldn’t see the straight on the track

It used to be decent in the 1980s. There was the ‘Ruby Stakes’ a listed race if I remember. Tralee was the first place I saw those luminous head band sort of yokes you put in a freezer and those sort of ‘Madness’ hats with stuff like ‘Kiss me quick’ written on them.