Rugby Players Rape Trial

When all the dust settles over mcillroys account the defence will point out that the evidence, and the investigation is contaminated. Then most of it will be reduced to less than an academic argument.
The only positive thing that will be taken from all of it will be a good case study in how not to handle a case.

I really don’t know
Your story is plausible but arguably that is not rape even if happened exactly that way

The chaps’ stories about condoms seem to be all over the place.

Didn’t Jackson say he had already looked and not found any?

So why would McIlroy be going looking too if Jackson was still in the room?

Yeah they never checked for oral sex even though 3 men said they had oral sex

Taking consent out of it. Their versions are not the truth, not all of them anyway. If it comes down to he said/she said though and the evidence of independent witnesses… she’s coming out stronger. I believe that once the defence is finished there is a rebuttal - an opportunity both sides have to re-call witnesses, new evidence or surprise witnesses. I have a feeling Jackson is going to be re-called by Prosecution. They went way too easy on him - I think they’re just waiting until all the other defendants have given their evidence and then put it up to him again.

all 5 of them were drinking. A lot going on. Inconsistencies are expected. McIIroy is just weird. It’s a tightrope to walk without needing to

No surprise witnesses. It’s not allowed

I’d accept if they had said in their police interviews that they were locked and can barely remember. McIlroy and Harrison text each other saying htey can remember feck all. But they didn’t - they each gave clear accounts in detail of what they/the complainant were doing. So they can’t now say they don’t remember if they remembered before. The girl admitted the parts she was confused about in her account in the police interview.

The complainant couldn’t have mixed anybody up.

She says Jackson and Olding raped her.

Jackson says he and Olding, but not McIlroy, performed sex acts on her.

Olding says he and Jackson performed sex acts on her, with, I think, no mention of McIlroy.

Only Mcllroy is alleging that he received oral sex from the complainant.

If they say they can’t remember they get done as they cannot deny it.

As it is I think it’s not clear what happened and when she became upset exactly and why - she clearly became upset but I suspect the deed was done then

She said Olding had sex with her and then changed that. She says her memory is hazy for parts

Ah lads … ffs.

To be fair - she didn’t. Yes she told the medical that - but she also said in her police interview that she wasn’t sure about Olding vaginally raping her or not… she didn’t know who was behind her at one point doing what.
She didn’t outright accuse him of this, and she probably said it in the medical to cover herself re infections etc and confusion, fragmented memory. The CPS may have decided to prosecute him re this given Jackson’s denial, their stories and their messages.
That is the only one major inconsistency in her story tat was uncovered after 8 days of cross-examination - and it can be explained. Theirs can’t be explained without pointing to someone lying… their not inconsistencies, they’re massive discrepancies.

She didn’t confuse Olding and McIlroy.

Jackson’s sister-in-law was in the house too, presumably with her partner Paul Jackson, Paddy Jackson’s brother?

Why have we not heard about this yet?

Is Paddy’s sis in law a Mexican? Or were her parents visiting south of the border?

Dear Lord. When the senior investigator acknowledges that there are “significant inconsistencies” it’s all over bar the shouting.

huh?

They were in a different part of northern Ireland - Donegal to be precise.

But anyway, that tweet strongly implies that there were two other people in the house at the time.

All evidence so far has suggested that there were only eight people there.

It’s very late in the day to find that out alright — And I’d urge you to say North of Ireland if you are going down that route.