Adam Goodes is an absolute star, premiership winning player, All Australian many times, dual Brownlow medallist and member of the indigenous team of the century. And we love him at the Swans.
Wojincki and Varcoe are carrying injuries from what I read GMan, but should be alright. Watch out for Jack Riewoldt as well. Should be an interesting series, but I think Ireland will have too much skill for thsi admitedly athletic and fast Australian team.
Heard the Aussies have been doing alot of drinking the last few days, were all in Havannas both Sunday and monday till late larging it up. Probably won’t have much affect on them, but it is a bit surprising.
Maybe it was the extended panel that were out on the lash.
There’s a load of Ozzie umpires over also for the games-the lads that are doing linesman, time officials etc are heading out on the absolute lash on Friday night and basically it’s a case of picking whoever is least hungover to do their job on Sat night.
I heard some retard on the radio this morning talking about Stevie McDonnell and his Aussie counterpart (didnt know who he was obviously) going head to head for the first time in their captains run. WTF? Is this rugby bullshit being done elsewhere now? Or was it yer man is a fucktard and hasnt a clue what he is on about and tries to sound intelligent?
looking forward to the game anyway, bit of craic down in Limerick, one of my favorite cities! must check the chipper thread to make sure standards have remained.
Shur its a makey up game, no surprise to see it having to resort to pulling bits and bobs in from other established sports. A moneyspinner and nothing more.
No, it was the whole squad alright, apparently they were great craic and got on with everyone. In fairness they are here to enjoy themselves, and the spirit that they are showing around the place and at wednesdays game has to be commended.
Not sure why people are minus sing me for posting that :lol:
Most games are a combination or a spin off from other games.
A Captains run is a rugby tradition alright, but its been used by many many sports in the past. We used something similar this year the night before championship, just didn’t call it that. Its a great way to run any nerves out of you.
Did I say taking things from those games was a good idea?
Our game that goes back centuries, and you’re comparing its heritage to a bastardised version of AFL and GAA? I realise you’re a fan of AFL, but I’m not sure that makes it ok to defend this concept when its being promoted to the detriment of one of the greatest series our games have ever seen, the railway cups.
Its the calling it a captains run thats taking the piss, why not call it what it is, a training session. Mongs the lot of them the cuts who are over this.
Absolute shite is all it is,i was at one of these events before on a soaking wet SUnday in Dublin around 2002 or so,total bullshit,unless a row starts ye’ll all be asleep in the stands.
Its not replacing the Inter-Pros, its just its far more popular. You may not be of that opinion, but clearly the majority are.
I think they should hold them both on alternating years. ireland go to Oz every 4, they come here every year. The provincials could be played bi-annually then, and make a big thing out of them. That would be a good compromise IMO.
That is just one theory, and the one that people of Irish origins like to push, but it is not what many Australians believe and like to have showed down their throats. By the way it wasn’t gaelic football, it was Caid and that is just one theory, but there is no definitive one.
This is being shoved down the publics throats by the Association because they love their junkets and they love the prestiege that comes from hobnobbing with the Aussies. But were the same attention and devotion applied to the Inter Pro’s then we’d see a similar bounce for that. People go to this expecting violence and baying for blood. Best of luck to them. I’d prefer to see a game that require some degree of skill, not one that takes the worst from both sports.
I guess I didnt put it across very well, I just dont like the fact that you cant stick the ball under your arm and run at will for (is it ten or 8 paces?) or that the skillfull players of our games arent willing to play this game. Any game that doesn’t suit the likes of Gooch Cooper isn’t one that interests me. Munnelly played this before, got broke up and imo, was never the same player since. Just does nothing for me, nothing whatsoever.
Always liked the InterPro’s, would always try get to them if I could, and some of the best games of football I’ve seen were InterPro games between Leinster and Ulster (I recall one game where Clancy and Quigley played midfield for Leinster against Ulster, the game was outstanding, in Parnell Park). Woud just prefer to watch one of those over this tripe.
not entirely true. the game seems to be based on several types of games, one of which is an aboriginal sport called marngrook or something like that, which is where the whole marking thing comes from. gaelic probably had some influence alright, but its not founded on it either. AFL was established 30 or so years before the GAA too.
There was a football game played in Ireland in the 1800’s, mostly around Kerry I think, that had a ‘mark’ involved in the game. Another rules in the game was that you were not permitted to catch the ball if it bounced.
Seriously??,i thought that shite didnt go on anymore,i know a few Kilkenny hurlers who loved the shinty,a grand little break over to Scotland in the Winter.