Sinn Fein - Populism and Partionism

Again, you are making up on where Irish people want to have families.

But irrespective of that, the point remains that Ireland has the lowest share of apartments in the EU. This represents an opportunity.

How is it a mess?

You’ve said it’s good to take “what works” but the point is that his positions are incoherent.

You can’t be telling everyone that you want to live in Frank McDonald’s Dublin and be serious about affordability.

Not anymore

Are large build to rent schemes not shite for a community? With different people moving in every few years?

We’re the ones paying for everything shur. From bottom feeders to ivory tower untouchables. I know people who voted SF in 2020 who would astound you. One the daughter of a former FG candidate locally here.

Interesting week with Michelle O’Neills comments. Of course she didn’t mention the need to “move on” but decided to justify it. This has of course engendered the typical annoyed response from the Unionist community (as well as decent people down South) who she should be trying to win over in her new role. Various Shinner TDs and supporters have latched onto this as another chance to bucket their atrocities into the national narrative down south.

As I said, SF’s “political project” is about jobs for themselves, power and justifying the campaign of the men upstairs in the Belfast pubs. And sadly it is working.

Anyone who thinks these apes will deliver a United Ireland is a complete simpleton.

Michael Martin is the revisionist here Tim. The provos had as much a mandate as the Good IRA who FF lads would have you believe fired cotton Candy at exclusive military targets.

Incorrect.

And this is proven by my point about whereby all “versions” of SF face clung to the narrative of the 1918 election being the last legitimate one.

I have my criticisms of using the 1918 election like it was but that’s was no doubt on the basis of what was contested that it gave them legitimacy.

The claim that everything after 1918 didn’t matter is fairytale stuff.

I don’t believe anyone but you said anything after 1918 didn’t matter.
No mandate for murder of anyone in 1918 election. Revisionist nonsense. Conscription was the cause of the SF surge in 1917 not the rising aftermath.

Irish people up north denied their civil rights tried peaceful protest, were beaten back with violence. Provos had more of a mandate than old Ira if anything. Charlie Haughey and other like minded republicans in the Republican Party felt the same. The Jack Lynch Michael Martin types are just opportunistic vultures

Various factors drove SF’s surge but there was no doubt what people were voting for.

*1. By withdrawing the Irish Representation from the British Parliament and by denying the right and opposing the will of the British Government or any other foreign Government to legislate for Ireland.

1. By making use of any and every means available to render impotent the power of England to hold Ireland in subjection by military force or otherwise.*

So less of the revisionism please.

The Civil Rights protests achieved a significant amount. There was the option of power sharing in the early 1970s, something PSF refused to countenance.

SF did performed dreadfully in elections once they entered electoral politics. Hunger strike elections aside, the nationalist public did not back their campaign.

PSF are the slow learners party. All Irish Republican movements gradually moderate, it just them an extra few decades.

In contrast to the likes of FF though, PSF have not advanced the cause of an Irish Republic in anyway since they lay down their arms (except for that time in a pub in 2005 where they brutally murdered a man with dozens of them watching on).

Ah here. No point discussing this with someone who has a warped view of history. Stopped reading when you mentioned power sharing in the 70s. Sunningdale was brought down by a general strike , one of the biggest ever seen. Revisionist tosh to suggest a party with no electoral reps at that time as the ones to bring it down. A full 8 years after the loyalist state supported pograms commenced against civil rights seeking fellow countrymen.

The issue here is not whether the Provos should have carried on but to suggest they weren’t within their rights to fight in 1969 is something you deliberately avoided . Best wishes to you

The north is a different place for nationalist’s/Republicans/Catholic’s than it was years ago.

Sunningdale for slow learners is SDLP shite. There was never going to be equality. There would have been no change. The orange cunts and their strikes saw to that.

The IRA protected their people and changed the landscape forever.

Get ready for a border poll and a United Ireland. We are no longer second class citizens.

Is a United Ireland not still a long way off just in terms of numbers?

Sinn Fein leading us to glory and finally out if civil war politics :clap::clap::clap:

They killed more of their “people” than the other side.

Their inability to engage with the British army meant their campaign then essentially became a sectarian campaign of attacks on the Protestant community dressed up as attacks on the British presence in NI.

You can see why unionists and reasonable Protestants are outraged by the remarks this week.

Tell that to the people of Ballymurphy and the Bogside

Where did I say it wasn’t?

I said it was factual that PSF rejected it.

They waited nearly another 25 years. The reason being that by the early 1990s the Provos were riddled with informants. The average age of the IRA was getting older, new recruits were tiny. They had lost and disgraced themselves.

The issue isn’t actually 1969, the issue is the attempt to legitimise the entire “campaign” and that being political goal number 1 of them. With suckers like you, it works.

Tell it to John Hume - he knew what they were.

*Whilst blaming the “legacy of previous unionist rule” for unemployment in the Province, he went on to add: “The Provo bombing campaign cost the North 39,000 jobs between 1970 and 1980 alone.

“Those who set out to wreck the already feeble economic fabric of places like west Belfast, Derry, Newry, Strabane in particular now weep crocodile tears about unemployment.

“They see no contradiction in the fact that in their Ireland the young will be working in London or as illegal immigrants in New York, ‘driven out by their liberators’.

“Now we have the spectacle of a Sinn Fein councillor in Armagh talking about the need for the town to be opened up to allow easier shopping. And he does not even blush 

“And his colleague down the road in Newry tells us that his party are ‘all for shoppers having as wide a choice as possible’. So he supports a proposal for development on the outskirts of the town that his military wing – to which he gives unequivocal support – tried to blow to bits.

“Workers or unemployed of course are not permitted to have as wide a choice as possible.

“They risk being classified as legitimate targets 

“What a sorry vision for Ireland is the Provo vision, if it is threatened by cleaning women and clerks, contractors or bricklayers.

“Death or dole is the widest choice offered by these champions of the oppressed.”

He described republicans’ objectives as being “not Irish unity, not freedom – but power”*

Yup, miles off. The Nationalist vote share has gone up by 2% since 1998. The sum total of SF’s achievement is to displace the SDLP in the north and to get more popular in the south.

The fact that they are rightly seen as scum of the earth by so many means combining them of the merits of a UI is harder than ever. The fact that more in the south like them too makes it more difficult.

I have said before that I’d have bracketed FF as people I’d never vote for back in the 1930s due to their Civil War fascist position. But the reality is that the use of the FF banner advanced their main issues with the Treaty and delivering an Irish republic. They got rid of the Oath, they delivered full sovereignty to the independent part of Ireland and got rid of the crown. The only thing they didn’t do was leave the Commonwealth as they correctly identified it as a way to try to woo Unionists.

PSF lobbed bombs into pubs for a few decades and all they achieved was what was on offer previously.

• they supported the partition of Northern Ireland in 1998. This was nothing new.
  • they supported power sharing. This was available two and a half decades previously.
  • it was agreed that there would be a border poll if opinion demanded it. There had been a border poll in 1973.

Again, if members of PSF were serious about a United Ireland they’d have disbanded in 1998.

The IRA killed more Catholics than anyone else.

The initial role of the IRA in the late 1960s changed in the 1970s and 1980s. They were a paramilitary force, not defenders.