To be honest kid I am not giving a medical solution to sleeping problems . However a lot of everyday sleeping issues can be helped by basic common sense . Evening naps on the couch , no exercise , high caffeine / sugar in diet and near binging on tv or mobile phone are not conducive to a decent night’s sleep .
That’s all true and you are offering solid advice but there’s different types of insomnia, what you describe comes from bad lifestyle and while it’s valid that is probably short term and fixable (unless it becomes ingrained) I’m talking more about chronic decades long issues with it
Arah, I’m grand.
Breethe app has definitely helped. I was only getting less than 50 minutes deep sleep back in the day. I barely recognise that person.
Elaborate further on the app
Yeah I think everyone gets insomnia where they have a random night every now and again of poor sleep.
I’ve always been a terrible sleeper. And almost always wake up really early, regardless of how late I’ve been to bed. I actually began shift work because I wasn’t a good sleeper (among many other reasons) so don’t attribute it to my sleep issues.
Tbh it rarely bothers me anymore. I get 5 or so hours most nights and am fine and healthy in most other aspects of my life.
I’ve been a bad sleeper since about 15 years of age. I’ve definitely let it dictate some life choices and jobs, easy to say you shouldn’t but you have to survive. I’ve also had a few nights zero sleep just the last four or five years but I’m still here, might feel like shit for a few days but it passes.
It’s a mediation app. Use it before bedtime or throughout day depending on what you need. It’s a stupid price full price but is regularly “on sale”.
Any mediation app probably does the same. It’s guided mediation so helps calm the racing mind.
Example here
stopped reading there
Funny I know but insomnia is also associated with overtraining, there’s a balance.
But are you getting exercise each day and ignoring the phone at night time?
I’d suggest it’s the minimum as a starting point,
I can’t think of much worse than insomnia, I remember when my mum was sick getting by on 3 or 4 hours a few nights a week and it was hell, but I knew it was short term, viewing it as something to live with is awful
I have tried all that, exercise, blue light blocking glasses etc, and while they work sometimes and will help some people bigly they aren’t a panacea. They generally comes under the umbrella of sleep hygiene which studies have shown to be so useless for chronic insomnia that its used on the control group in experiments as i mentioned in another thread.
But it does make sense to put screens etc down if that over stimulates or arouses you, as arousal levels is one of the two pillars of sleep as i wrote above.
Its a curse but its just one of life’s challenges, there are far harder ones. I went to a doctor a few years ago and asked her for sleeping tablets and she said no, that they were counter productive and not sleeping while painful isn’t going to see me drop dead in a few days so just get on with it. Which is probably as solid advice as I’ve ever got. Now trying to make sense of that at 3am when you are too tired to read one page but too wired to nod off is another story. One of the best tips I got, I think from disgraced banker @dancarter on here, was write down what thoughts are racing, putting them on paper in a way makes them tangible and forces your brain to deal rationally with them, rather than them swirling in the background. Doesn’t work every time but helps.
Thanks for the well meaning suggestions, but it’s an area no one has solved. They say doctors in all their years of training receive only one hour of lectures on sleep, which suggests its always been a mystery.
Listen to that Baddiel thing on audible. He sounds a lot like you
It’s coming home, it’s coming home, its coming, sleeps coming home
Lads you’re all broken
Would you be a worrier mate? What exactly is racing through your mind at 3am?.. work stuff ?
My sleep always suffers during stressful projects but thats mainly down to discipline of not closing laptops till midnight etc.
Do ye all sleep in the spare room or something with all these apps going?
Turn off those fucking seagulls and waves.
I have a threesome every night with the Mrs and Alan Skular
I’d be a bit of a worrier but the 3am stuff is mainly thinking of something I have to do or get finished the following day, then the annoyance that I might be wrecked trying to do it. But I’m more of an overthinker than a worrier. I’ve replayed a lot of conversations and life decisions at that hour. Concerned myself with the future etc. I just have to be in the here and now, man
Go on…
Are you worried about disappointing the person you are delivering the work for?