Sleep - a thread to document your sleeping habits

Thanks lads. I’m goña fuck off to bed now

I work nights. Finding it really different to sleep at night during my days off. Even when I do all the right things, get up early on my first day off, change my internal clock, I still can’t sleep at night.
I’ve never had a problem sleeping during the day, even when I worked days.

Couldn’t do it, shift work,tried but failed miserably.

I’ve no problem doing shift work. I’ve always been a night owl. And no issue sleeping during the day.

It’s when I’m off and need to sleep at night, that the clocks don’t align right.

Boy I couldn’t do it honestly,
No bother working through the night,
But not full time,
If I get 4/ 5 hour’s it’s enough though.
I bang in 4 good gym sessions a week minium aswell,
All treadmill at max incline etc but still get the same amount of kip,
Might be an age thing.

Does anyone here go mad with overthinking and shit once they lose an 8 hour sleep? Like, in the last while I’m fully realising I’m not one of these people who can get by on little sleep. Find my mind going nuts if I get fuck all sleep.

I had a handle on this for a good while, good coping mechanisms and tools to calm the hamster, but found since our recent bereavement these aren’t working. A few nights of little or no sleep last week, 2 so far this week followed by a night of coma has everything skewed. Don’t like it and I be afraid it might become habitual.

CBD oil a good job, if that doesnt float your boat there is always the other option

Holland and Barretts?

Lots of pharmacies have it.

Wander into killeens and ask for it

A few bits that can often help…

Buy a good book, take regular magnesium, get up early and get 10 minutes of daylight into the eyes, CBD oil, an antihistamine.

You can survive on fuck all sleep, it’s not ideal but it’s usually temporary and having a relaxed attitude to it can help. Easier said than done.

I went through two bouts of insomnia which lasted months. Wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. Torture. Head like a washing machine. In a daze during the day and worrying about the long night ahead. Refused medication, maybe I shouldn’t have but didn’t want to go down that route.

Was sick the last week and got dry/cotton mouth and found it hard to nod off. Long time ago now but brought back memories. Nothing lasts forever, even the shit times. Gone the other way now. Would sleep for Ireland.

An hour nap on the couch yest and 10.5 hours sleep last night and still a bit groggy. Must be the rte virus.

Ah it does now

Since switching OFF of shift work, I’m awake every morning at 5am. I’m after about 8 pints but already know it’s not happening tonight. I’ll be lucky to have the eyes closed at 4. I just can’t quiet my mind. How the fuck do ye lads do it?

Waking at 5am each morning is grand. Get up, light breakfast, go out for a run or a walk. You’ll be back before the house wakes up and you’ll be set up for the day.

Im up at half 4 or 5am most mornings , its the best time of day

Be a while before you train your body and mind out of that routine pal…waking early is an awful curse nowt you can do bar embrace it

That’s it, it will change but gradually. Gerrup and use the time to occupy the mind. Be patient, you have the clocks changing again in 5 weeks just to fuck with you a little more @Batigol

Did you ever get your cortisol levels checked?
Plays havoc with lots of things including sleep.Keep an eye on your sugar intake during the day.