If nobody “gambles” with the public pension fund then there won’t be enough in it to pay for the pensions.
Oooft.
I can’t decide whether FF are loving or hating this.
On another note. The bold Pascal has stated that the Garda settlement will have to be found out of "current resources " Now whether that means Fitzgerald will have to find it out if her own budget or whether she’ll try and steal a few bob off Leo or Simon, I don’t know.
Interesting times. The country is fucked
The two of ye were prickin around for a year without a job?
The structure of the HSE is the nettle no government will grasp and until that happens money will continue to be misdirected and wasted there. That said, I heard Liam Doran of the INMO earlier and he sounded like a fella who was anxious to be seen to be doing something when the other public sectors unions are kicking up.
She started working two weeks after I finished…there would have been a murder.
I’ve only been off a few months…Feels like a few years
I wouldn’t say Doran is that dynamic somehow…he’s lost the first mover advantage big time anyway
I’m told paramedics first and then train & track maintenance staff in Iarnrod Eireann.
How long before the lads drawing the dole go on strike?
Most of them are too busy with nicers etc and the lifers are too apathetic to man picket lines.
Services are shit because resources were eaten up to protect pay. I’ve mentioned it before where James Reilly had to make cuts to health. He was only able to target 20% as salaries which accounted for 80% couldn’t be touched. That’s why guards are driving jallopies and patients are dying needlessly. That guard in Louth died because he had no one to go with him. Again due to resources being tied up to maintain Celtic Tiger pay levels.
It’s a self perpetuating issue when it comes to nursing anyways. The attrition rate is huge because the working situation is so poor. It’s very difficult to make productivity improvements when your constantly training in new staff or relying on agency staff to fill in whole you recruit for a vacancy.
As an aside, my wife was required to complete a 13 page application form (word document) before she got to interview stage. As well as submitting her cv. The application form was essentially a written version of a competency based interview but she also had to do a competency based interview which rehashed the whole thing. Some pain in the hole but just a small example of poor processes and practises.
And some external consultant was paid a fortune for coming up with that process
More than likely. It certainly wasn’t conducive to encouraging people to apply for jobs anyways
The biggest mistake was not laying off the staff when the HSE was created. They should now slim down the HSE back office and use the money saved there to fund the the front line services.
In fact they should be doing this all over the public service and invest in the technology to allow for less staff and fund the front line services.
Whoa! You can not seriously suggest something that reasonable.
Breaking news: ASTI suspend action
Ahead of the RTÉ news. Well done, Runty.
I’d say there was a heap of schools who brought in outside supervision. WRC is a chance to save face for the ASTI
All downhill since 1973