So, who's striking today? Which Side are You On

Stop being such a drama queen. It’s not the minimum wage - it’s approx the average industrial wage. It’s nothing to do with public services - it’s the commercial consequences of paying more than your company can earn.

Be some crack when self drive buses enter the mix around 2030

I don’t know anyone who gets a bus to work. Commuter train service is decent from Cobh Midleton and mallow all a 20 min train trip. V efficient service. V cheap through taxsaver ticket. Huge population living driving distances from trains. Still underutilized though. Small shuttle buses to bring to trains far better than bringing bus to city

What’s the average industrial wage ?

Public opinion between the public and private sector is very much driven from the constant ESRI and their cohorts findings that the average public sectors worker earns far more per annum then its equivalent in the private sector…I would debate this…

This line is throtted out in the media constantly…it’s classic divide and conquer type stuff really.

The public sectors employees real advantage traditionally has been job security, but as this strike shows with BE…that may not always be the case.

An awful lot of this is driven by IBEC. One of the most evil self serving organisations that had blighted this nation in the past 30 years.
Not a surprise that they’ve thrived under the current administration.

“A man who, beyond the age of 26, finds himself on a bus can count himself as a failure.”

Because if anybody should give decent conditions to workers it should be the government. Because they should set the standard for other companies to follow. Because if they don’t nobody else will even come close. Because all the old gold plated pension nonsense is long gone and anyone who joined the public service within the last 15 years has no chance of the sort of pay that you suggest is commonplace. Because working for the state is serving the country in whatever small capacity it is and your job serves the people of the country.
Every example you give is based on what’s in it for me and why should these cunts get more than me/private sector.

The funding any of these “think tanks” gets…drives the agenda…particularly where it comes from.

But yourself and most of your peers don’t work so it’s hardly a fair sample.

And just to point out that FG don’t give a fuck about eu rules when it doesn’t suit them, particularly on issues of the environment. Nor do most countries when there’s a conflict with the national interest. But it’s great to be able to point at big bad Europe when you’re making people eat shit.

Fucking hell lads that’s a belter of a post. A fucking belter :wave:

The same as I ‘stink’ of public sector. @Tim_Riggins stinks of private sector bitterness. Fucking hell, grow up Tiny Tim. The days of indentured labour are over.
Do you work for a Denny o Brine or Ml o Leary controlled company or what’s your gripe ?

The “doing it for the country” guff doesn’t wash when there’s a clear premium being paid for doing their patriotic duty. It’s some sacrifice for the flag that the BE workers are making each day.

I don’t think it’s a why should the workers get more than me thing either - My issue is more that they want me to pay for it and while I’m happy to pay substantial taxes I think it could be spent significantly better. The same unions with the begging bowl out now for extra dish will be the ones whining about lack of services or investment.

If you want to help workers then help all workers - not a select few.

I believe it’s just under 40k

I know only too well what the average is. So because of the industrial wage … should BE, professional drivers, work for that ?
Please answer.

38k but the the way it’s calculated is completly misleading.

I’m not here to set the wages for bus drivers - it’s clear though that seeing as BE are losing money hand over fist they either need to get more out of their staff or pay them less. Rocko would seem to suggest they should stop buying buses but I’m not sure that’s a great long term strategy.

Other commercial bus services seem able to make it work - why not BE? It’s clearly not the PSO obligation - it’s the commercial element that losing most of the money.

The notion that they are poorly paid is patently incorrect though imo if they are getting above the average wage. Do you think they are paid at the correct level?

Don’t be so dramatic. It’s not a sacrifice for the flag. It’s a tiny part of the important thing of making a decent functioning country, which Ireland is. Obviously there are examples of people being overpaid in the public sector. But it sure as fuck doesn’t happen for new recruits or anyone who isn’t in the top 5‰. Pretty similar to the private sector.
Anybody on anything close to the average industrial wage is fucked in Ireland if they ever want to have a gaff and kids which are fairly normal wishes. Subsistence living followed by a retirement wage a fact above the state pension is the future for most low paid private employees.
In the absence of any political will to create better cost of living there remains only one option for unions. To fight like fuck for every scrap they can, because sure as fuck it’ll be stripped from them if they don’t.
I’d love to see better labour laws introduced. Ged Nash managed to get the minimum wage raised twice despite us being in the shit and managed to improve some workers conditions but that’s a rear guard battle against companies who will continually seek to drive down costs. Tesco and Dunnes are both massive employers of low-priced staff and are actively trying to strip these workers of more rights in the interests of their profits. 95% of private companies do the same. So again, if the government doesn’t set the example who the fuck will?

Over estimated or under?