Austin is a great spot but what takes you there for a stag?
What time of year? Very hot and humid in summer.
I’m supposed to be going to Cologne mid summer this year for a stag. I initially said no way but the groom has wooed me with
- The cost. Dunno how the he organised 2 nights accomadation and flights for €200.
- Good bunch of lads traveling to it. I’m half tempted to travel.
July 4th weekend. It’s a US based mate. Have heard great things about Austin though.
I was in Cologne with a few mates in November. Flights and accommodation very cheap and price of pints is similar enough to home. Much cheaper than going to UK for a weekend anyway.
It is a great spot for a few nights out. It will be very hot in July daytime but the warm southern evenings on 6th street are wonderful.
Fun town, but it will be hotter than fucking Hades. You don’t want to be in Texas from late May through early Oct. Bad form that yer mate didn’t set it up for the spring or the fall, even the winter. Can be gorgeous there then. Weather.com says its 26 degrees there today. It will be hovering around 40 in July. I think he is mugging you all off.
I’d say ye’re going in a cattle truck.
You trust someone to book things for you after the last time it happened?
It’s a stag. Were you expecting a limo.
I’m heading to Limerick on a stag with @ClarkeyCat in a few weeks. I see two train offerings, one direct and one with a change at Limerick Junction. The one with the change is more expensive? What gives? Is the direct one on a really shitty train?
I’m also off to Copenhagen on a stag in a few weeks. Just how expensive is it? Flight was very reasonable.
It’s a ‘Disembarking in County Tipperary Tax’.
Courtesy of Representative Lowry.
Copenhagen is expensive alright. At the upper end of things.
Get the direct train to Limerick, don’t come off at Limerick junction.
It’s generally a shorter journey going by the junction.
However, it’s kind of like the Bermuda Triangle of train stations…you might never reach your final destination.
Ah lovely. One month after a lengthy advance discussion for @Bandage 's visit we get to do it all over again.
Where will you be staying?
Some shithole I believe. I’ve been assured it’s centrally located, that’s the extent of my knowledge.
The direct train is a good bit earlier in the morning isn’t it ? Think that’s why it’s cheaper. Far better off getting the direct one for a couple of reasons.
-
The train which changes at the junction is most likely the cork train, meaning there’s a higher chance of there being cork people on it.
-
When you change at the junction you have to get a shitty two carriage yoke from there to Limerick.
A lot of bars do 2 for 1 happy hours. Get some of your drinking done then. Other than that it is expensive alright. Great city though, great people. The women are unreal. I can try to dig out a phone number of a friendly local if you want a bit of personal while you’re over. You’ll save on alcohol and food that way but obviously there’s the initial cash upfront investment to consider too.
Sounds like the Railway Hotel. Please check and reassure us
And what about Copenhagen?
Very good, Mac.